100 Things….

Read this on Ranu ‘s page and thought i would also colour my deeds in red from the list of 100 things…. didn’t think i could actually colour so many… its fun…. You can also do the same and find your number…. i cant believe i could colour 43!!!!!

1. Started my own blog

2. Slept under the stars

3. Played in a band

4. Visited Hawaii

5. Watched a meteor shower

6. Given more than I can afford to charity

7. Been to Disneyland/world

8. Climbed a mountain (Many times)

9. Touched a cobra/snake

10. Sung a solo (Well i think my voice resembles Mukesh. Too bad no one agrees!!!)

11. Bungee jumped

12. Visited Paris

13. Watched lightning at sea

14. Taught myself an art from scratch

15. Adopted a child

16. Had food poisoning

17. Walked to the top of the Kutub Minaar

18. Grown my own vegetables

19. Seen the Mona Lisa in France

20. Slept on an overnight train (innumerable times)

21. Had a pillow fight

22. Hitchhiked

23. Taken a sick day when you’re not ill

24. Built a Divali fort- “killa”

25. Held a lamb

26. Gone swimming in the Ganga

27. Run a Marathon (once won third prize in 12 kms!!!! yippeee)

28. Ridden in a houseboat in the Dal lake in Kashmir

29. Seen a total eclipse

30. Watched a sunrise or sunset

31. Hit a sixer (cricket) (This is my favourite task )

32. Been on a cruise

33. Seen Niagara Falls in person

34. Visited the birthplace of my ancestors

35. Visited an Adivasi community

36. Taught myself a new language

37. Had enough money to be truly satisfied

38. Seen the Taj Mahal (monument, not hotel) in person

39. Gone rock climbing

40. Seen the Himalayas

41. Sung karaoke

42. Seen the eruption of a volcano

43. Bought a stranger a meal at a restaurant

44. Visited the US

45. Walked on a beach by moonlight

46. Been transported in an ambulance

47. Had my portrait painted

48. Gone deep sea fishing

49. Been to VaishhnoDevi

50. Been to the top of the Eiffel Tower in Paris

51. Gone scuba diving or snorkeling

52. Visited a Masjid

53. Played in the mud

54. Gone to a drive-in

55. Been in a movie

56. Visited the Great Wall of China

57. Started a business

58. Taken a martial arts class

59. Visited Russia

60. Served as a volunteer at a public meeting

61. Helped someone not related to you , with studies

62. Gone whale watching

63. Got flowers for no reason

64. Donated blood, platelets or plasma

65. Gone parasailing

66. Visited a Nazi Concentration Camp

67. Bounced a check

68. Flown in a helicopter

69. Saved a favorite childhood toy

70. Visited the Lincoln Memorial

71. Eaten karela happily

72. Pieced a quilt

73. Stood at the Gateway of India recently, after 26/11

74. Toured Kashmir

75. Been fired from a job

76. Seen the Changing of the Guards at the Wagah border between Ind-Pak

77. Broken a bone

78. Been on a speeding motorcycle

79. Seen the Grand Canyon in person

80. Published a book

81. Visited the Parliament in New Delhi

82. Bought a brand new car

83. Walked in KanyaKumari

84. Had my picture in the newspaper

85. Read the entire Bhagwad Geeta

86. Visited the Rashtrapati Bhavan in Delhi (President of India residence)

87. Killed and prepared an animal for eating

88. Had chickenpox

89. Saved someone’s life

90. Sat on a jury

91. Met someone famous (Geet Sethi, qualifies doesnt he??)

92. Joined a book club

93. Lost a loved one

94. Had a baby

95. Ate a chocolate that fell on the floor after cleaning. (Ram ke Bhoot)

96. Swam in the Indian Ocean

97. Been involved in a law suit

98. Owned a cell phone

99. Been stung by a bee

100. Ridden an elephant

The blogger award…


I have been given this award by Nitu and I now have to select 8 bloggers to pass this on. But before I do that I would like to mention a few things about my experience of blogging…

While it is great to have an opportunity to express my views and do whatever I want to do on my page, I have also discovered that this is a wonderful medium to take your stand and show to people what things matter to you. Before the Mumbai attacks I would just think of things to write that would appease the readers, getting more and more readers was the only goal.

I believe that successful writers would be those who would write things to please their own self and not worry about what others think. But would novelists also think that way?? I doubt. However as I write more and more slowly but surely I am starting to write what I exactly feel, whether politically correct or not.

There have been people who contacted me to put their links and they would give my article submissions… now all this is quite beyond me… I still feel proud when I install a gadget. I was quite naïve about these things but as time has gone I have learnt from a few friends… fellow bloggers.. so to pass on this to fellow bloggers I have thought a lot :

Ranu : She is the sole reason why I started blogging, she taught me how to do it and asked me to just write whatever I felt and not worry if some one would read. Atleast she would read… She also writes with her heart which I like.

The Lives & Times of an Indian House maker : Some one who writes well and is very passionate about her writing. She actually feels she can make a difference and that belief has rubbed on me…

Ugich Konitari : Another writer who has a lot of compassion, she again pours her heart when she writes…for a long time I thought her name was ugich konitari till Ranu told me it means just some one in Marathi… lol

Cat take 2 India : She writes a personal diary, its like India through her eyes. I some times marvel how she makes simple things look so funny… keep it up Cat..

A travel blog of an Indian Back packer : She has wonderful pictures and a unique style of writing that gets the message through…

Indrani : She is again a passionate traveler, although from as long as I can remember she is in Rajasthan, a place I didn’t like much till I started following her blog.

Usha Pisharody : Thanks to her I wrote my first poetry. I hated poetry but I am changing and that is not usual….

Hema : She is my cousin, no she doesn’t have a blog… but she did a write up and sent to me and it was straight from the heart, I have added her because I want her to take up blogging.. Hema’di time to start….

Interestingly enough all are females, I hope it’s a co-incidence… Lol…. Also guys… arrrr i mean gals… its not compulsory to keep this chain going… but since I was given this I felt I would make my list of 8 favourites…. Cheers to blogging…

“Apparentely who ever receives the award is to pass it to 8 friends. I know how busy most are,especially this time of the year, so I won’t be upset if you can’t do it. Also this was sent along saying that “Blogs that Receives this award are ” exceedingly charming, says its author. This blog invests and beleives in the PROXIMITY-nearness in space , time and relationships. These kind bloggers aim to find and be friends. They are not interested in prizes or self-aggrandizement!Our hope is that when the ribbons of these prizes are cut, even more friendships are propagated. Please give more attentions to these writers! Deliver this award to eight bloggers who must choose eight more and include this clever-written text into the body of their award. ” In order to view their blogs, please click their names.”