SRK and The Brinjal ! Unbelievable similarities !

A few of us friends were standing at our frequently visited Net Paan for our Paan when this discussion came up. Btw our Paan which is for some reason called 30(Tees) number its a very sexist Paan, its certainly a male Paan as it has no tutti fruity or gulkand and no it doesnt have tobacco ! Its a Saada Paan ! The female (meetha) Paan is called 150(Dedhso)number ! Yes any guy who eats the Meetha Paan is ridiculed by us that he is having a Ladies Paan !!!! ๐Ÿ˜› ๐Ÿ˜› ๐Ÿ˜›ย  Now have I given enough food for thought to IHM to write a post in response to this ???? ๐Ÿ‘ฟ :mrgreen:ย  Raam is the name of the guy who makes the Paan and we all swear that his is the only Paan we like and have acquired a taste of. Almost all of us are now in unison that we cannot enjoy any Paan anywhere as much as at Net Paan !!! Anyways that is not the reason for this post but as usual I must digress a bit. After all wordpress has given me this space free and I may use it as is my whim. ๐Ÿ˜›

Coming back to the discussion, after I heard all sorts of things about The Dirty Picture and after I sighed enough telling I am yet to watch, someone mentioned Don-II is coming ! Immediately another friend commented, “Hum Bhil (read SRK) Logo ke picture nahi dekhte” It is pretty usual in Gujarat to consider Bhil as downcast people although wrong but thats not an issue this post is going to discuss.

Its quite amazing that SRK always evokes extreme reactions ain’t it ? I see people who just love love and love him like IHM, Solilo and then there are some like my cousin who wont hear a word against him and if I do that she wont speak to me for a year or pick my calls ! I myself cannot hate him enough. I don’t even have a reason to hate him, I used to be a fan till I saw Baazigar and Anjaam !! Dunno what happened and I hate him ever since. I must though put my hand up and say that inย Chak De and Swadesh this guy has acted and proved that he actually can act quite well but time and again he will do the run of the mill and make you cry and fill you with emotions, an easy thing to do in my opinion. The Yash Chopra Karan Johar are so not my type of movies !

I regret not watching Chak De and Swadesh in the movie hall, sometimes I so wish SRK hadn’t done these movies and I would have seen the movies in the Hall. No, me and Mrs. both never watch his movies, havent even watched DDLJ or KKHH in halls, infact I have not seen them full on TV either !ย  Had he not acted in Chak De and Swadesh I could justify my hating him and saying to all he can’t act. The fact is he can and can do it quite well and yet I continue to hate him whether he says he will dance in weddings for money (which should entirely be his own prerogative ๐Ÿ˜› ) or when he supports Pakistani player bidding in the media and doesn’t bid for any of them himself. I have always found reasons to hate him. I was heart broken to know Ganguly was going to play for KKR in the first edition of the IPL !!!! My most favourite cricketer playing for the guy I hated the most !!!!!! It was a relation so destined to be broken The fact that the John Buchanan’s multiple captain theory and the controversies surrounding SRK and Sourav didn’t help make the matters any better. For the first time in my life, I would wish a team with Sourav would lose and lose badly. You may want to discount these feelings like those of a lil kid but that is what I felt !!!

SRK has an amazing Love Hate relationship with his fans, very rarely I find neutrals, there are people who rave him and love him and there are those who cant hate him enough !

Very similar to SRK is one vegetable, The Brinjal !

Interestingly, there are quite a few similarities between Shahrukh and the Brinjal than you would imagine. The Brinjal is how I call it, that is how I learnt in school and no its not an egglant *period* ! Eggs are laid they don’t grow plus this is my blog ! Yes ! Adamant !

Now like we all are told that SRK is a good actor, so are we told Brinjal is a good vegetable with lots of Iron, atleast that is what I always heard when growing up from my Mom ! But hey, like SRK no where on Wiki is it mentioned that Brinjal gives us Iron ! Please help me here Suranga if you can ! After the Iron puzzle is solved … the other point to be noted is SRK can be addictive as some fans would admit, similarly the brinjal, The fruit is botanically classified as a berry, and contains numerous small, soft seeds, which are edible, but have a bitter taste because they contain nicotinoid alkaloids; this is unsurprising as it is a close relative of tobacco. Eggplant is richer in nicotine than any other edible plant, with a concentration of 100ย ng/g (or 0.01ย mg/100g). However, the amount of nicotine from eggplant or any other food is negligible compared to passive smoking.[11] On average, 20ย lbs (9ย kg) of eggplant contains about the same amount of nicotine as a cigarette. Again its Wiki that speaketh and not the mortal me ! ๐Ÿ˜€ ๐Ÿ˜€ ๐Ÿ˜€ ๐Ÿ˜€ I am sure SRK would also do well to eat the Brinjals and cut down on the Cigarettes :mrgreen:

Love / Hate !?

Then again, as a kid I used to hate the vegetable Brinjal and we brothers would revolt by eating maggi whenever my Brinjal Lover mom/dad decided to treat their own taste buds and forget about their 3 sons ! ๐Ÿ˜ฅ This hate continued till long, then one fine day in College in Hostel in Baroda we went to a legendary Kathiawadi restaurant near Vasad called Kismet and I ate Bajra Ka Rotla and Baigan Ka Bharta and the rest as they say is history.ย  I am a total lover of the Brinjal now and can eat it in any form and actually quite adore the vegetable ! It is also known as the poor man’s meat ! As SRK is known as today’s Dilip Kumar ๐Ÿ˜› ๐Ÿ˜› ๐Ÿ˜› ๐Ÿ‘ฟ okay that was a cheap one… but its my blo… you get it rite ๐Ÿ˜› ๐Ÿ˜› ๐Ÿ˜›

Like SRK, Brinjal, has its hard core lovers in me and equal number of people who won’t let brinjal even touch their plates. They too like SRK share a love / hate relationship with their fans… !!!! Cool Ain’t it ! ๐Ÿ˜›

DISCLAIMER : Woke up with this post in my brain at 4 am ! So if you find it delusional kindly excuse yourself ๐Ÿ˜ˆ

66 thoughts on “SRK and The Brinjal ! Unbelievable similarities !

  1. Smita says:

    I just hate him but yes I agree he is good in some movies but i hate him not because he isn’t acting as he can. What I hate in him is his attitude. So full of himself.

  2. Pixie says:

    hee!! You have compared SRK to a Brinjal!!
    I love it!! ๐Ÿ˜€ ๐Ÿ˜€

    now, I’m gonna sit back with my popcorn and hot chocolate and enjoy the comments section!!! ๐Ÿ˜€ :mrgreen:

  3. trishul says:

    lets just take d positives out of srk ,, nd chill ,, every1 has sumting good abt them nd sumting bad,, srk’s bad qualities might be his mis understood sense of humour which is taken as arrogance or as sum1 who is so full of himself like sum1 put it,, he is flamboyant,witty,succesfull in so many occupations,he’s in u r face etc etc ,he makes fun of of his success yet his success matters d most to him,very muhammad ali type,,srk’s love/hate relationship with people will depend on his films,kids who wud swear by krishh wud say g.one is preetty cool,atleast cooler than krish,,however bad ra.one was,,,,was better than krishh,, so many guys who dont like srk ,,, might end up liking him bcause of don/don2,,, like how u liked him for him early films,,, people who identify with love in their own lives,,girls ,men,etc lot of guys r closet romantics will love him for all d johar/chopra films!!
    reason y srk evokes extreme emotions is because he is dat damn good,he will get a reaction for anyting he does,as long as he gets a reaction he will stay super successfull,reactions r bound to wary from people to people ,, time to time,like how u ended up loving d brinjal later on,!

    • hitchy says:

      @TRishul – welcome to the blog !

      Yes that is a gyaani thing… take the good things out of him… ! It seems I found one neutral on SRK ๐Ÿ˜› ๐Ÿ˜›

  4. R's Mom says:

    Okie…I think you and me are siblings in previous birth or something…I dont like SRK..the only two movies I liked him was Chak De and Swades….though I must admit, I did watch DDLJ in a movie hall

    I have been to Kismet…yummmmmmmmmm! I love their rotla and bharta…amazing na..and there is this place in Baroda also..aiyo I forget the name..towards where L&T is…where you get amazing kathiyawadi food…and you know what..RD makes amazing bharta ๐Ÿ™‚

    Thanks for all that info on Brinjal..you know in Bengali Brinjal is called ‘Begun’ which RD tells me is ‘Be-Gun’ without any Gun like the gun of hindi…(are you getting me here?) I dont know whether he is pulling my leg or he is serious ๐Ÿ™‚ so lemme show this post to him ๐Ÿ™‚

    • hitchy says:

      Kharekhar !!!! ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚

      Be-gun bilkul samjhi gayo ! ๐Ÿ™‚ You know its such a joy to talk in gujarati to someone on the blog ! ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚

      You been to Kismet ! True barodian you are !!!! ๐Ÿ˜€

  5. Indian Homemaker says:

    I think a lot of people admire SRK as today’s man, they can kind of relate to him, he’s a bit like how the guy next door could or should be. For example, he, like you, is able to joke without being sexist and misogynistic ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚

    I too love baingan ka bhurta and also alu-baingan, baingan in sambar, Baingan dahi-wale, baigan-pakora etc.

    • hitchy says:

      I know you admire him as much ! ๐Ÿ˜›

      I love the Rasawala Baigan with tomatoes and potatoes cooked in gujju style by wifey its extremely super !

      bout the Baigan Dahi wale ? now that recipe needs to be shared ! ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. suranga date says:

    I dont really care about SRK , for that matter any of the others too ๐Ÿ™‚ . one way or the other, and brinjals are far superior to him. Its an insult to the brinjals to compare him.

    1. Dont judge what your Mom used to say, based on current nutritive perceptions of brinjal. Back then everyone was not a dietician or nutritionist and expert in fancy nomenclature, but when your Mom urged you to eat Brinjal for iron, she probably wanted to indicate that in addition to iron, it is rich in minerals, like manganese, copper, magnesium, zinc and calcium (a bit richer in magnesium and calcium than other stuff). All the nutrients benefit you in combinations of correct proportions. In the sense that the minerals need to be in a good combination to be absorbed by the body in an optimum way. Just hiking the level of one or the other doesnt work. Brinjal has the stuff in correct proprtion. In addition, Brinjal contains excellent amount of fibre. Your Mom gave you excellent advice.

    2. About this nicotinic acid stuff, outlandish proportions of nicotine make up cigarettes. In minute quantities (abused in cigarettes) , it is medicinal. Do you know, that we Indians have a certain gene which makes us tend towards a higher value of a bad type of cholesterol called Lp(a) which has a tendency to latch on with all the bad fat to the artery walls . Those who smoke , have already lined up their blood vessel walls with junk, just like a carburretor of a scooter getting black carbon stuff inside due to inefficent combustion and bad fuel. Unfortunately, and unlike scotters, we cannot take a sandpaper and clean the linings, every now and ten.

    As a result, we are world leaders in cardiac attacks , now in even our 30’s and 40’s.

    Talk to any cardiologists in Mumbai. The only medicine to reduce the level of lp(a) , and keep it under control, is called Nicotinamide ( a form of vitamin B3), taken daily in doses of 1 gm or even more. This has nothing to do with cigarettes, smoking etc. Its a question of scale.

    So cursing Brinjal for nicotinoid akaloids, is like cursing a chap because he has S R and K in his name, or cursing WordPress because you dont like a particular blog ….

    Simple. Your Mom was right and you were wrong :-))))

  7. Anonymously Disguised says:

    sigh! this is what happens when you wake up at 4 in the morning? ๐Ÿ˜ฏ paan to cricket to srk to dirty picture to brinjal…….thank god you didn’t put all this together and weave a story about an Item girl who likes to chew paan, goes to watch cricket and at the dinner party while eating Brinjal bumps into SRK :mrgreen:

    I think I admire SRK for the way he has single handedly carved his own life, love his family to death and for his BRAIN!! I think he is one of the most intelligent and witty hero we have in bollywood. I am not a fan of all his movies though…but DDLJ will always be extra close to my heart.

    Now the Brinjal….ohh how I love it!! It’s sexy and extra delicious in any dish you add it to.

    Ps: I do make good Baingan Bharta ๐Ÿ˜›

    • hitchy says:

      Aint that a pretty usual thing from me… from here to there to everywhere ๐Ÿ˜› !!!!

      What do you mean he singlehandedly carved his life ? I thought it was parents who did that ! :-O ๐Ÿ˜ฏ !!!!

      You silly romantic would love him for sure I thought so….

      And your culinary skills are no good unless you come to Bharuch as our cook ! :-/

  8. vimmuuu says:

    Hitchy,theres certainly something between us ๐Ÿ˜› My next post is supposed to be an anti-SRK post with a song of mine from Don. Yet to finish the writeup;lying in my drafts! More on the post later. First time commenting through my mobile; couldnt resist the excitement of SRK bashing! ๐Ÿ˜›

  9. Sandhya says:

    I am not a great fan of SRK, though I too liked the movies, Chak de and Pardes! I admire him for being a clean man in spite of being in Bollywood for so many years and is/was no.1 for a long time. He is a family man unlike Kamal and Aaamir!

    Paan story is interesting! Vidya Balan cannot come near Smitha. She was like our Helen…though they did item nos. we admire them!

    I used to hate Brinjal and Bhendi in my school days. But after marriage had to cook it everyday…my husband is crazy about brinjal. Now, I am also addicted to it, esp. baingon ka barta. He worked in Punjab for many years and caught the taste! Now, I am asked not to touch it…get skin allergy if I eat it! Still cook for the others!

    Very good comparison and looks/sounds apt too!

    • hitchy says:

      What does a clean man mean… that is all perception who knows… and who is to judge Aamir was not clean… a man can fall in love once and decide to change his mind and fall in love again cant he ? ๐Ÿ˜› ๐Ÿ˜› hope I am not stirring a hornets nest ! ๐Ÿ˜›

      Paan is certainly interesting ! ๐Ÿ™‚ it keeps us amused always ! ๐Ÿ™‚

      Vidya I am sure cant come near Smitha.. though I have not seen any of her movies apart from Sadma ! I dont like those raunchy dances either… but I am a Vidya Balan fan ! ๐Ÿ™‚

      ๐Ÿ™‚

      • Sandhya says:

        I too am an Aamir, Kamal and Vidya Balan fan. I liked her in Pa and Parineetha. But somehow I can’t think her in Smitha’s role. Smitha too was a good actress, though she got less opportunity to show it! She had huge eyes and and was very beautiful!

        Keep writing often, Dhiren! We too miss the good old days!

  10. Ashwathy says:

    ROFL!!! ๐Ÿ˜€ ๐Ÿ˜€ Love it….this is the hitchy back in style again….just like the crackpot posts of your heydays! ๐Ÿ˜€

    SRK and brinjal…what a comparison! What an idea sirjee!! :mrgreen:
    And I totally agree with you on NOT calling it an eggplant!!! ๐Ÿ‘ฟ I mean how moronic ๐Ÿ™„

    I am sure SRK would also do well to eat the Brinjals and cut down on the Cigarettes
    You seriously need to get him to read this ! :mrgreen: And also follow this advice yourself!! ๐Ÿ˜›

    Bhagooooooo!!!

  11. Saritha says:

    I like both SRK and brinjal.The only film i didnt see is Raone and only film i disliked was My name is khan.

    Brinjal in any form i can eat but since last few days avoiding it because of skin allergy.

    As said by Sandhya Vidya balan can’t come close to Silk smitha,she is the only one who has got that talent for those item no’s…..

    • hitchy says:

      Good for you that you didnt see RA1 !

      you are right about the Brinjal dunno about SRK I cant comprehend !

      Like I told Sandhya… I am a fan of Vidya… dont know much about Silk !

  12. Nancy says:

    SRK hams big time…..but yeah I liked him in Kabhie haan kabhie na and chak de.

    And I sort of admire him for making it UP there if u knw wht I mean ๐Ÿ™‚

  13. Scribby says:

    first and foremost: I dislike SRK except Chak De! *not using hate as a word cause it’s very strong an emotion and comes only after you love someone*

    Secondly,thanks for batofying so much knowledge on this plan brinjal *oh yes I grew up calling it a brinjal wonly* ๐Ÿ™‚

  14. sangeetakhanna says:

    Great post…loved reading it.
    My opinion…..I love brinjal in any form and by any name, Suranga is so right about this ‘gun se bhara’ vegetable…..Would not bother my fingers for SRK , thank God his name has been shortened to just 3 letters…

  15. Riti says:

    Kismet dhaba was my favourite in college !! Glad to know that someone else other than the people in the architecture dept. at MSU went there ๐Ÿ˜‰

    and yes, baingan ka bharta and bajre ki roti tops there, and there can be no equal !

    • hitchy says:

      A lot of us commerce guys would go there quite regularly !

      Must say this.. we have been going around to a lot of same places without meeting or interacting each other… ! Amazing… that internet now connects us ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a comment