I want a daughter …. oh yea ? have 3 sons !!!!

My Mom always wanted a daughter. Maybe during her life she being the youngest of 4, she was perhaps protected a bit too much and not allowed too much freedom this may have led her to always desiring for a daughter and not a son. She wanted a daughter whom she could always dress in wonderful different set of dresses, chaniya choli’s, punjabi’s, mini’s, sari’s, and what not…. unlike us boys who are always in Chaddi(shorts) & Tshirt or Patloon(Pant)& Tshirt.

May be she had some unfulfilled desires in life to fulfill which she could only fulfill through a daughter and not a son !!!

My DAD keenly lined up in Santacruz in a maternity home on 11th Dec 1977, waiting to hear a girl crying but Ding Dong at 5.40 am 12th Dec came me !!! I was born a blue kid…(krishna’s incarnation) and had to be rushed to Nanavati for they had to put me in some glass box for 5 days. My mom infact saw me last… Mom dear probably must have felt neglected I guess, the moment I was born I had to be rushed to Nanavati and all the relatives that came to see her evntually followed me and My beloved Mother was left alone with my Dadi (who chose to stay with Mom) at the maternity house. She was alright and healthy and not in any danger(thankfully) so she was left alone!!!

My dad and mom both come from a big family and they had decided that they would have only one child. But with me being a male, My mom started convincing Dad to have another child, a daughter who would make the family complete, Ideal !!!

Then came 1981. In the 6th month it was known she was bearing twins !!!!! My mom was pretty sure this time it is going to be atleast one daughter !!! However destiny had different ideas…. On 28th september I was blessed with twin brothers !!!

Three boys !!!! My mom must have thought oh God !!!!

Thankfully she never tried to make girls out of us, we always had short hair and were never made to wear girl clothes.

But then boys have their ways…. I am sure when after a fight in the school any one of us would come home with a broken button or a torn shirt …. she must have been quietly murmuring to herself ohhhh god why these three boys…. We would watch cricket matches and soon a rule was formed in the house, If live cricket is coming nothing else will be watched. No serials, No songs, No movies. Even when repeat telecasts would come they had to be watched. We had to shape our careers after all, by watching Sachin, Warne and Lara !!!!

My mom hated cooking !!!! hopefully if she would have had a daughter she might have some help in the kitchen tooo… But she had three boys who would eat tons of roti’s and be hungry again in an hour !!!! They would break neighbours windows and complaints would come home. We had a mango tree in the compound of our house, but we would get caught stealing mangoes in other people’s compound, We would often fall and have our knees bleeding which had to be attended by Doctors for dressing & tetanus injections almost every fortnight. Never would our school notebooks be complete, never would we be the first in the class. Never would we take part in a singing competition or dancing competition.

We would practice WWF on sofa’s and beds in the house and break them…. We even would play cricket in the drawing room of the house and break tubelights and watches occasionally….

Why the heck three…. boys !!!!!!

But Momma we love you… !!!!!

Eventually we did learn to help her roast roti’s and bhakhri’s. We have already given her two daughters in law who are great friends of hers…. We are still looking for her third daughter… !!!! Hopefully we will find her soooooon !!!!! So in the end I am sure she is not tooo disappointed !!!

Meriii Maaaaa Mommma !!!

36 thoughts on “I want a daughter …. oh yea ? have 3 sons !!!!

  1. Indian Home Maker says:

    Aw this is such a sweeeet post πŸ™‚
    And I am glad you learnt to make bakhris and rotis! give your Mom my regards please, she is lucky to have such nice boys, and I think sons can be as much fun as daughters πŸ™‚
    My son was the one always combing his hair to look like Westlife (I think) stars!
    This has inspired me write about my own two kids!!! Thank You, loved this post!!!

  2. hitch writer says:

    SWAYAM : Glad you loved the post. Yea boys will be boys … tell my mom about it … lol

    IHM : We only learnt to roast not make Bhakhri’s and Roti’s !!!! Waiting for your post….

    RAHUL : Dissatisfied..errr wrong word. I am sure Ma is content and happy with us. Perhaps a grand daughter is on the way…. she is patient and has her finger’s crossed !!!!!

  3. zinggy_mum says:

    dhiren, i can imagine poor momma! what she must have gone through bringing up three boisterous boys..don’t know about the other two but u i can imagine….giving tough time….hahahahaha
    after all “boys will be boys”…i have two of them….

  4. Ranu says:

    Hey we were three sisters. Same story as yours only I was the unplanned accident (pleasant I hope). But Ma always craved for sons. I and Cookie were the sons of the house. Later we gave her three sons (son-in-laws) now after two adorable grand daughters, she wants grandsons. People just dont give up !!!

    We made rotis and watched serials and I chauffered her around whereever she wanted to go and did all that the SON should have done but na !!! as Rahul said earlier people are just dissatisfied in some areas.

  5. hitch writer says:

    ZINGGY : Poor rich momma !!! when she looks back i am sure she will say we enjoyed what she went through !!!!

    RANU : err… dissatisfied is a wrong word !!!

  6. Gypsy Girl says:

    Grin!! It sounds like my friends house- three boys there too… Aunty was so looking forward to a daughter in law, just to have another lady in the house! πŸ™‚

  7. hitch writer says:

    GYPSY Girl : Come to think of it she must have felt so protected and the centre of attraction between 4 males…. lol..!!!!

  8. nituscorner says:

    So sweet….though momma must have had roller coster days …..all the same she must be lucky to have such lovely sons who helps her in the kitchen. Great!!!

  9. Phoenix says:

    awwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwww πŸ™‚

    meri ma momma was the best πŸ˜€

    and what a tale of 3 sons!!!

    i love twins!![sorry silly comment to make :P] but my best friends are twins.. i hope i have twins too!! o god pleeeaaaaaaase!!! πŸ˜€

  10. Solilo says:

    That is beautiful! Loved the post.

    I wanted a girl and got one πŸ™‚ But I always tell others who complain, boys may not express it but they love their parents as much as the girls.

    BTW did you have birth Jaundice? Mine had and she was immediately put under UV rays 😦 for 2 days.

  11. Riya says:

    Grt post.. It was really wonderful to read everyword of it.. Very sweet and full of love post.. Best wishes for you and your family dhiren..

  12. unpretentious_diva says:

    What about adopting a girl?

    A girl from slum or orphanage? and educating her properly and making her able to stand alone as a Human as an individual.

  13. hitch writer says:

    BEFORE I REPLY TO ANY COMMENT TODAY MORNING I MUST THANK EVERY ONE !!! ITS A GREAT THRILL TO RECEIVE COMMENTS !!!! I AM LOVING IT !!

  14. hitch writer says:

    SHILPA : Sweet of you !!

    NITU : Definitely GREAT !!!

    PHOENIX : Raising twins is a helluva job !!! trust me… !!! want my ma’s number to tell u how difficult it is…???? lol….

    SOLILO : Don’t know much bout birth jaundice, I had a forehead that was blue and had to kept in a glass box, guess UV … will have to inquire more with my mom and dad… lol. And boys are also human, they will love their parents obviously !!!!

    SUCHITRA : Boys would be great tooo !!! cheers to lucky you !!!!

    RIYA : Thanks !!!

    DIYA : Don’t know if my mom wants to adopt one now ?? I did want to adopt one girl but my wife was against it, she has an opinion that if we have our own child we should never adopt. I respect her opinion !!! We do donate to CRY but….

    SMITA : Hang on !!! I never said girls are the best !!! did i ?????

  15. Smita says:

    Awwww!!!! Sweet post yet again πŸ™‚

    And ROFL for MR = Mentally Retarded he he he….and was your informed about your cricketing expeditions???

  16. Indyeah says:

    Awww…!such a cute post..:)and ‘ Hriday’ the name’s beautiful…And fathers have a very special place in their kid’s life even if its not spoken about much…:)….I love the way you wrote…….

    ”I never like small kids or babies and was very very unsure how to hold him, but when Hriday came in my arms I somehow held him exactly the way I should have.”… beautifully expressed…..:)

  17. hitch writer says:

    INDYEAH : the name Hriday is beautiful aint it !!! my discovery yay yay !!!!!

    Glad you liked this piece… thanks to IHM i found your post on fathers !!!!

  18. Rendevouz says:

    Oh I love her .. She is the best.. an Inspiration of my life.. She has been a guiding stone throughout. She is among the list of people who have made me accomplish my goals and helped me reach where I am….

  19. Smitha says:

    Such a lovely lovely post !! Am sure that your mother must be really proud of you! At the end of the day , I guess , any baby is a miracle isn’t it? I learnt that only after I myself became a mother..

  20. Crafty Shines says:

    lol @ wanting a girl so she can dress her up ! i am pestering all my preggy friends that they must have girls coz i dunno what to crochet for a boy!!! πŸ˜›

    Me : You can crochet sweaters for boys cant you ????

    tell ur mom she can adopt me…..but then, i don’t dress up at all 😐
    ok, i will only for her! πŸ˜€

    Never mind she will dress you up !!!!! no matter what, as she would be so so excited…

    lol! thank god she didn’t make u guys dress up in girl clothes! i have guy friends who have snaps in ghagra choli, lipstick and bindi..ok, so they were 5 yrs old, Still!!! πŸ˜›

    I am really thankful to that, she accepted what she got and moved on… lol…

    broken button and torn shirt….hmmm…no doubt about it, ur mom wud have loved me! i only sat and read story books!! πŸ˜›

    never came first, didn’t take part in competition, incomplete notebooks? er….that was me too….

    hobbes, you are a guy in a girls body !!!!! SERIOUSLY !

    ROFL at practise WWF on sofas!!! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

    u guyss sound like so much fun…(maybe ur mom wud want to disagree with me?)
    i’m sure it was a challenge raising three boys!!!! kudos to ur mom! and u guys help her in the kitchen?? hugs!!!

    WWF on sofas!! i can’t stop imagining that!!! lol!!!!!!!!

    you cant do WWF on the floors you see… πŸ˜› πŸ˜› πŸ˜› !!!!!! :mrgreen:

    super post Hitchy! i wish we were neighbors as kids!!! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

    Oh I so so so so hope we were crafty my sweetheart…. Sigh….

  21. kanagu says:

    Thanks for linking this post dhiren bhai… I completely loved this… πŸ™‚ being in a home of only 2 boys we have done those wwfs and all πŸ™‚ no help in kitchen… ha ha ha… but I love mom very much πŸ™‚

  22. Swaram says:

    Hw sweet πŸ™‚ My Mom n dad were the same n they r so happy to hv two of us nw πŸ˜›
    The second one is gud too unlike me πŸ˜‰

    Ur Mom is really so sweet that she dint dress u up in baby girl stuff. I want a girl n if it is a son, he will def. sport pigtails n pink frocks 😯

  23. Shunni says:

    I am a mother of 3 sons-7,3 and 1; obsessed with having a daughter; and do not have the energy to try one more time. Loved your piece! Totally gives me hope that the future is not so bleak! πŸ™‚ Give your mom big big hugs. I can imagine what she has gone through raising you three!

    • Sultan BHAI ! says:

      Welcome Shunni to my blog, you didnt leave your url so I cant trace you !!!! πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ lol… boys arent bad you know… they too are treasures…. !!!! and come to think of it… maybe your daughter would have married and gone… but these boys will surely bring you 3 daughters to stay with you !!!! πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

