New recipe & Obama yesterday night

The cook in me has suddenly woken up !!!

Yesterday while chatting to one of my very sweet friend, zinggy mum, she is a parsee lady and a very dear friend now, (we met each other on a scrabble board online and now are friends for life) I spoke about my Biryani… eventually I talked her into giving me some parsee recipe to make..

Now most parsi recipe are made with non-veg (eggs are not veg i assume) , and I am a jain !! Although I eat non veg, at my house only my wife eats only eggs. My bro and his wife are Jains by actions !!! lol…. however I dont qualify for any religion …

p.s. : This egg eating and all is a secret fella’s, all this happens only at my indore house. If at headquarters, in Bharuch my mom comes to know about this I am gone for good !!!!

Zinggy Mum gave me the recipe for a dish called “Papeta par eedu”….

How to make it ? Well, here we go :

Ingredients : 1 onion finely chopped, 1 potato peeled and sliced with very thin round slices of potato, 1 green chilli, 1 egg, salt, garlic, ginger

Need to fry onions in oil on a slow flame and then we add garlic, green chilli and ginger paste to it as per our taste also add a lil salt as per taste. (You can experiment here and also add Pavbhaji Masala, Sambhar Masala, Chole Masala, Garam Masala, red chillies etc … but I didnt add any of those yesterday as my sunday’s Biryani was a little difficult on Monday morning !!!! lolz….)

Once the onion are slightly cooked, add the potato slices and mix them, then cover the pan and allow the potatoes to cook. Add water on the lid of the pan so that the onions and potato do not burn. Once the potatoes are cooked, take an egg and and beat it well and then spread it well on the potatoes and cover the pan again and let it cook till the egg becomes fluffy. You can garnish it with coriander leaves and your “papeta par eedu is ready”

I made it yesterday and its yummy and different. I loved it enough to post about it today morning !!!!

After making the dish I moved to the hall to watch TV and eat and I surfed news channel after news channel to find every one was telecasting live the American President coming to take his oath !!!

I mean fine its important for America, but is it so important for us ?? Does it concern us that much that about 10-12 news channels show his oath taking ceremony live !!!

However I must confess I am amazed by the amount of optimism this man has generated, there is a euphoria about everything he does. He announces “we have chosen hope over fear” and the people go delirious. The one thing I do appreciate is how much people follow him, he is a leader and he can actually influence a lot of people. In India we sorely miss such a leader who can influence so many people.

No I am not talking about getting thousands of people to listen a speech of our politicians where most have been promised money or liquor for attending the gathering. Actually people took leaves from offices, schools, colleges and gathered to see this man speak and take oath !!!!

Unreal, Overweight expectations from this one individual. Not just Americans, the whole world is looking towards him, every one hopes he will change everything.

One thing I have learnt in my 31 years of life is whenever the expectations run high, they are met with disappointment. For once I hope I am wrong !!!

16 thoughts on “New recipe & Obama yesterday night

  1. zinggy_mum says:

    hey dhiren,
    i am glad it turned out well (tumne meri laaj rakhli….lol!) and yeah congrats on ur 29th follower….keep on counting….will reach golden jubilee soon enough.

  2. Rakesh says:

    Ok Dhiren, so you’ve got another occupation to fall on now, just in case 🙂
    And its weird, innit? Indian channels showing Obama’s swearing in live… I mean he is not the president of the world now. And I don’t think anything will change for India with Obama in the US.

  3. Sagarone says:

    The burden of raised expectations is what Obama is going to face, as you so truly pointed out in your last couple of paras. And, by the way the papeta with eendu sound interesting as well!

  4. mayz says:

    wow d recipe sounds yummy…me is gonna ask me mum to make it for me…yeah yeah i cant cook 😦

    abt obama…well i have my opinions reserved..will wait till he shows smthn…b it positive or negative

  5. hitch writer says:

    ZINGGY : It was delicious !!! waiting for more recipes, take my advise start a recipe blog of your own !!!!

    RAKESH : I somehow agree with all you said !

    SAGARONE : “papeta par eedu ” not eendu !!!!

    MAYZ : TRY IT. Its yummy . bout OBAMA, yea rite we wait till he delivers something !! but amazing euphoria the man has generated.

  6. Smitha says:

    Dhiren – You are tempting me with this – Have to try this out 🙂

    As for Obama – yes the expectations are sooo high – that it worries me – added to the fact that he is probably inheriting the most difficult presidency in the history of America.. Lets hope he proves an exception to prove the rule 🙂

  7. Shilpa says:

    Hey,
    Can you try the dish with a substitute for the egg and post the result? I’ll try it then :-P.

    Obama is making all the right noises right now. Hope he makes the right moves too

  8. varunavi says:

    Recipe sounds good, will try for sure.Congrats for getting the dish right

    At the age of 47 he is president and everyone are following him,what is the age of our PM and the President.

  9. hitch writer says:

    SMITHA : Try it and let me know how it comes out !!! Bout Obama – the good thing for him is the american economy is at its worst, so it can only improve from here on…

    SHILPA : dunno, how to do it without eggs… if i find some way shall keep you posted.

    VARNUNAVI : try it and lemme know !!! well youngsters need to be promoted in Indian politics but they should be good ones, age should not be the only criteria

    ABHISHEK : I dont know if its about his race.. I think he is giving a lot of optimism by his speeches. He is a fantastic speaker… whether he will be a good president remains to be seen. Whether we will benefit from him, too soon to even contemplate about it ..

  10. Indrani says:

    Keeping my fingers crossed on Obama. …oh! well on that stuff you made too.

    I will reserve my comments after till taste both. 🙂

  11. Indyeah says:

    lol!I am going to try it out too:D

    ”No I am not talking about getting thousands of people to listen a speech of our politicians where most have been promised money or liquor for attending the gathering. Actually people took leaves from offices, schools, colleges and gathered to see this man speak and take oath !!!!”

    This went through my mind yesterday!:)

    We get people to come in trucks loaded like cattle by luring them with a few rupees/liquor/sarees/you name it
    and yeah the expectation : disappointment ratio is true..:(
    hope you are wrong too:)

  12. Solilo.. says:

    High time..you start a cooking blog. Potato and Eggs are two of my favorites.

    “I mean fine its important for America, but is it so important for us ??”

    Of course it is. World’s economy depends on leader of United States. President of US is leader of the world 🙂

  13. Charmed One! says:

    I am surely gonna try this recipe the next time i enter the kitchen 🙂 …
    Yeah about Obama.. there is surely some magnetism in him that makes us all believe when he talks… Hope he does live upto all our expectations 🙂 !!

Leave a Reply

