Whirl wind trip home… but it was great !! really .. great !

My youngest brother is still unmarried. He is a part of twins, one of the twins found a girl for himself like me and it was a lot more easier. However the younger being the quiet, shy and reserve type hasn’t been to suauve (hope the spelling is right) with girls. After many months of giving him time to find some one, finally Mom decided its enough, we have to find a girl for him.

I havent married a girl of the same caste, so caste is not an issue, nor are we very religious at all. However for the youngest we had to find a girl so we thought of starting with our own ” Nath ” read caste in gujarati.

So he pointed out a few pics in our community book for unmarried girls and boys, saying these girls look decent…. Mom got to call a few people and in about a weeks time we got a call from a family that they would like to meet, they invited, but we kinda were taken aback as the response came too soon, Mom is inexperienced in this arrange marriage situation thanks to the elder two sons not giving her any experience. Before we knew they were actually invited and they were coming to our house in 3 days.

I rushed to Bharuch the previous night (reached at 1am) as I wanted to clear my bro’s mind, his certain fixations, I wanted him to go and meet her with a clear mind. The silly guy keeps asking me what should I look out for, what should i ask her, what do I tell her….

I am like, when you are in the situation questions will keep coming, things will keep happening, you will know once you meet her… He is like blushing a lot, embarassed a bit and me and Mom are giggling and laughing at this prospect… Everyone is unsure, Mom is asking me I asked them to have lunch at our place is it right ? or is it being too cordial?? I am like, Mom, your the mom, I am the son… I don’t know…

I tell Mom, we can’t decide in one meeting, I mean we can’t ask the kids to decide in one meeting. We need to make one thing clear, that even if the families approve the kids should get a chance to meet each other, maybe exchange phone numbers and get time….

Mom (a lil unsure) : is it a good idea ?

Me ( i am unsure too) : I don’t know, but I know one thing, we don’t want to rush things.

Mom : Ok.. your idea you tell them that !!

I (Oh no… in my mind) : No, no… you tell them that !!!

Mom : Its your idea, you should tell them…

(she has no brothers and only her parents were coming with her)

I (last throw of the dice) : well it will be her parents who are coming, if it was her brother I would have said it, you must arrange for the necessary Mom !! Mom, your the Mom, I am the son… how can I ??

Mom : sonny, your the big brother… you’re also the boss remember !!!! (suddenly I felt like trapped smart alec)

I am like having my reputation on the line…. as the boss of the family… Suddenly I feel I should have brought talkative wifey alongside, she could have done the talking and I could have hidden behind her !!! But I had already pushed her into her business and she had an important meeting !!!! bah….

While i am trying to figure out how to go about it, again comes the younger one…. hey she is B.com, MBS ? what is that … ?? I am like I dont know !!! We search MBS, in google but are at wits end … seems there is no such degree, in India …

Eventually we slept 5 am. Me and my brother after I gave him the elder brother talk for 2 hours after Mom slept. At bloody 7 am in the morning this guy switches the fan off and tells me to get up… I am like what ????? 7 ??? wake me at 10, they are coming at 10.30, i ll be ready !!!!

But no, the idiot is too excited and plays loud music in the hall, I am like wanting to punch him in the nose, than i think no not the nose, the girl is coming maybe I should punch him in the belly … sheeeeesh….

Remember that dialogue of Rahul Bose in Jhankaar Beats, ” Sunday Subah 7 baje, Pyaar nahi hota !!! ”

Eventually we are on our swing on the verandah at 9, brushed, shaved and bathed, Mom forced to me to have a bath straight away and that everyone should be ready…. I am like …. what the heck…. the whole house was mopped and everything was in order.

They came at 10.10, I am like telling my brother to go inside the bedroom, he is like why ??

I said I dont know why ?? He didnt go, he stood there staring as they came in.

She, well its not fair to describe her but I must say one thing, she remarkably was not at all nervous and smiled confidently…. They came in… all sat…

The major communication was going on between the one guy who set up the meeting and me and my Mom…. suddenly in between I just happened to lock eyes with my brother and I couldnt stop but start laughing, I controlled and stood up and signalled him to come to the bedroom….

For the next 2-3 minutes we just kept on laughing, giggling so much for absolutely no reason…. whatsoever….. we both asked why were you laughing, we both had no answers…. It was like sharmila ladke walas… blushing out !!!!

Well the rest of things went as per schedule…. I managed to catch hold of the girl and I told her that it seems both families have agreed, but you both need to meet each other a few times, get to know each other well before you both decide anything…. She communicated the same to her parents and they seemed to be fine with it….. !!!!!

Later we came to know that MBS was MBA a printing mistake by the publishers !!!! I left for Indore the same night….

Today the hero has gone to meet her again to her city !!!! They are meeting for lunch, seems like something is sprouting, or atleast i suspect so… why ? because today is India New Zealand match and its 2.50 pm right now, he reached there at 10.30 am, still not once has he called to ask what is the score…. which is unusual, everyday from his bank he calls me every 15 minutes on a match day to ask the score…. See a girl can change a man’s view !!!!! lol…. I am gonna tease him bout this for sure !!!!

and the fact that he has still not called, means he is still there talking to her…. I am so tempted to call him but I have resisted…. eventually I thought I ll write my blog so that I can keep my mind of disturbing him…. Its been bloody 5 hours now he has been with her….

Hoping its all gelling into a happy ending !!!!

40 thoughts on “Whirl wind trip home… but it was great !! really .. great !

  1. Charmed One! says:

    Hoping they are having a good time out there and we get to hear the good news about the wedding very soon πŸ™‚ …

    But seriously a very entertaining post πŸ™‚ … to hear how a boy reacts on seeing the girl for the first time is really amazing πŸ˜€ ….

    Hey Dhiren U have a award for you in my blog :).. please do collect it πŸ™‚ …

  2. hitch writer says:

    SERENDIPITY : what sounds not so scary ?? your in the queue it seems ??? lol…

    CHARMED ONE : hope so !!! award … coming !!!!

  3. moi says:

    ROTFL!!! I didn’t know guys reacted this way!!! Hey thanks for the insight !! “sharmila ladke walas… blushing out !!!!” Very funny post, Ladke wale itne sharmile hota hai kya?? So fingers crossed, hope for the best !!

  4. Thoorika says:

    So cute !! πŸ™‚ I am waiting for one of my brother to get married next week.. !! waiting for my chance to make him cry πŸ˜›

  5. Varunavi says:

    Lol so sweet.
    Good he didnt show his interest in cricket by calling u. “See a girl can change a man’s view !!!!!”
    Hope for the best and wedding bells will ring soon

  6. ugich konitari says:

    In the olden days, someone would have made a smart comment and said “uski wicket padi”; maybe thats why he didnt bother to call you . With a wonderful “match” right there, who wants to worry about India, NZ, Rain etc etc….

  7. nimis540 says:

    Hey Diren,you write so well and i was glued to to last word…

    Glad to hear about ur brother,and i can sense the honest love of a brother here,without any pretentions πŸ™‚

    God bless you all and lets hope that both your brother and the girl makes good choices for their lives…

  8. hitch writer says:

    NIMI : glad to know you love it !! Like all brothers I love mine too… πŸ™‚

    ZINGGY : lets hope for the best !

    VINODJI : as long as its for good let him be taken !

  9. Indian Home Maker says:

    He hasn’t asked for the score!!?

    Yeah, something’s up, no doubt! En joyed reading this one, specially the part when you two went into giggling fits ..lol…
    But hats off to you, you are being a very responsible brother and son πŸ™‚

  10. Indyeah says:

    This was such a cute read Dhiren!:)
    and you are one amazing brother to have:))

    LOl@he didnt ask the score…good detection system you have !:D

    God bless you and your loved ones..always:)

    and may you see a wedding in the family pretty soon..:)love is in the air:)

  11. Rakesh says:

    he he, something’s sprouting??? I just think, hormones got the better of him. He’ll be dead as a duck in love, by the time the meeting ends…

    Poor guy, Didn’t he learn anything from you two suave brothers?

  12. ApocalypsE says:

    “sharmila ladke walas… blushing out !!!!” – Man tat was awesome…LOL

    And Hurray India won the match… Hope the this turns out good for your sharmila brother…:-)

  13. Ordinary Guy says:

    LOL Dhiru Bhai, that was a great read…
    arranged marriages have a certain charm…. πŸ™‚ if everything goes well… that is…

    Best of Luck guys, I hope that there is a wedding in the near future… πŸ™‚

  14. Monika says:

    somethings up for sure… i can smell it πŸ™‚

    and man i like this… u should have made ur bro take the tea πŸ˜‰

  15. Smita says:

    Aww!!! this is such a sweet post πŸ™‚

    Loved the banter between u n ur mom :))

    As Monika says something is up for sure πŸ™‚

    PS I dunno why but I loved the post πŸ™‚

  16. hitch writer says:

    RAKESH : As is evident, NO !

    INDRANI : I agree..

    APOCALYPSE : Hope so mate !

    SOLILO : Amen !

    AJIT : ting ting !! πŸ™‚

    MONIKA : Trust me I did tell him to serve tea and samosa’s… as it ended up I was the one who served water a couple of times…

    SMITA : PS – take my advise, dont try to find reasons.. just smile and njoy !

  17. Marites says:

    This is quite entertaining and it gives me a glimpse of an age old tradition that has long been gone from ours. It’s also funny to imagine the reaction of you guys:)

  18. Chirag says:

    Haha, kinda of nice, you did play a good bada bhai πŸ™‚ so he’s now romancing, brilliant, do not call him. Hey do keep us updated.

  19. Badrika says:

    WoW Dhiren! I couldn’t help but laugh. You never came across as shy to me. I’m curious on what happened on Prasant’s date. Where is the girl from?

    And wow! He didn’t even call you up for the score. Sounds serious. I don’t think you’ll have to look no further for a girl.

    Anyway, best of Luck to him because there is a wedding on its way. πŸ˜‰ LoL!

  20. mindspace says:

    Hoping its all gelling into a happy ending !!!!
    call it a happy beginning man πŸ™‚

    i m sure he’s gonna beat u up for this entertainment at his expense.. but maybe he will excuse you for the 2 guy talk you gave him for 2 hrs πŸ˜›

    funny u are! liked reading this one too..
    all the best to the girta hua wicket.

  21. Smitha says:

    Oh that was so cute!!!! Your brother sounds so cute too!! All that blushing and worrying πŸ™‚

    And LOL at the ‘sharmila ladke wale’ πŸ™‚ Do you think you guys will cry at the wedding πŸ˜‰ at this rate πŸ™‚

    This post was awesome!!! I have to read all your archives now πŸ™‚

  22. Ashwathy says:

    ROFL!!! πŸ˜€ I SO love this post :mrgreen:

    I completely understand your bro being fidgety. But then I can never sleep at 5am and wake up at 7am on a day like this!! I need my sleep!! πŸ˜› πŸ˜›

    I m guessing they are now having their happily ever after phase πŸ™‚

    P.S.: I had just started blogging around the time you posted this and had not yet met you, hence I am seeing this post only now. But its a definite must-read!!

    • hitchy says:

      I did read this earlier and I think I replied too, somehow there is nothing here… strange ! :-/

      My bro and his wife completed 2 years just a couple of days back ! πŸ™‚

      and Ash, beta jab pyaar hota hai na… to time koi nahi dekhta ! πŸ˜› Neend apne aap ud jaati hai ! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

