Beloved Baroda – Foodie’s dream

This is a repost, actually a friend sent it to me from Kenya, he got excited by the blogging stuff and sent me one… That was in October, at that time I didnt have many readers… but now that I am famous !!! I thought I should post again, so that I can ask him to join the Bloggin Bandwagon….

Bunty buddy jump in !!!!

We all often miss our college days, the days of fun and frolic… just chatted to him today morning at 3.30 while he was in Kenya at 1.30.

Strange are the ways of life… guys who used to stick together everyday, and smoke the same cigarette till the very end…

now one gets up to see a match another goes to sleep after a late night movie… almost simultaneously !

But this is not  a sad post… this is about our college days in Baroda !! the best days of life !! surely !

Repost

“”

This comes from a friend in Kenya, Pratik … he is missing our college days in baroda like me …

 

Woh Mandvi, woh Tower, woh Baroda ka station..

Woh Mandvi, woh Tower, woh Baroda ka station..!

Woh Ellora-park jo avval tha pani-puri mein,

Woh raunak jo rehti thi Alpkapuri mein,

Woh Payal ki kachori,

woh Rumzum ki chaatein

Woh office main laake samosay thay khaatein..

Kahaan Dairy-den ka ice-cream,

kahaan Rajkamal ke khaman,

Woh Jagdish ke farsan,

woh Kalyaan ka dosa,

Woh Vishaal jo daalta tha Sandwich mein samosa,

Woh Raju ka Omlet,

woh Duliraam ke pende,

Woh halki si baarish mein Sarabhai ke bhajiye,

Kahaan jalaram ki lassi,aur woh wadi ki tam-tam..

Woh Vaccine aur Aarkee ke rangeele garbay,

Woh home-science ki maalein,

woh fine-arts ke fatkay,

Hansa mehta ke chakkar,

SD Hall ka phera,

Fatehgunj ki sadkon pe ladkon ka dera..

Na career ki chinta,

na naukri ka tension..

Yeh Passport bhi le lo..

yeh greencard bhi le lo..

Bhale chheen lo mujhse mera yeh H1..

Magar mujhko lauta do woh Baroda ka jeevan

– Pratik Jani, M.S.Univesity.

“”

 

[p.s – M.S. University = more popularly known as Marriage Setting University ]

 

It did turn out to be that for me  – lol !! 😀

 

42 thoughts on “Beloved Baroda – Foodie’s dream

  1. Sahaja says:

    nostlagic me tooo…..those were the best days of everyones life right!!

    btw when i was reading this post, i was almost trying to sing it to tune 😛 woh tassavur ka aalam…very nice way of writing abt college!!! Kudos to ur friend!

    and marriage setting univ LOL!

    • hitchwriter says:

      I always sing it… infact i have it by heart now… lol…

      and amazingly Sahaja it is a marriage setting university !! amzing number of couples must be thankful to our college !!! 😀

  2. Usha says:

    Reminds me of the song Yaadein yaadein yaadein… 🙂

    The NDA has this as a sort of anthem, where the passing out cadets recall the times spent there. A lovely song 🙂

    Missing the gals are you?? 🙂 Well MS univ it was wasnt it? Lol. :D!

  3. hitchwriter says:

    yea that song, purani jeans aur guitar… that was an anthem for us in college too, I think it was some Pakistani singer…

    😀

    Gals… obviously ! 😀

  4. Sanket says:

    ~!@#$%^&*()_+ !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    cant u have a lil mercy on us abroad-living-stumble-upon-ers??
    next time plz put a big statutary warning in first line: “desi food items vividly descibed”!

    btw, u/he forgot M.S. canteens!!

    -Sanket Rathod
    B.A. 2007, M.S.U. VAdodara

    • hitchwriter says:

      I never knew food’s needed disclaimers !!!

      lol….

      I simply loved that : ~!@#$%^&*()_+ !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

      🙂 😀 😛

      strange are we MS U’ites… lol

      gonna go to baroda soon and I m sure i ll have a lil more on your behalf !!!! dont you worry !!! lol 😀

  5. Winnie the poohi says:

    Nostalgia! Ah! I so want to go back to hostel and eat vadapav and misal 😦

    Feels great to remember though 🙂

  6. Solilo says:

    Nostalgia for sure but along with that I was drooling at the mention of yum food items. Arre yaar we live in a village in US where we don’t have anything Indian. Just one lady who recently started catering Indian food. I miss INDIAN FOOD.

  7. Varunavi says:

    Lol missing girls:)
    Recollected my college days,they are many cinema halls around my college,any new movie the whole class used to bunk and go,those days were so fun…………
    Enjoyed reading it

  8. hitchwriter says:

    @ Winnie – The hostel days were great… !! miss them all the time..

    @ Solilo – I miss them too… although we have a fair share of MP’s items… but i m going to baroda in a weeks time.. i m going to gobble up things there !

    @ Varunavi – Dont you girls ever miss the college guys ?? dunno… i do !! for sure !! 😀

    Dont tell me bout bunking college… in 3 years i attended 7 lectures !!

  9. sandhya says:

    yeh daulat bhi le lo, yeh shoharat bhi le lo, bhale cheen lo mujhse meri jawaani…magar mujhko lautaado, bachpan ka saawan…woh kaagaz ki kashti, woh baarish ka paani ….Jagjit Singh’s ghazal…

    I was reading your poem ….your expressions are good. However we try, we cannot live that carefree life again.

  10. Indyeah says:

    Dhiren 😀
    The line that really stood out [p.s – M.S. University = more popularly known as Marriage Setting University ]
    LOL!
    Yeah lucky you! 😀
    *touchwood*

    such a nostalgic post dude 🙂
    I am getting all nostalgic too…I have so many memories of Mhow where I spent almost all my childhood that are just like this and then later of Delhi which was all about high school and college 🙂

    Beautifully written 🙂
    Memories are so precious…

  11. smitha says:

    Oh Dhiren! You’ve made me all nostaglic and worse – made my mouth water 🙂 And all those descriptions brought back memories of Baroda for me – I had stayed there for 3-4 months for a project and had a wonderful, wonderful time! The food was divine, people are so friendly and we were put up in a wonderful place – very near your Marriage Setting University – Lol!!! That was a wonderful read!

  12. R. ramesh says:

    Magar mujhko lauta do woh Baroda ka jeevan—very interesting..ya..v always feel past is good because v have crossed it..once i moved fm chennai to mumbai..i always missed chennai..then i moved from mumbai to dubai..i miss mumbai..mind is a weird monkey…

  13. Rashmi says:

    M.S. University = more popularly known as Marriage Setting University ..rofl…
    after a long time…ur post has remind me of my college days..
    does ur wife reads ur blog…she shd read this comment
    ” no girls in my office you see

    ha ha !!

  14. hitchwriter says:

    I drag her to read… bout what i wirte and the commetns i get… but she just is not interested… 😦

    trying to get her into this though.,.. and i m not giving up for sure ! 🙂

  15. Gauri says:

    baroda is a wonderful place.. can only imagine how grt MSU days must have been.. all that khaman dhokla remined me of ahmedabad though..

    • hitchwriter says:

      Ahmedabad is for the fafda and jalebi’s and raipur darwaja bhajiya and maska bun and navtal na samosa !! !!!!

      aaah…. so many other places to go and eat out !!!!

      and those days at msu were rocking ! 🙂

      Welcome to my blog !! keep coming 😀

  16. Badz says:

    Yes. Your college days are always the good old days. And you ALWAYS remember them. Well I’m in at university so I am enjoying them now. 😛

Leave a Reply

