gypsy conversations…

at a tea stall, somewhere in leh …

The bolero came to a screeching halt… they were 5 friends…. having driven from manali…. they got off… stretching their limbs, dusting their clothes… 3 ordered their tea one ordered his coffee and the fifth started stuffing manala cream (marijuana for the innocent ones) into his cigarette… the four left for the restroom the fifth guy pulled a plastic chair and sat across a foreigner.

Sittin on the plastic chair the fifth one exchanged a smile with a foreigner and continued his stuffing of cigarette merrily without a care in the world…

Foreigner (F) : “hey”
5th friend (5) : “hey”
.

Β 

F: so where are you coming from ?
5 : Manali…

.

F : great !
5 : you ?

.

F : Manali too..
5: you from ?

.

F : Palestine… hey mate, can i have one of those cigarettes you are gonna smoke… !!
5 : sure !! I ll make one for you too… !!

.

( the 5th friend suddenly notices only their vehicle in parking this guy is alone.. no vehicle.. )

.

5 : you a tourist ?
F : yea.. ! so you guys drove from manali ?
5 : yea… we drove… about 350 kms.. (smiles)

.

F : Lazy people, you Indians ! …. I came walking… !!!

65 thoughts on “gypsy conversations…

  1. Crafty Shines says:

    hee haw haw haw….am really first…i have my luck at ur blog!!! if only we got paid for this eh hitchy?!!! new hobby gaya tel lene…this is my latest thrill!!! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

    ok ok…now going to read πŸ™‚
    see, tara is gonna call me a cheater now πŸ˜€

    HW : if we were to get paid for this… I m sure by now I would have earned my fortune and retired with my cottage in Manali with my wife and you as my baby sitter… !!!!! whew…. !!!!

    cheater ?? why ?? *looks around innocently*

  2. Crafty Shines says:

    wha?????? he walked????? OMG…my feet are hurting just reading that.
    but its true, ppl abroad seem to show great love for walking…dad had a guest from abroad and he insisted on going walking to places and they had to leave like 2 hrs in advance instead of just half hour…

    i don’t mind walking if i have kishore n asha’s songs to hear and a cool climate. but walking in the city in the sun, during peak traffic is nothing short of suicide…

    btw….is this 5th friend the same person who gets a high on being first commenter now? πŸ˜› hee! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

    HW : yea he walked… ! he and his back pack… !! how wonderful… i mean in that beautiful part of India I can walk too !! but more than the walking.. the time… how can you leave your home job and roam a foreign country for 3 months… and it was his 3rd trip to ladakh !!!

    and about …. that 5th guy… *finger on the lips* ssshhh *no comments*

    • Tara says:

      some of these adventure travelers have all the luck to be provided with resources to spend months walking and we inspite of having all the heavenly beautiful places in our land, have no time or say fortune to leave the jobs aside and enjoy long trips. sigh!!! 😦

      n u forget about cheater n all.. u guys surely do a smart job at grabbing the first position πŸ™‚ so i give up 😐

      I love that too Dhiren… just pack ur bags and go on…

  3. Badz says:

    WoW! That’s great. And yes a lot of foreigners walk and you can say go hitch hiking, A lot of my friends here have done it when visiting india. They did it for 6 months. Just them and their backpack. πŸ™‚
    I’m so jealous. I want to do it. 😦

    HW : just do it… you are still a student… !! vacation… !! is around !!

    • Badz says:

      LoL! I wish! I’ve already been told by both mum and dad that I need to speak to my manager to increase my hours at work and work full time (around 40 hrs a week) for the whole summer vacation. 😦
      So much for a summer vaction. 😦

  4. monikamanchanda says:

    i know they do so much hiking and walking… very less luggage very less money and loads of fun

    HW : and loads of adventure… !

  5. Mystery says:

    He walked for 350 kms!!!!!
    walking would be fun if accompanied by friends/family but not alone.. i mean the loong walks such as this.. you get bored by walking all the way…
    wasnt this the same incident u mentioned in OG’s blog?

  6. Indyeah says:

    I could walk that much πŸ˜›
    only thing is I dont find too many people willing to accompany me πŸ˜€

    but seriously walking is the way to go πŸ˜€
    per yeh phir bhi zyaada ho gaya πŸ˜€

  7. kanagu says:

    Me to love to walk… but this is 2,3,4,5 much πŸ˜€ we have to walk for days to reach any place… phew πŸ™‚

    its not about walking.. its about the freedom…

  8. Winnie the poohi says:

    Infact for me.. walking alone is the best experience.. you think more and observe even more! I think it was wonderful! I would love to do it!!

    hope to finish the paisa kamane ka fast and start doing things like this… !!

  9. sraboneyghose says:

    I hate walking but I would love to just take off!!! These foreigners are crazy!!! why walk when you can get there by car πŸ™‚ ?

    you hate walking … thats why you wonder… its fun though bones.. !! πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

  10. insanityincorporated says:

    wo!! 350 kms!!! some stamina he has πŸ™‚ walking in places like Manali is an adventure in itself…but otherwise….ahem…I am a little pampered you see πŸ˜€ i drive πŸ™‚

    HW : hey welcome to my blog !!! you havent left your url !!

    its an adventure… its a beauty to be discovered and its time to reflect… !! driving is also cool as it is more practical … for city and job dwellers like us !!

  11. Ashwathy says:

    i’m not surprised… foreigners LOVE walking. whatever little of my stay abroad, i’ve come to that conclusion. irrespective of how well-connected by transport the place maybe, there definitely will be people walking on the road on the way to their destination WITHOUT being on a vehicle…

    having said that, that IS quite a distance to be walking… he has my respect lol

    I tooo hope to earn your respect some day by walking that distance !! πŸ™‚

  12. Pixie says:

    OMG!!! He walked?!!

    Good Lord!

    I feel tired just by reading… πŸ˜›

    How can anyone walk like that?!!!

    you can you can.. only if you wish to !! πŸ˜‰

  13. blissfulnicky says:

    i know a couple who worked in the paris office of my company.they have quit their jobs and right now they are touring asia for a year!!. they would be visiting india soon. suounds super cool na..wish to do something like this

    HW : hey welcome to my blog !!! where is yr Url ???

    I certainly find it cool… but just doesnt seem like possible for me to do atleast not yet… how can you leave jobs for a year ??? amazing !!!

  14. Smitha says:

    Dhiren – I just got back from a holiday from a place where most people do this walking thing.. It is so much fun.. You walk and walk and when you get tired, just camp at the closest B&B! I so wanted to do that! If only daughter was a little older – We would have done that! It is great fun – if you have the right companions!

    HW : right companions ?? lol… its fun for sure !! I am gonna do it too… my son is already thrilled with the trekking he did in manali and I think he will be game to join me… !!!! πŸ˜€

  15. renu says:

    wow !but seriously I think the foreigners can walk a lotm just the other day I saw some people walking to a Vista point 5 km away with children, whereas I couldnt even think of and came back.
    I also have a dream to go on a tour for a year without a worry in the world:)

  16. Destination Infinity says:

    Before a couple of years, I got EXHAUSTED walking up the tirupati hill! where you have steps shelter lassi masala soda and the distance is just a fraction of what he’s done! I admire people who could walk like that, I think we people are pampered a lot by the system of bringing us up! Time to change a bit, at least.

    Destination Infinity

  17. Amit says:

    I am surprised how people here take such long holidays. I am really jealous! We can not even dream of taking such wonderful trips! 😦
    Your friend’s eyeballs must have popped out. πŸ˜†

Leave a Reply

