Missing you Ma…

 
Everyday morning I listen to my own sweet dose of songs…. I normally try and stay away from the song Mumma sung by Kailash in Dasvidaniya…. it just makes me so choc-a-bloc with emotions…. never can i sing it along and it makes me weep… yes always… But eventually today I did listen to that song and again I miss my Mom… Not that I dont always miss her, but this song just amplifies the missing… !!!!

 

 

The lyrics are toooooo gooood…. I love the stanza :

” Duniya mein jeene se zyada uljhan hai Maaa… Tu hai amar ka jahaaan…. tu gussa karti hai bada acha lagta hai… tu kaan pakadti hai badi zor se lagta hai…. mer maaa…. ” 

 

Also I would like to just draw attention of Shail regarding this post of hers  &  this …. Shail I totally agree & understand what you intended to say probably you have written as a Mom as a Woman…

 

For all the sons & daughters in this world…. Remember Mom’s are not just Mom’s they are people tooo… !!!! Respect her but respect her Individual life too….

 

And hey just to show a son’s perspective… A good son’s perspective ( atleast I would like to think I am a good son) I mean…. Just read this post… !!!! (Please)

 

Here is one poem I found on the net… the author is unknown… but i like it..

 

MOTHER…

Mother You filled my days with rainbow lights,
fairytales and sweet dream nights,
A kiss to wipe away my tears,
Gingerbread to ease my fears.
You gave the gift of life to me,
And then in love, you set me free.
I thank you for your tender care,
for deep warm hugs and being there.
I hope that when you think of me,
A part of you, you’ll always see.

~Author Unknown~

 

94 thoughts on “Missing you Ma…

    • Ashwathy says:

      the song is hilarious and sweet at the same time

      Son: kaisa laga meri performance?
      Ma: Arre kahan sunai diya mujhe? yeh toh phir se battery lana bhool gaya!!
      ROFL!!

    • Pixie says:

      Sniff…

      Beautiful post Hitchu… 🙂
      I called my mom and spoke to her for a few minutes after reading this…

      I miss my mom too….

      HW- I cried myself in the morning and couldnt quite control and was bursting… just out of the blue… !!!!! that song does that to me a lot…

      • craftyshines says:

        I cried myself in the morning and couldn’t quite control and was bursting…

        hitchu…. 😦

        soch zara jaanejana tumhe hum kitna chahte hain…rote hain hum bhi agar teri aakhon mein aansoo aate hain….

        i hope july will fly by soon and come aug, u will get to be with your mom to your heart’s content….

        no crying, hitchu….

        *crafty hugs hitchu till aug arrives*
        {{{{{{{{{{{{{hugs}}}}}}}}}}}}}}}}}

  1. Solilo says:

    Hitchy, I have such days too when I feel like leaving everything and just rush off to parents and be with them just like childhood. We obviously miss them always but there are days when you yearn for it a lot.

    Nice song!

    As for Shail’s post, I believe that Mothers are human and shouldn’t be put on a pedestal. Because then expectations crop in and it becomes difficult for even a mother. She might not always show though. Treating mother as human is the best thing one can do for her.

    Shail must publish her work. I am a huge fan.

        • hitchwriter says:

          I did … !!! in the morning… and missed her even more… !! she just came back from Mumbai today… she is very busy arranging for the wedding next month… !!!

          • Solilo says:

            You know…I feel happiest when I hear that my parents are busy. I know it is strange but it is good to always know that they are busy with their own things and plan.

            I am sure your mom is all ecstatic with wedding preparations of your brother. It is the matter of just one more month and you are there. So cheer up buddy!

            • hitchwriter says:

              Yes… yes… only 24 days left now… then I m off to bharuch !!!!!!!!!

              🙂 🙂

              regarding shail’s work… me a fan too… its very deep what she writes… !!! that article touched a few cords… I and my Mom are very very very close… !! She and I share almost everything… and thats why it affected me… !! I m sure people care about their parents.. but its important they dont treat them like kids… and as adults… !!!!

    • Pixie says:

      Oh yes Solilo! I agree with what you say. Mom’s are humans too… and yes, the expectations sometimes border on unrealistic because of this

  2. monikamanchanda says:

    oh that song is just too good… i also get totally senti when i hear this and yes i have those days when i want to give up everything and just go back to the time i used be with mom

    sigh

    hugs hitchy

    sigh… this adult life… !!! wish I never grew up…. !!! absolutely that kind of day when you want to go back to your Ma.. !!

  3. Deeps says:

    Thats a beautiful song,Dhiren. You’ve really got me all welled-up. I miss my Ma everyday…whenever Namnam gives me a hard time or more often when she makes me glee with pride with her achivements,or when she plays with me,or when she makes me cry,when she demands my attention and I’m not able to give that to her, my mind drifts to her thinking how much she must be reminiscing about my growing up years.

    Yes mothers are humans too,the least we can do is to acknowledge them as one.

    I loved Shail’s post too and it was truly aweinspiring 🙂

    • hitchwriter says:

      I gave her a lot of trouble growing up… !! I was by no means an ideal child… !!

      Shails post is something that all sons and daughters must read and understand !!

  4. masood says:

    I miss my mom too…its been so long since I met her….

    a full 9 hr and 35 min back…thats when I said good night to her last night.

    by the time i left for work today, she was still sleeping.

    See, thats the effect of that song – touches a cord even for someone who lives with his parents!

  5. Ordinary Guy says:

    dude, the past few days, i have been missing my mother as well……………………
    OMG……… this post sticks a chord dost, and you will not believe it, i have been listening to a song as weell………… about mothers…………………

    moms are the best!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  6. Mystery says:

    Aww..wait for few more days and you can go meet her after days..
    Mommies are the best and as Solilo said, so are dads. The only difference is that mothers openly show their love where as dads dont..

    That song in Dasvidaniya.. it is touching.. going right away to shails’ posts..I have read that earlier post of yours on ur ma. it was touching dhiren..
    Call ur mom and tlk to her…

    Called her Mystery !!! I do talk to her almost everyday or maybe every other day.. these days we just discuss how we are going to manage the marriage… !!! My bro works in the bank… and so most of the work is done by mom … she enjoys it though !!! lol… just waiting for 4th August to go home… !!!!!!!!!!

  7. Tara says:

    thanks to skype n webcams.. i get to see n talk to them almost daily.. n their expect such a discipline in that routine, if we dont talk for one day, mom starts complaining..

    but u cant really get the same warmth of having them around on the cam 😦

    No cams phones dont work… !!! but they help nevertheless… !!!

  8. anjugandhi says:

    wow, you brought tears in my eyes and made me wish for the day when my son will write something like this for me.
    a big thanx to the author of this post and every one who commented and others who realises the worth and sacrifices made by the mothers

    now mother’s point of view : we love our children and dont expect any thing in return but who doesn’t want praise and appreciation and show of love and affection. 😉
    God bless all of you

    God bless all Mom’s !!

  9. monikamanchanda says:

    u know what i am pleasantly surprised today actually very happy… so many guys here accept their fondness and love for mom and crying for them

    so sweet… cheers to the new age guys!!! u rock 😀

    • hitchwriter says:

      New age guys monu ?????? lol… !! I m taking the compliments…

      But children have always loved their mom’s since the inception of this world !!! just now we have a medium to express…

      BLOG !!

        • hitchwriter says:

          Lol we didnt have the blog earlier !!!! lol…

          psst : have you seen all the Maa songs in movies… !!!!! over the years… just tell me how many females sung those songs and how many males… !!!!!!!

          😉

          • shilpadesh says:

            You are right. My dadi passed away earlier this year, and now whenever my dad talks about her his eyes mist up……he talks about his mamma as fondly as the new age guys do …..

  10. Smitha says:

    Dhiren! That was so beautiful and from the heart! Hugzzzz!!! Your mom has a wonderful son!!!

    ‘For all the sons & daughters in this world…. Remember Mom’s are not just Mom’s they are people tooo… !!!! Respect her but respect her Individual life too….’ This is so true! We forget that our moms are individuals in their own right too.. More moms than dads tend to be taken for granted… maybe because most of us grew up with a non-working mom who was always there..

    My mom was always working !! maybe that helped !! dont know… !!!

    And you are going to meet your mom in a few days time ! Lucky you 🙂 I miss my mom now 😦 And I am not going to see her till next July 😦

    Lovely, lovely post.. brought tears to my eyes..

    Aww… Wish you meet her soon…. !!! I cant wait really… !!

  11. Neha Kapoor says:

    I love that song too!
    and I stay away from Maa from Taare Zameen par. Makes me cry always.

    yes that is another song that is quite touching…. some how i connect a bit too much with this song… more than any other…

  12. sunny says:

    Being with parents is just a gift! when you miss them you need to make sure that you have a family dinner that night and things are sorted.

    I agree being with parents is a gift… its a blessing indeed…

  13. umsreflections says:

    Fantastic post ! U too touched a chord in me – I miss my mom too !!!

    Whenever I feel (just feel only) sick like a light headache – that sort of thing – I miss her so so much.

    yes when I m sick I remember her the most… my wife takes very good care of me… but still I do miss my mom most in those times… I guess our Mom’s are our strengths and in our weaker times we need them…

    Whenever I cook those delicacies which she used to make for us, I miss her. Now, I want to cook for her, but she wants to cook for my dad.

    When pooja holidays come, I am going to go and meet my mom.

    Yes me waiting toooooo !!!!!!! just cant wait for days to fly !!!!

  14. Anamika. says:

    Oh man! You made me cry today. Such a sweet post and that video got me all choked. There’s this other song ‘Maa’ from Taare Zameen Par.

    I swear even the mother ‘Ma’ brings a smile on our face 🙂

    yes that is another song thats very touching… !! and yes the word ma does bring smiles… !!

  15. Manisha says:

    Nice post… hearing the song brought back many memories…

    This song has always been one of my favourites. Being with Ma is such a wonderful experience. I wonder are there any touchy songs like this for Dads too…

    BTW.. have added you into my blogroll. Cheers!!!

    I am sure there must be touchy songs concerning dad’s too… does Papa kehte hai bada naam karega.. qualify ???

    welcome and cheers !!

  16. shilpadesh says:

    Oh you make me cry 😦
    I am missing my mom too. I see her once a year for a few weeks…and that is NOT enough. Everyday I think about how nice it would be if we went back to India for ever….if not the same city, atleast I could visit my mom once every few months…….she is more than a mom to me….a friend, a sister, a mentor, everything…and I miss her everyday :-0

    • hitchwriter says:

      Even thought I do see my mom atleast 3 times when I go home and than in vacations Mom comes over to live with me… but I still want her all the time with me…

      and yes we both were partners in struggle … !!! we are very very close !!

  17. Rakesh says:

    I tend to stay away from Mom songs… Lately however, my mom is more interested in my son than in me 🙂 So I send him to India more often with my wife thinking that though I can’t see her, she can see a part of me atleast…

    • hitchwriter says:

      yes rakesh I too stay away from this song most times… !!!

      And even I tend to send hriday there… even if i cannot go… Hriday loves his dada / dadi a lot and they are so happy to have him ….

      I have also seen that whilst my son may not listen to me or my wife but the moment the dada/dadi say something to him it is done instantly…. !!!! and to see them playing with him is the most satisfying thing in life…

  18. riya says:

    hey.. nice post.. i swear moms do so much for us.. they love us inspite of all our shortcomings.. they care for us in the right way.. one ahould really appreciate very often the things moms do for us the way u have done in ur post..

  19. Indyeah says:

    This post of yours has touched so many hearts Dhiren and I am no different..
    this is so touching and so emotional…

    I still remember your post on aunty 🙂
    that one touched the heart too…

    mothers always but always have a special place on our hearts..:)

    …both parents do..but I think because mothers spend so much time with kids..(when they are babies) that the bond is deeper..
    I am closer to both ma and dad..in different ways..

    you called Aunty as I can see from your replies here..and you are counting the days too:)

    *touchwood* for this love:)

    Shail is right you know.. mothers have this invisible expectation sitting on their shoulders as a burden..even when they dont realize it…..its society and the way we are conditioned to look at a mother as this devi who sacrifices everything..
    moms have to learn to be selfish once in a while I think…or maybe a lot of times…

    and since the air here has become all sentimental here are a few words to lighten it 🙂
    words from a humorous mom:) and my fav one;)

    Being a child at home alone in the summer is a high-risk occupation. If you call your mother at work thirteen times an hour, she can hurt you.– Erma Bombeck

    no I wasn’t an only child but mom did threaten me once 😀

    and here are some more lines from Erma

    A Mother’s Love

    We all know that being a Mom is the hardest, most rewarding job on the face of this Earth.
    “You don’t love me!”

    How many times have your kids laid that one on you?

    And how many times have you, as a parent, resisted the urge to tell them how much?

    Someday, when my children are old enough to understand the logic that motivates a mother, I’ll tell them…

    I loved you enough to bug you about where you were going, with whom and what time you would get home.

    I loved you enough to insist you buy a bike with your own money, which we could afford, and you couldn’t.

    I loved you enough to be silent and let you discover your hand picked friend was a creep.

    I loved you enough to stand over you for two hours while you cleaned your bedroom, a job that would have taken me 15 minutes.

    I loved you enough to say, “Yes, you can go to Disney World on Mother’s Day.”

    I loved you enough to let you see anger, disappointment, disgust, and tears in my eyes.

    I loved you enough not to make excuses for your lack of respect or your bad manners.

    I loved you enough to admit that I was wrong and ask for your forgiveness.

    I loved you enough to ignore “what every other mother” did or said.

    I loved you enough to let you stumble, fall, hurt, and fail.

    I loved you enough to let you assume the responsibility for your own actions, at 6, 10, or 16.

    I loved you enough to figure you would lie about the party being chaperoned, but forgave you for it…after discovering I was right.

    I loved you enough to shove you off my lap, let go of your hand, be mute to your pleas and insensitive to your demands…so that you had to stand alone.

    I loved you enough to accept you for what you are, and not what I wanted you to be.

    But most of all, I loved you enough to say no when you hated me for it. That was the hardest part of all.

    Erma Bombeck
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Erma_Bombeck

    you will LOVE her books Dhiren:)
    she will make you smile, shake your head in disbelief at how accurate she is 🙂 and most of all she will make you laugh:)

    pick up her books..

    and you will think that she has described your mom to a T too:)

    • Saima says:

      brilliant Indy 🙂 Trust you to come up with an awesome reply to an awesome post!!
      Hitchwriter: Lovely post…really

    • craftyshines says:

      awesome Indy!!!!!!! i’m picking this up!!! this is awesome!!!
      am so glad u shared it!!! thankooooo!!! 😀 n hugs!

    • hitchwriter says:

      Well well… I was going to complain and create a big racket taht you have been late… but sigh…

      This is really lovely… so many things that Erma says are so true… i guess in some way or the other it touches quiet a few cords… !!!

      lemme read more…

      and yes there is that sense of humour too…

      when you play cricket in the drawing room and smash the tubelight and wall clock in the single day… !! Mom’s can hurt you… ! lol…

      ((((((hugs))))))

        • Indyeah says:

          Dhiren 🙂 Yes you cant complain:P coz even though I might be late a few times I NEVER miss your posts 😛
          How can I?:)
          when you play cricket in the drawing room and smash the tubelight and wall clock in the single day… !! Mom’s can hurt you… ! lol… <
          LOL!! I am sure you guys deserved a few whacks! 😀

          do read Erma Bombeck's books:)))

          ((hugs))

        • Indyeah says:

          Dhiren see? even though I sometimes might be late at your post I never miss it:)

          and this one is beautiful:)

          (hugs)
          DO read her books..they are really worth it:) easy to read(in terms of time required) and humorous:)

          when you play cricket in the drawing room and smash the tubelight and wall clock in the single day… !! Mom’s can hurt you… ! lol…
          I am sure you guys deserved a few whacks!
          LOL! 😀
          😛

          ((hugs)) for Aunty:)

  20. craftyshines says:

    Ho Khuda Pe Bhi Aasar, Tu Duaon Ka Hai Ghar

    it cudn’t have been said more precisely, what a mother is!
    awesome song! 🙂

    ur mom is just as lucky to have a son like u hitchu, as lucky u r to have had her as ur mom….hugs!

    yes, mom’s are awesome…

    always serving the best part of food in ur dish, giving u the bigger half of whatever is split, making ur special dish when u r ill, pacing up n down when u r a bit late from work, believing her kid is the prettiest in the world…

    i read this when i was in school, and it still makes perfect sense to me:

    God speaks to a baby who is about to be born.
    God: You are a piece of my heart. But its time for me to leave you on earth now. Live happily. And call for me when you need me.
    Baby: But i will be alone and lost without you!
    God: No, i have an angel by ur side, who will guide you on earth, will watch over you, take care of u and will let me know if anything is wrong and if you need help ever. even if u don’t tell me urself.
    Baby: and where will i find this angel?
    God: always by ur side. you will call her “Ma”

    and on the lighter side, a quote i loved the minute i read it, and my mom loves it too!

    Sweater: A garment worn by the child when the mother feels chilly

    and

    Mother is someone who, on seeing 4 pieces of pie for five members, promptly announces that she never really cared for pie…

    hitchu, i hope u get to met ur mom soon!
    {{{{{{{{{{{{{{{{{{hugs}}}}}}}}}}}}}}}}}}}}

    • hitchwriter says:

      Yes crafty she is that angel.. !! she surely is !!!

      and I completely agree with that humourous take… about the sweater… it is so very true… !!! lol… they just care so much…

      1 more day gone… 23 remain !!!!!!!!

  21. Nids says:

    Couple of days back I wrote on my Facebook status that I miss my mom a lot. She was here with me in US when my first baby was born, and now this time, she couldn’t come. I guess an expectatnt woman misses her mom the most 😦 I was missing her so much and your post made me more sad. Dhiren at least you are in Inida, where you can meet your mom whenever you want, for me…I have tears in my eyes right now, because I just want to Hug my mom, lay my head in her lap and forget all my stress and pain. What have you done Dhiren Bhai 😦

    A beautiful post from a beautiful heart for a beautiful mother.

    • hitchwriter says:

      Awww Nids I am sorry…. !!!

      I know re… i stay away from such songs… coz they make me miss my Mom even more… and I m sure all people who miss moms should stay away from such posts… !!!

      But god bless you and your mom !! I m sure you will meet sooner than later…

  22. TheThoughtfulTrain says:

    HW, I had seen this movie recently and this song was the best I heard in a long time. I had to pause the movie coz I was so upset. I will see my mom, dad and sis only next year though I speak to them everyday. Talking helps to a little extent but nothing beats being with them.
    Thanks for bringing up this lovely song in your post.
    May I remind you that I had tagged you? 😉
    Cheers, Thoughtful Train

    • hitchwriter says:

      Talking does help… atleast you know they are fine… !! and what they are upto… but nothing like meeting them and seeing them by yourself…

      and yes the tags are due today !!!! just hang on !!

  23. levelheadedidiot says:

    Amazing song and a beautiful film. And an even better post!
    Two other songs which come to my mind in this context are Maa – TZP and Mother – Pink Floyd..

    Songs celebrating motherhood are always special and touching.

  24. Sandhya says:

    Huh, I am late…I read Shail’s post too! I am becoming a fan of so many people here, Dhiren. Thanks for introducing her.

    I have not heard this song of Kailash Kher. Very nice. The mom in the song is a theatre artist, I know. I first saw her in the serial ‘naquab’, long back. She acted as a nurse taking care of a patient who was paralysed. Her expressions in this song are superb. I can imagine, you three brothers crowding your mom, singing this song. Do you do it?! The lyrics are too goo.

    I like ‘Tare Zameen Par’ song ‘meri ma’ also. Very melodious and very good lyrics in that song too.

    So, you are going to Baruch and see your mom? Nice. Even at my age, sometimes, I feel like chatting with my mom, Dhiren. Moms are always moms!

    • hitchwriter says:

      Shail’s posts are beautiful Sandhya !!

      The mother in the song is Saritha joshi and u are rite she is a renowned theatre artist… !! No we havent done the singing yet… !! I know the lyrics by heart though…

      Yes… Moms are moms no matter what our age… and we need them no matter what

  25. Shail says:

    Hey Hitch, I read your other post and commented too. This song I am hearing for the first time. Waise bhi kaise sunungi?? I am always online or in the kitchen or listening to ghazals! 😛
    Yes, I wrote my post from the point of view of a mother. Just as much as I champion the cause of young people and letting them free to learn from their mistakes rather than smothering them with love and affection, I also champion for treating older people with respect (this respect is not to be equated with the blind obedience shown in Bollywood films or even real life) and dignity in their old age and also treating parents, especially the mother who is the one taken for granted by all and who not only has to bear the burden of expectations but also has to submerge her individuality for the rest of the household. Of course no mother is going to agree to this openly (unlike moi, whose brain comes up with such things since moi is from Neptune) or even to themselves, because they have been conditioned to think this all sacrificing life is their duty. So it is for the rest, the young ones to be aware and act accordingly.
    Was that a lecture??! 😛
    I was told recently by a blog friend that nobody disagrees with me on my posts!! I request you all to come and disagree with me sometimes!! 😉 😛
    Wow, I went through the comments! Oh wow wow wow! My son has company now. But aaargh I am too lazy to write a book!

    • hitchwriter says:

      That wasnt a lecture…

      I understood what you meant in that post… !! I was also quite irritated reading that post… the lady had such a small and innocent wish… i can still understand people trying to care and tell that this is right and wrong… I guess people do it out of love only… but everyone must learn to let everyone decide for themselves…

      Regarding disagreeing on your blog… lol… I guess a lot of people dont comment when they dont agree… so if you see your regular commentors disapper on some post… means they disagree.. !! lol…

      • Shail says:

        Yep, that’s what I told this particular person too! 😉 That when you have so many hits but a few comments, it shows a lot of people don’t agree! 😉

Leave a Reply

