Age is absolutely no bar…

 

In some city in Central Indian plains a 31 year old wakes up lazily from his bed at 7…

yawns… stretches…

and walks to his balcony door opens it…

looks out its a cloudy cool morning…

 he looks through the electric wires that obstruct the view from his balcony….

there is a sparrow chirping…

he notices… doesnt react…

then he scans the balcony and finally finds his newspaper…

He picks up his Hindustan times comes back in the room glancing at the paper, the piece that notices his eye is a NRI has won Nobel Prize and that bloke studied in Baroda University. That is his university… he yawns again… plonks the paper on his dining table and moves to the bathroom…

 

****

 

A few hundred miles west this guys mother a lady of 61 years wakes up at 6 she has finished all her morning chores and at 7 is sitting on the swing on the verandah listening to her age old transistor waiting for the news paper… she and her vivid bharti are inseperable… birds chirping in the background and its humid… 

fling comes the “Gujarat Samachar”

She gets off the swing and collects the news paper and looks in…

suddenly there is a smile on her face… after a few minutes of reading she rushes… and gushes over her phone … to her son…

Ma : “did you see the news paper ??”

Son : “yea … what ?”

Ma : “that guy won a nobel prize…!!!!”

Son : “YAWN… yea… some NRI from our college..”

Ma : “Isnt that great news… !!! some one from our college won the Nobel Prize… he passed in 1971 !!! I passed in 1970 !!! who knows I may have crossed him tooo… !!!!”

Son : “Oh yea… now that you say all this… he is from our college eh… Mom !!!”

Ma : “Oh yea… its something to feel proud of… Ask your bro there… if anyone from his college ever won a Nobel Prize…!!!!”

 

———–

 

The 31 year old suddenly suddenly has been enthused by the enthusiasm the 61 year old showed… ! They both studied in the same college… !!!!

Perked up walks to his brother’s bedroom to ask if anyone from his so called Mumbai college won a Nobel Prize… Its time to show off !!!!

 

Age they say is only a state of mind… !!!! I totally agree…. !!

 

So guys… how many of you have a nobel prize winner from your college ?? huh ?? I have one… !!!!

——

 

for those who didnt know…

Dr Venkatraman ”Venky” Ramakrishnan, 58, who had his early education in the temple town of Chidambaram, Tamil Nadu, and Vadodra, Gujarat, before he made tracks to the United States, joined the long list of peripatetic Indians who had early education in India but thrived in the western academic eco-system, to have won the Nobel. Also with a chemistry Nobel, Indians or those with an India-connect figure in all prize categories.

click on above link to read more… !!

134 thoughts on “Age is absolutely no bar…

  1. Deeps says:

    WOW,Hitchy..Dr Venkatraman from your university…I can imagine how proud you must be feeling!
    And do let aunty also know that I’m cheering with her too! I love her enthusiasm 🙂

  2. Rashmi says:

    I saw this news yesterday but didnt give a serious thought….but ur mother’s enthusiasm has made me also think abt this…

    Indeed its proud for every indian that he got noble prize…

    Congrats he is from ur university !!!

  3. Swaram says:

    Wow! This lazy son and the ever cheerful aunty 🙂 Congrats to her and cheers to her enthusiasm 🙂

    U r even lazy enuf to ping me know u hv posted .. cant even repay in kind 😛

  4. Tara says:

    this was the subject of talking during our morning walk today.. y only u, we all are proud, huh..

    grass was looking greener on the other side as we thought of those who spend years of their life doing research in the subject of their interest as opposed to those who get into the daily rigmarole of home n office n boss n timelines etc..

  5. suranga says:

    Forget IT and blogging communicating in emoticons and all the so called smart stuff. Your mother’s reaction is so typical. I am your mothers age, and believe me, even my mother used to be the same way . They take so much joy from a success in in any community that they associate with in their memory. Actually, this attitude of “mere ku kya farak padta hai” messes up everything. Feeling pride is one thing, but being able to express it so wonderfully is really great……

    • hitchwriter says:

      strangely… yea… thats what went through my mind.. ok he won nobel.. so how does it matter to me.. ??

      sigh…

      she really made me see things where I saw none… !! 🙂

  6. Pal says:

    He he! Beautifully written, Hitchy! Looked like a good story. Have you ever tried a hand at fiction? I believe you will be very good at it!!

    Btw, no NOBEL prize winners from my college! Sigh!

  7. Vimmuuu says:

    and I thought this post was going to be on some BAR !

    anyway, so what are you coming at huh? Your college ‘produced’ noble winners ??? Show off 😀 😀 😀 Well, I should have got a noble prize for peace this year for tolerating people like Silly-lo and Smita !!! 😀 😀 😀

  8. Lively says:

    You must feel proud of this, but then he chose to become an American, which is bit sad. Nonetheless, it is something that made you smile and talk to your mom, so it’s good 🙂

  9. radha says:

    It is amazing how the ‘old’ can infuse life and enthusiasm. The young are too tired to observe and enjoy the small joys in life. Great post. Appreciated by one who knows what it is to be old but young.

  10. sraboneyghose says:

    I thought you were going to say “age is absolutely no bar, only sex bar bar”…

    Sigh – no Nobel winners from my college only cricketers and models/actors…Jadeja (was a batch older) and Gambhir and Arjun Rampal (he was in my class but was caught cheating and expelled)…

    • hitchwriter says:

      @ Sex bar bar… !!!! Geez… !!!! is that the image I have built… lol… !!!! your putting words in my mouth… lol.. ROFL…

      haay…

      GAmbhir !!!!!! aha… thats nice… !!!!!!!

      Rampal… in ur class… !! and expelled… and you didnt offer to take the blame for that heart break guy ?? huh ??

  11. sraboneyghose says:

    I thought you were going to say “age is absolutely no bar, only sex bar bar”…

    Sigh – no Nobel winners from my college only cricketers and models/actors…Jadeja (was a batch older) and Gambhir and Arjun Rampal (he was in my class but was caught cheating and expelled)…
    OH! You’re my new favorite blogger fyi

  12. Smitha says:

    You show off! No nobel prize winners from my college either 😦

    So when are you giving us a party for all this? First for meeting Kumble, then for being the JKG( though you haven’t won it yet) and now this??? Bus bolne se nahi chalega, khilana padta hai!

  13. Saritha says:

    Congrats to aunty and why u studied in her college?

    I think news related to cricket only matters to u no.

    It is a great news that a person from india origin won the nobel prize not a indian.

    • hitchwriter says:

      I didnt get your last line.. !!!

      why I studied in her college ?? coz it was a good one… lol… !!! no reason really.. !!!

      yea I only read the sports page… thats why i blog so less about current topics… !!!!

  14. Just call me 'A' says:

    Oiii this is cheating. You can’t put up a tweet in twitter saying blog update when in fact you updated agea ago 😦 I was hoping to come first 😦 I’m like 20th person here. Ufff when do I get to come first here……..once only once…….I don’t want Nobel prize I want to be 1st here God 😀

    • hitchwriter says:

      I just put it up coz poonam was discussing about the nobel laureate.. !! I dont normally always give a tweet update… !!!

      you will be here and first and soooon !!! dont u worry !!! 😀 😀

      just a few cakes… and ur there… !! 😉

  15. Bindu says:

    Forget about college, I don’t think there is one even from my state 🙂
    Hugs to aunty , we have to learn so much from them. My mother used to be like that, updating us on what is happening back home, always full life and never sitting still for a moment.

  16. Sandhya says:

    I liked this post. Congratulations to your mother, Dhiren! Small small things makes us happy. We look for things which makes us happy.

    My sis-in-law’s son-in-law is a professor in Annamalai University, Chidambaram. Many of our relatives were saying that only Universities like Anna University, IIT are good. He had inferiority complex because of that. Others were pestering him to come to the city to join his daughter in a city school. Now, he has got something to give back!

    Our State has got Sir CV Raman and Venkataramakrishnan, now! Not one but two Nobel Laurates!

  17. Indian Homemaker says:

    There was no one here!

    I also feel my mom has more enthusiasm and energy than I do 🙂 She’s up earlier and stays on her feet all day too.

    She also seems to be more aware of what goes on in the family and community…

    I don’t have a Nobel Prize winner from my college, but do have others… 😆

    • hitchwriter says:

      getting up early is one thing I really envy on the older day people… I simply am amazed how they get up without an alarm.. !!!

      they always are more social… we hardly know our neighbours.. !! sigh…

      you have others meaning ??

      we arent talking of tom dick and harry… !!!

      we are talking of Nobel prize winners… he he he 👿

  18. Crafty Shines says:

    HE IS FROM UR COLLEGE????????

    sigh……

    even tho is was today’s paper, i cut it out, right from the front page…

    it’s on my office soft board…. i was thoroughly thrilled…

    i never read paper n morning… but today, was awake since really long, so i read it!

    and when i read it,

    Crafty = 😀

    congrats to Venky!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    and congrats to aunty, and u, and all in ur college!!

    now, about my college……. Shaan the singer was from my college…. does that add any value…

    and then, crafty also studied there ….

    :mrgreen:

    *crafty simply opens her polka dotted umbrella to avoid chappals*

  19. Parul says:

    Very true !! The energy levels of our elders is far more above our own energy levels. I can’t dare to match my Nani’s skills and energy even today 🙂

  20. Smita says:

    Am sure my college muuust have contributed at least one winner!! and if not ki fark penda hai, India is our country jo jeeta woh Indian, usi se khush ho lenge 😀

  21. Solilo says:

    We were tweeting about the same yesterday. How I wish we could stop this brain drain or better if our constitution allowed dual citizenship. Nevertheless, proud of his achievement.

    Love auntie’s enthusiasm. You know she reminded me of my MIL. My MIL gets up at 4:30 am. She goes for her morning walk and yoga and all that. By the time we get up, she is already done with Deshabhimani (communist paper), Mathrubhumi (another Malayalam paper) and The Hindu.

    • hitchwriter says:

      Sol’s people have to go if they have to go… !!

      seriously I envy people who can get up so early…. !!!!! I dont remember a day when I got up and she were sleeping… so much energy she has…

  22. sakshi says:

    Last!!!…yipeee am last here

    OO…la la la….oh oooooooooo la la la
    Ek blog main rehthi hai ek maina
    Puchthi hai ke bolo kya hai kehna
    Main last aayi hoon hai na??

    Oooo la la…la la…

    So you are now too much of an autograph material….kumble, venky and what not relations!!! Awww loved your mom’s attitude and spunk!!

    Do I have anyone from my college who won the nobel? hmmm…hmmm..last heard because of producing nut cases like me, my college will be soon declared to future students as a Nobel Choice to be avoided at any costs 😛

    • hitchwriter says:

      Lol ! 🙂 🙂

      Last to always I am on my blog !!!!!! 😀 😀 cant let anyone come last can i !??

      trust me people from your college would be a lot more interesting !!!!! hee haw..

Leave a Reply

