The ghost who walks…

  

 

phantom_strip

        

            I have always been fascinated by forests, animals and Africa… one of the main reasons for that would have to be my childhood superhero The Phantom… !!! 

 

    As kids I and my brothers would get up early on Tuesday mornings and await our paper wala… the moment he would come and throw the newspaper tied along with a coloured comic… there would be a mad scramble between the three brothers to lay their hand on the book, being the older by 4 years the strength would be exploited !!! and then reading while they wait their turn… I would even read the Believe it or not section and Henry, Chimpoo or Chalky which were side attractions.. !!! Indrajal comics were a rage…. We all kids used to wait like crazy for them… Mandrake the Magician or Flash Gordon or Bahadur… we would just gobble up all the stories… !!!! 

           

            However The Phantom, the man who never dies, the ghost who walks call him whatever you like was the biggest attraction… thanks to him the early childhood was spent fantasizing about forests, animals and Africa… I have always had this huge drive in me to go to Zaire in the pygmy forests and try and find Phantom… even today one of my most wanted place to visit is Zaire… !!!! Amen to that thought I will one day go to Zaire…  

 

            Phantom and Africa are still somewhere drilled in my brain and always living… be it Phantom’s eden or Phantom’s pet Katreena (a lioness) or his Hero (horse) or the dangerous Devil (wolf) they were truly epic’s for me… !!! All mere mortals would have dogs as pets and here he is having a lioness and a wolf for a pet !!!!!!! Imagine the thrill when your pet wolf growls at any one who is thinking of threatening you… would be fun eh !!!!

 

               Imagine a cave as a house in the deep woods, a waterfall on the entrace through which to pass, pygmies with poison arrows guarding the cave, the whole jungle telling tales about you… !!! An private island of Eden for picnic in pirhanha infested waters which only we can access… with dolphins (solomon and neffereti) to help water ski.. !! the kids would ride lions and tigers… and they would live peacefully on that island with  giraffe’s, chimpanzee’s and the missing link !!!! They would all be fed fish !!!! SIGH !!!!!!

 lignante_thephantom

            As of now I have almost 2-3 copies of each edition of Indrajal comics… my elder cousins passed on their editions to me… but they never got passed to anyone else… I am not parting with Phantom books ever… !! Even today when I go to Bharuch I read old editions again and again and amazingly they still are similarly exciting for me… !!!!! Some times when I even speak in our house we use his phrases…

 

“Hitchy moves faster than a cheetah… Old jungle saying… !!” 

“Hitchy is the boss… Old jungle saying..!!” 

He he he… it is really fun teasing them all… !!!!

 

So guys even you must have had a favourite super hero.. a batman or a superman ?? or a spider man ??

 

Do you remember as  being a kid and doint the crazy acts…

Have you ever tied a towel around your neck on the back and jumped from the bed thinking you were Batman ??

 Have you ever wore a shorts your pants and thought you were being a Superman ??

Have you climbed a grill of a window and then hung upside down and waved hands in weird directions hoping for some webs to eek out of the wrists ????? ala SPIDERMAN ???

  

Come on tell me… sure there must be super heroes and super heroines you must have dreamt of becoming… secretly fantasized of being… come on…  tell tell.. Bolo Bolo ….

  

 —————————–

Guys & Gals we had our superheroes created by others..  Now its your chance to create our own Super hero or Super heroine !!!!We have a contest… so don that creative hat of yours 

As we proudly bring to you : 

THE GREAT SUPER HEROES CHALLENGE…  (click link to read the rules and regulations)

Last day for entering in 15.11.09.

 —————————— 

There is also our JKG contest being conducted at IHM’s and that is also closing so rush your enteries here… LAST 5 DAYS REMAIN… !!!!

125 thoughts on “The ghost who walks…

    • Crafty Shines says:

      OHO NIMMY!!!! YOU ARE FIRST!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

      Crafty wears tiger-printed dress and boots and dances

      chura ke rank meraaaaa…….nimmy hai chali……..
      Crafty ko hai pata…..hitchu ke blog pe hai chali…..

      ooooo paagal hui…dewaani hui….pagal hui….deewani hui…..
      kaisi yeh apni nimmy!!!!!!!

      hooooo!!!!!!!!!

      😆

      ((((((((((((((((((((((((hugs))))))))))))))))))))))

  1. Nimmy says:

    Oh my God!!I can’t belive that i became first of Don Hitchy’s blog…Today is a day to be celebrated..Craftry,Sawarm…Everybody..where are you…Sing a song..dance dance dance… I am so happy..lol… 🙂

    ok,now let me go back to the post 🙂

  2. sakhi says:

    I was never a fan of those super heroes, nor am i today. As a kid i loved reading tinkles (i still do!!) and as an adolescent i loved archies and i still do too! 😀 😀

    I used to read “champak” in gujarati… do you remember, champak?? it was fun!!

  3. Saritha says:

    I was not much into batman etc but i used to see spiderman on tv.

    Me too like shikari shambu and supandi,supandi was heights,i used to get that in our school library and we girls used to fight with the boys for those books.

    One more characted i used to like was betal in vikram,we used to carry one pillow on the shoulders and used to say vikram vikram betal betal vikram aur betal……..

    • hitchwriter says:

      yea vikram vetaal was a lovely one too… I remember we had a serial too with Arun Govil playing Vikram !!! 🙂 🙂

      some of our own mythological characters are soooper !!!!! 😀 😀

      Supandi was like ever green !!! :mrgreen:

    • Indian Homemaker says:

      Vikram and betal and chandamama was banned in her house because my mom saw us running and jumping on our bed in case a ghost from under the bed pulls our legs- we had read about some ghosts in Chandamama 🙂

      • hitchwriter says:

        oh… that ghost under the bed had my youngest bro petrified… !!!!! he would never go to drink water alone… and we would ahve to accompany him… and everytime I and my middle bro would reach there… we would switch off the light and run… and the way he would run for his life screaming… !!!! ROFL !!

  4. Prats says:

    ROFL!!! That was a great post….

    Being very honest with you, I didn’t tried to be a comic character but then there was a time my parents got me a bicycle and at that time there used to be a TV serial on DD called Street Hawk (I don’t know if you remember it, It was about a guy who had a superbike with all funky gadgets and who acted like hero).

    Me and my friends used to drive my bicycle crazy trying to imitate stunts of Street hawk and I don’t even recall how many times I fell down trying to do a wheelie like he did 🙂

    • hitchwriter says:

      Ofcourse I remember Street Hawk !!!!!! thats when BSA came out with a bicycle called Street Cat… !!!!

      I so wanted to buy that but my Mom wouldnt let me buy anything but a BSA SLR… !! and the cycle wala also would advise against the Street Cat… sigh… !!!!!!

      those were the days… !!

  5. Indian Homemaker says:

    Hitchie I loved Phantom comics too, I also liked Diana Palmer’s hairstyle 🙂 (I hope I remember her name correctly)… I wanted to be Robinhood for a short while and we stood on a plant of wood kept on two chairs and sword fought with our scales 🙂 Dupattas were used as flying capes and pagdis.

    I am feeling very bad, I waited for you comment on Sraboney’s post but finally realised it’s okay, it doesn’t matter whether we come first or 11th.

    • hitchwriter says:

      Diana Palmer is right in her lovely blue hair and pearls !!!!!

      Robin hood aha… !!! he was a lovely character tooo !!!!

      bout bones post… I was first there… but I didnt comment I was at that point trying to stay off commenting.. but I could only manage till about 3 in the noon…. sigh… 😦

  6. sraboneyghose says:

    Wow!!! The header is cool and so appropriate…Where do you get them from? Which site?

    I liked Superman and Tarzan – there was something romantic about the latter…Does Tintin count as a superhero? I have all the comics…I also love ‘Calvin and Hobbes’ – Calvin is my fav. superhero now…

    • hitchwriter says:

      Calvin is the best as far as dry humour is concerned… !!!!!!

      Tin tin doesnt count as a super hero I guess… !!!!!

      Tarzan was another fantastic one… !!!!!!

      Superman I kinda never liked…. he was my brother… I was always batman… and my third bro was spiderman !!!!!!!!! lol 😛 😛

  7. Smitha says:

    I loved all the super heroes, Hitchy!

    I used to love reading Phantom too!
    But I think Siperman was my favourite to watch – remember that Sunday evening or was it Saturday evening just before the movie – Spiderman, Spiderman, your friendly neighbourhood Spiderman 🙂

    It used to be so much fun!!! How I wished that I could squirt webs from my hands! I used to be satisfied with scaling fences and jumping over them, in my own super hero fashion 🙂 Now, Poohi , sometimes becomes a ‘SuperHero ‘ 🙂 She takes a bedsheet hangs it from her shoulders and goes running around saying, I’m a super hero 🙂

      • hitchwriter says:

        Its perfect !!!!!

        I have this video downloaded for Hriday !!!!!! he loves spider man !!!!! I think the old spiderman was anyday better than today’s new version !!!!!!!

        i think it was saturday evening at 5 pm !!!!!!

  8. Pins N Ashes says:

    How can I ever forget Street hawk (heard the series is coming again)… superfast bicycle like street hawk…straight into a wall, bouncing back on the gravel road, mangled bike, bruised limbs and no rides till the next one came in a month later heee…r
    I was always fascinated by Guran…how he slept with an eye open to keep watch….

    • hitchwriter says:

      Guran is one assistant I can really do with… ! 😀 😀

      Street hawk was a rage among all the boys for sure… !!!! we would even stand in the buckets with detergent to train for riding bicycles !!!!!! Remember ??

  9. vishesh unni raghunathan says:

    Well no prize for guessing I have gone about pretending to be a super hero… 🙂 At present I am a fan of Naruto(not really a super hero but still 😀 ) ..

    And thanks for the update, lol 😛 and yes you can write an entry as well, creating your character…

  10. sakshi says:

    I love all comics and now that saman is interested in books we are having a rocking time reading out to him daily. hey Hitchy I have loads and loads of all comics and books from my childhood still kept safely stashed away from stealing hands 😡

    Hey I loved Sabu in Chacha Chowdhry 🙄 My grandad used to post me malayalam comics so that I could learn to read and write in my mother tongue. i used to wait patiently for them to arrive and wow would run off to my room and read it cover to cover in one sitting…sigh!!! those were the days when you don’t let the computer read out books to you 😆 :mrgreen:

    What’s with so many challenges going on? I can’t keep up with one challenge of commenting and you are throwing more at me? 😡

    • hitchwriter says:

      Sabu in Chacha Chaowdhary… !!!! yea he was good… from some planet right… !!!!

      Though I preferred Lothar, friend of Mandrake the magician !!!!! 😀 😀 😀

      comics of mine are still kept in bharuch and everytime we visit we exchange a few for Hriday to read… !!! these days he is faling in love with Phantom … !!!! 😀 😀

      the challenges are well spread out… !! finish the JKG contest and then you must make some character for super heores… !! you are talented… cinematography right… ??

      will await your entry !!! :mrgreen:

    • Crafty Shines says:

      sakshi…u have passed the test with flying colours!!!! colours…..flying all over…

      Rang barse….rang barse smiley wali sakshi …rang barse…..

      *crafty is busy laughing on lame punny joke while sakshi is hitting back the chappals flying with tennis racquet*

      😎 🙄 😯 ❓ :mrgreen: 👿 😈 ❗

      sigh sakshi.. there’s no smiley for hugs!

      here goes! ((((((((((((((((((((((((crafty’s special hugs)))))))))))))))))))

  11. Sandhya says:

    Spiderman, Spiderman….is a beautiful song! Bachchon ko chodo….even now, I dream of someone chasing me and I run/fly like a spiderman…floating in the air!

    From my childhood to my children’s childhood, ‘Chandamaama’ was the favourite. No one seems to remember ‘Target’, monthly magazine. It was very good. Puraani yaadein….Thank you, Dhiren!

    • hitchwriter says:

      I remember Target… !!!! and there was one detective…. with a moustache… I forgot his name… in Target… !! that was a lovely magazine…

      aah…

      Sandhya lovely fantasy eh… flying around like Spiderman… !!!!!! 🙂 🙂 🙂

  12. Crafty Shines says:

    hitchu!!!

    (((((((((((((((((((hugs)))))))))))))))))

    this is just SOOOOPER!!!!!!

    i will come back! sigh!

    but for now…….

    crafty is going back to drown in work……….famous jungle saying…..

    but she cannot stay away from hitchu’s blog…..famous jungle saying…

    By the powers of the universe……. I WILL BE BACK!!!!!!

  13. Pixie says:

    Phantom!! yayie!

    I LOVED the comics… still do! 🙂
    Another fave was Mandrake the Magician!! 🙂 🙂

    Didn’t like Tarzan…

    Always thought Batman and Robin were an item!!! 😉
    More than Spiderman, I like Superman…

    Asterix and Obelix – another favorite…

    then…
    what else?

    Tinkle, Amar Chitra Katha… Chandamama… all of them were favorites!

    Archie comics as well! I still read them 🙂 🙂
    Collect them as well!! 🙂 🙂

    • hitchwriter says:

      Mandrake se bhi zyada I loved LOTHAR !!!! lol…

      you didnt like Tarzan ?? you didnt like sitting in the grass either… sigh… 🙄

      they surely were an item lol… !!!! 😛 😛

      ever tried the superman costume ?? eh ??

      Asterix was another favourite of mine too… !!!! 😀 😀 😀

      Archies… cant you see my gravatar… !!!!!!! eternal favourites… !!!!!!

      • Pixie says:

        ayyo!! I Like sitting on grass!! but, not chinnaswamy stadium grass!! 😀 😀

        Yea.. me liked Lothar a lot!!

        And no! I didn’t try on the superman costume!! sheesh! I’m not a boy!! 😛

  14. zinggy_mum says:

    as uncle Pai suggested u tried n tried
    and succeeded! (now that u r a very gud writer).used to read phantom and i loved lothar ever alert.
    loved shikari shambhu and…supandi and his goofups. used to love to read tinkle..stories of kings, queens, prince, princess and then
    there was this old sage with his students..many many…archies and jughead all time favourite and how can one forget the tall dark handsome hero of Mills & Boons…every girl’s dream ….(whatever the story the hero was every girls prince charming on a white horse)

    • hitchwriter says:

      He he he he… !

      zinggy we were talking about Super heroes but you came down to your dream hero !!!!! 😀 😀 😀 😀 some one has been thinking about the dark handsome hero on the horse eh…. !!!!!!! 🙂

      I am dark and handsome… will 5ft 7inches count as tall ???? :mrgreen:

  15. Mahmud says:

    Nostalgic post Hichy 😀
    I love this one….

    The hero I had dream to be is SUPERMAN 😀 It was my fantasy that I would fly with my heroine in the sky… above the clouds….. *** dreamy dreamy****
    But shock! dreams never comes true… no flying, no power, no heroine…. no romanticism……

    Thanks for such nice post 🙂

  16. Solilo says:

    Gosh! I can’t stand these superheroes who wore undies over their pants. They turned underwear to overwear.

    I loved my Champak, Chandamana, Tinkle. 😀

  17. Deeps says:

    Indrajal comics were a rage,Hitchy!I loved Phantom and his cave stories.He oozed charisma,particularly whe he rid his horse!They really transported you to a different era,right. My parents,brother & I used to have a literal tug-of war to lay our hands on the comics.We used to subscribe them in bulk.

    I remember my father,brother and I used to do the tom-tom messaging at home when we had to call out to my mom who would be in the kitchen doing her chores 😀 ! What fun days they were,Hitchy!!

    Thanks so much for bring back the memories 🙂

    • hitchwriter says:

      Aaaaah Deeeps !!! another Phantom friend !!!! I should have thought so about you !!!!!! I m sure Sakshi would be tooooooo !!!!

      Phantom’s Devil… or Hero.. Katreena … !!!! all were my favourites…

      this Eden garden or the duels with Hzzzz…

      the whispering groves or the keela wee beach with gold dust !!!!!!

      truly epic stuff !!!!! 😀 😀 😀

  18. Nancy says:

    I used to devour them all…Phantom, Mandrake, Bahadur…the only one I didnt like was Flash gordon. Out of all of them I loved Mandrake & his Xanadu.

    Amar Chitra Katha, Chandama & Champak also were favourites……Hitchwriter u brot back so many memories:-D

  19. Solilo says:

    Hitchy, wasn’t there Nagraj? They used to give magnetic Nagraj with the comics. Also lotpot, chacha-bhatija, lambu-motu.

    Sunday edition of Indian Express had Mandrake.

    • hitchwriter says:

      Yes Nagraj and Super Commando Dhruv !! 😀 😀

      Diamond comics I think… I used to read that a lot.. too !!! Telling mom i m weak in hindi so it will help me learn Hindi better !!!!!! 😛 😛 😛

      Mandrake & Lothar I have read almost all of their Indrajal comic stories their house in Xanadu lovley !! his main enemy Cobra !!!

      Mandrake gestures magically … and hypnotises people !! it was lovely.. !!! 😀

  20. Vimmuuu says:

    Hitchyyyy….whaaaat are u saying???…i use a phrase from Phantom even now !!!! when ever im quick and sudden, I say ” Vimal, Faster than lightning, ..old jungle saying” !!!! 😀 😀 😀 😀 😀 😀 Im so happy that there is someone loony like me !!!! just like me !!! 😀 😀 😀 😀

    btw, its always Spiderman for me !!! Spidey is the best !!! 😀

  21. Lively says:

    You sound like a kid, like me when I’m thinking/talking about Harry Potter. But my childhood superhero was Spiderman. I loved the comic and cartoon, but the movie spoiled it all X(
    But now, I’m in love with Harry Potter series and of course the Twilight series and has made me fantasize more than ever. I love fantasy stories 🙂
    Thanks for doing this post and reminding me of all that could have been, had fantasies been real.

  22. shail says:

    Btw though I am a Phantom fan, the sentence I use is from Chacha Chowdhary comics,”Shail’s brain (the non-existent one) works faster than the fastest of computers” ( or even lightning whichever is fatser!) 😛 😉

  23. Homecooked says:

    Somehow I never liked superhero comics while growing up 😦 Its a different matter that now I dont miss any superhero movies! But I do know the anticipation…I used to wait for Champak every fortnight 🙂

  24. Cilla says:

    Aww that reminds me of so many afternoons of summer vacations spent reading Phantom and Mandrake. I used to think that Phantom was real sexy (though I dont think I knew the word then, but my heart did do a flip flop even then)…I used to want to live in a tree house like that and be mysterious like him…it was a different world 🙂

  25. Dreamer says:

    The Good old days! I wanted to be Phantom too. I remember we used to have loooong debates my bro and cousins were aghast and used to tell me “You can’t be Phantom, you’re a girl. You can be Diana if you want!” And I was like “Yaawwnn..who wants to just wait around to be rescued?” I heard that in one of the many later versions of Phantom he had a daughter who took on his role when he is believed to be dead. I wonder which one that is. That would show those boys. Ha!
    Mandrake was another favourite. Honestly what I liked best in Mandrake comics was his home – Xanadu. Xanadu was like the ultimate dream home in those days. Now I realize , it would entail way too much maintenance 🙂

  26. Bartula says:

    omg! no wonder u said u wanted to come to congo!!
    Oh Ghost who blogs!

    i am die hard fan of phantom too!
    i did all those things u mentioned over there,i used to make capes out of lungis!
    i made my own phantom,batman and robin maskswith cardboard ,paint n elastic string.i think i still have those stuff in my house.

    And i did make a phantom costume once(even a peter pan costume) which i wore with a plastic ring which i got frm some candy box!

    I first started reading the comic strip along with ‘mandrake the magician’ which came in some old newspaper.Then through a kids magazine.Then finally on TV on “Defenders of the earth”!
    But i didnt like tht too much!

    Then there was one futuristic version of Phantom!Tht was ultra cool!
    with modern gadgets n stuff.His costume could make him invisble also!
    Man i miss those old cartoons!
    Thn came the movie,which was also good,not tht great though!

    Anyway i heard they r making a new Phantom movie starring sam worthington of terminator salvation fame! aint tht awesome dude??

Leave a Reply

