temporary memory loss

Almost all the times I am humming some tune or some song… many times I hum a song and it strikes I dont have that song… and I mentally make a note that I want to download that song.. !!

however whenever I reach a cd store or a download site I just cant remember which was the song I wanted… sigh..

just now I m trying to download a song that I was humming yesterday evening but now I cant remember… pah..

does it happen to you ?? or m i growing so old ?? 😦

the other most funny thing is when discussing with friends or wife suddenly we come to a juncture where we can visualise a song but cant get the lyrics.. like this one instance with my friend…

he : hey do you remember that song,
me : which ?
he : that song its very nice..
me : which ?
he : arre… it was on the tip of my tongue…
me : whos in the movie…
he : vinod khanna…
me : heroine ??
he : arre.. I dont know her name… but not very famous.. she has hazel eyes.. ! 😐
me : who else…
he : arre yaar… its a sad song.. it was … shit I cant recall… !!!
me : 😑 who else is in the movie.. ??
he : cant remember… !!!

then 2 hours later that guy calls me up and tells me.. “there is asrani in the movie and shatrughan sinha tooo !!!!”

excitedly I ask, “is meena kumari also there in the movie ???”

he : yes yes… old lady…

Abe Saale…. pehla bolna tha na… Sun !!!

Koi hota jisko apna, hum apna keh lete yaaro… paas nahi to door hi hota… lekin koi mera apna !!!!!! from Mere Apne movie !!!!!

if this situation happens in front of me… Geez… I cant sleep or do anything till I remember that song !!!!!!! And this friend of mine is also like that… its like we lose sleep till we dont guess that song…

does it happen to you too ?????

74 thoughts on “temporary memory loss

  1. Smita says:

    Oh yes it happens a lot & I don’t rest in peace until i remember the song. I would call my friends’s my mom and anyone who i think would remember the song. But when nothing works i just google it & usually find the song πŸ˜€ but seriously it is so damn irritating.

  2. umsreflections says:

    Dont Worry, Hitch !!! You have company !!!! πŸ™‚

    I open the fridge and stand there, looking thru all the shelves. After the cold air hits me, comes the realisation that I dont remember for what I opened the fridge. Does that make you feel better ??????

    I forget the songs tooo, while playing antakshari….then later all the songs hit me like a storm !!!!!

    I will not connect it to old age…you know…I am quite young…hehehhehe….. πŸ˜†

  3. Swaram says:

    Ahhh now I am happy I hv company πŸ˜‰ I just cant rest in peace til I remember it!
    And nw that I am saying it, u know its not got to do with old age na πŸ˜›

  4. sraboneyghose says:

    You are getting old, that’s all…

    Memory loss and I are best friends…I usually can’t remember names…I’m good with faces but names, that’s a totally different thing…I talk to some people regularly in the play area and I know I’ve asked them their names umpteen times but for some reason, I just can’t remember them…

  5. Nita says:

    I never remember a tune but I often remember the words. I think it depends on one’s music sense. For eg, my husband never ever forgets a tune and can hum it back anytime! I simply can’t to that, but together we can sing a duet! What with my words and his tune! πŸ™‚

  6. masood says:

    Yes it does happen. And not only in case of songs..but sometimes I forget something that is right at the tip of my tongue and I was about to say it and then it slips out of the mind…

    Gosh, and that time I can kill to recall what I just forgot.

  7. Rakesh says:

    Believe it or not, I’ve got a file in my communicator where I list all the songs that I want to download whenever I think of something…

    And whenever I sit on the computer – Wham !

    And… I even have a file for movies to see – I list all the new releases hindi and english and then when I go to the video library, I ask for the movies πŸ™‚

    I have a file for a lot of other things as well πŸ˜›

  8. Pallavi says:

    Same story here, old man! These days, I jot down the names of the songs on my desktop so I can actually remember what to download!! Though, most of the time, the song thats hummin in my mind is ‘Bob the builder, can we fix it? Bob the builder, yes we can….’

  9. sakshi says:

    Rukh rukh rukh are baba rukh
    Oh my hitchy saturday tho rukh…

    dil mera dadke comment karne ke liye..
    Gussa kar raha hai gharwala….uff….ufff…ufff :mrgreen:

    will comment on monday 😦

        • hitchwriter says:

          Spoken like a true blog addict !!!!

          Touchwood to your zest Sakshi !!! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

          Aur yeh sun…

          Jo Vaada kiya woh … nibhana padega…

          comment Monday ko karna padega…

          Waise bhi weekend min Shaadi mein busy hoon…

          Monday ko 5 kilo vazan badhake mein comment pandhooga… !!!!!!!!! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

          • sakshi says:

            *sakshi dangling from a rope la Shammi Tarzan Kapoor style on top of Hitchy’s blog*

            Tumne pukara aur hum chale aaye
            Comment saath le aaye re..

            You forget songs? The only thing I can remember are songs and tend to forget rest of worldly matters (according to hubby) like to close the petrol tank after refuelling, switching off the headlights 😦

            No probs partner…chaltha hai…you are such a busy man with 100 topics running *read food, sachin and blogging* in your head. :mrgreen:

  10. Sandhya says:

    This happens to me everyday! I start humming and ask the others for the lyrics! Then will say, ‘the name of the movie starts with S’! I will keep on thinking about it the whole day. Then suddenly I will rememberthe name at 10 pm…call the person and just tell the name of the movie and disconnect! People surrounding me also have started doing this, now!

    So you have many many companies!

    e.g. yesterday I was talking about a song where Rekha sings with others, which says ‘ the fish will fly, chocolatees will grow in a tree…’. I remembered the name of the movie too ‘Khubsoorat’. Song?

    • hitchwriter says:

      its fun too na… to recall it… and best part is to get others engaged in it… and watchin them fret about trying to guess what we forgot !!!!! sooper !!! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ `

  11. deepthi says:

    oh yeah!! it happens with me as well…sometimes i hum the song and forget the lyrics and sometimes forget the name of the movie…and i feel completely restless until i get the movie name or lyrics

  12. vimmuuu says:

    I forgot what to write for this post !! Its stuck between my finger and the keys in my lappie. πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

    Hitchy, it does happens to everyone !!! and we also lose our sleep thinking about it. However, you ARE getting older, theres no change to that πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

  13. Aathira says:

    Weird… but I am not at all a song person, and in most cases I do not even know which song is from which movie.

    I like the song… then I listen to it… but I never bother to find out which movie or who is it pictured upon.

    • hitchwriter says:

      Lucky you I say… !!

      I m totally obsessed !!! I m infact obsessed about my bollywood knowledge and if I dont know something some how I feel as if I disgraced my fan hood !! lol πŸ˜›

  14. Pixie says:

    sigh… yes!
    It happens all the time! more so with me since most of the time, I can’t remember the lyrics!!
    I will be humming the tune and not remember the lyrics!!! πŸ˜†

  15. Parul says:

    ha ha , so who was asking about my age then πŸ™‚
    It so happens with me too,when I’ll have the song and its tune on my tip but just not the words. And then won’t be able to sleep until I remember the song !!

  16. Ashwathy says:

    happens to everyone… πŸ˜€ “even us youngies” πŸ˜›
    dontcha worry!!

    in fact altho my memory is otherwise very good i take help of my calender mobile tasks…. note down everything that needs to be done… including songs i need to download or chk on my net! πŸ™„ that way i dont lose out on anything!

  17. Gauri says:

    happens quite often and then u feel so irritated.. it lurks in your mind and suddenly, u ‘ll remember the name of the song (or film, book, etc) out of the blue some hours, even days later

  18. homecooked says:

    All.the.time! And yeah its pretty tiresome when you can visualise the song but cant pinpoint it! Sometimes a tune gets stuck in my head and I cant remember the words nor the actors. Thank God for youtube….i go and listen to some other song till the other song goes out of my head πŸ™‚

  19. Deeps says:

    Yes yes yes it happens to me too! its so frustrating isnt it? the song is right there on the tip of your tongue but just doesnt come out of you!

    Welcome to the Oldies club,Hitchu :mrgreen:

  20. Purvi says:

    Lolz…definetly does happen to me πŸ˜›
    At times …I can’t remember anything but just a random line or tune…and then I can’t be at peace until I remember the song ;D

  21. Amrita says:

    Yes…..But, if it was not for this “affliction” called temporary memory loss….how would I get my EUREKA!! moments…???….lol….As in, the moment the song FINALLY comes back to me..
    πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

    At that moment, I feel a sense of the elation, satisfaction and acheivement …lol….which, I guess, should be comparable to what Archemides must have felt at his own “Eureka moment”!.. πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

