my first scooter !!!

Just read this wonderful post about the old scooter by Sandhya and that just rekindled so many memories that I had .. well not forgotten but almost put in some corner of my mind.

It was the summer of 1999 and we finished college in May and I managed to sneak away and pass B.com in pass class, well its pass class in more decent language… in simpler terms its third class coz my percentage were below 50% !! :mrgreen: After B.com life was sort of fun… no studies… no job for a while.. and those days were truly bliss !!!! You can read more about them here

After spending about 2 months after the results just bhatkofying and trying to get admission in MBA somewhere, where they would admit a guy with less than 50% on Merit and without Donation, two elder cousins of mine got hold of me and told me, that Mom needs a helping hand and its hightime I start sharing her responsibilities and forget about MBA or anything… that I can do it in correspondence but get a job right away and start earning.

I had passed my B.com with Marketing Management as my special subject and that was simply a mask as in S.Y. & T.Y we didnt have to do A/c’s if we took Marketing Management ! Numbers somehow gave me horrors so in second and third year of college I had only theory subjects !!!!! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€Β  In my three years of college I attended 7 lectures !!!! yes 7 but most remarkably I never failed in my entire school life or college life nor did I ever get an ATKT. (ATKT = Allowed To Keep Term)

Eventually as I shakily thought of finding a job I realised I had no special skills and apart from communicating I didnt know anything else !!! πŸ˜› πŸ˜› πŸ˜› Β So much for a graduate degree ! During College we used to do marketing for Computer classes and so that was something I had done… a friend told me to get into it… earlier in Baroda I had my cousin’s bike to do the job but here in Bharuch I had no scooter and cycle would have killed my ego in front of the girls.. !! :mrgreen:

The most important tool for marketing was a two wheeler !!! No way could I ask Mom who was already stretching all nooks of hers in paying fees for me all my life and two younger bro’s too.. !!!

However we went to an interview my friend Vineet set up in Aptech. The boss assured a salary of Rs. 1400 and Rs. 600 as petrol allowance for the first month and promised that he would increase after watching for a month !!!! Even our peon who used to serve us tea in that office then had a salary of Rs. 1500/- but still I took the job… !!! the next job was to look for a scooter… !!!

Help came from a friend Tejas, he had his Narmada 150 scooterΒ that we used to use in school. It had been parked in his house for 3 years as he was using a Vespa NV that was quite a draw for us young collegians. Tejas said I could have the scooter for Rs. 2500/-

The Narmada 150 scooter was made by GNFC that was a failed project and the new scooters had already stopped being produced from the factory, when I went to get the scooter it was punctured in both wheels and the chasis of the scooter was totally gone… what I and Tejas had thought was I would take it to a garage and get it repaired… however when we saw the punctured tyre’s we tried to open the nuts of the tyre.. but they were so rusted that they broke while we tried to open them… eventually we hired a tempo for Rs. 100 and put the scooter in the tempo and went off to the garage.

Tejas’ Mom was kind enough to lend the scooter free… I was to pay him from my salary once it started… !!! πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

The repair bill was Rs. 1700/- which I borrowed from Mom !! and so started my career on the Narmada 150 bought in Rs.2500/-

After the end of the first month my boss was kind enough to keep his promise and raised my salary straight to Rs. 3300/- with Rs. 700/- as petrol allowance…Β plus INCENTIVES !!!!! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ The party of it was given in Bharuch’s ShalimarΒ Theatre in Balcony Delux seats with tickets costing about Rs. 15/- per head !!! ( those days seem so so far now… !! ) The first months salary came with an incentive of Rs. 2000/- as well !!!!! I got rid of all the dues in one month and I wasΒ well andΒ truly on my wayΒ to independence !!! Β 

After the repairs were done it was fine butΒ the scooterΒ would not stop giving me sporadic troubles many times thanks to some or the other dirt element in the carburator (hope the spelling is right) by the end of the year I was an expert in scooter repair… !!!! I could myself open most parts and repair it !!!! πŸ˜› πŸ˜› πŸ˜›

Many a times it would run out of petrol and you would have to call from a P.C.O then !!! to a friend and tell him to come with a bottle of petrol !! Punctures were the worst as towing the scooter was really really hard… !!!

It was this scooter that I and Hetal would use to get away from our town, where everyone knew us, to loooong drives… just to be close to each other… !! Those days I was quite religious tooo and we would go to all sorts of mandir’s and what not !!!! Thanks to Narmada river we had plenty of spots to drive too… !!! Most of them would be picked on the basis of how lonely the road was !!!!!!!!! πŸ˜‰

I used that scooter for over three years for my job… everytime I would have to go out with friends they would always tell me to leave it…Β it wasnt the flashiest thing to be used… !! Β 

Over the three year period I eventually found my job in USV where in my salary crossed the 5 figure mark and I bought a Hero Honda after taking a loan on basis of our Gas Connection from Gujarat Gas !!!! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

For about 5 years or so after I bought my first bike the scooter stood in our compound, I was intent on not selling it… but lying in the compound and bearing the rains it started rusting a lot and eventually one day I sold it .. !! It was in such a bad shape that it was sold in scrap on weight !!! I got Rs 750 from that weight of the scrap !!!!

——————————

Now that finally I have put up aΒ post I would also like to draw your attention to this :

The Avant Garde Bloggies Awards 2009 are here… !!

So if there are bloggers you feel deserve special mention or their posts deserve awards… go ahead and click the linkΒ below and readΒ all the rules & regulations :

Avant Garde Bloggies Awards 2009Β 

The badges are designed by none other than Design Master Chirag, have a look at the badges : here :

Hurry last date for sending Nominations is 20th December !!!!!

76 thoughts on “my first scooter !!!

  1. Rakesh says:

    looks like almost you’d put your brain on record at that time and replay today… πŸ™‚

    My first two wheeler was a Hero Puch ! I and my brother were great fans of Aamir Khan πŸ™‚

    • hitchwriter says:

      Were ????? not any more ????

      I used to love driving that Hero Puch and Turbo too… !!! my friend did have it… and thanks to an accident on a Hero Puch… I became a spinner from a tearaway !!!!!! 😦

  2. Randy Pena says:

    Hello.

    I would like to put a link to your site on my blog roll if you want to do the same for mine. It would be a good way to build up both of our readerships.

    thank you.

  3. umsreflections says:

    Oh !!! I am reminded of the old Lambretta scooter which my Dad owned when I was young…. πŸ™‚ πŸ˜† It used to give a lot of probs, but still my Dad will never leave it for anything better…it was his first scooter…. πŸ˜†

    Even though it was not a great fashionable and trendy one, that scooter was your own and your first too …. πŸ™‚

    Such lovely loooong drives with Hetal along the Narmada….you need to treasure those wonderful moments….

  4. Sandhya says:

    You relived those days, Dhiren, it is visible here! And Hetal too will do, if she reads this! Yes, small small things made us happy in those days. I went for a small job for just a month after my school, during holidays and the pay was Rs.200/-! I was so sincere in my job too! That was MY first salary!

    You remember minute things of the past. ‘I bought a Hero Honda after taking a loan on basis of our Gas Connection from Gujarat Gas !!!! ‘ I am hearing this for the first time – buying a two wheeler on the basis of gas connection!’

    Interresting post! Sandhya’s post also was interesting…let me continue the chain, now!

  5. whia says:

    i envy youuuu… i want scooter too!!! but first i have to find a job,hopefully a nice-paying one…then argue with mom to let me buy one (she doesn’t like anything with two wheels).

  6. sraboneyghose says:

    I love nostalgic posts…

    I always wanted to buy a Kinetic Honda but my father wouldn’t let me…He used to say,”A two wheeler is a sure way to heaven”…Anyway, I learnt to ride a bike (he still doesn’t know) thanks to a colleague of mine…During lunch hour, we used to go to Worli Seaface to practice…It was great fun…

  7. Smitha says:

    Nostalgic! There is something about nostalgia! You know the first salaries we drew were such tiny ones πŸ™‚ but they were more appreciated than six figure ones these days.. I mean, when I look back , all I can remember is the excitement of earning ones own money! There was something magical about it.. By the way, in 1999 – I started working too – and my first assignemt was in Ahmedabad πŸ™‚

    I never had a first 2 wheeler – unless you count my cycle πŸ˜‰

  8. Desi Ninja says:

    my first accident was on kinetic. πŸ˜› i had scratched my leg and shoulder on that rusty mud-road. and then i took my kinetic to garage first then went for wound dressing πŸ˜‰

    there is always heaps of memories with ur first scooter πŸ™‚

  9. sakshi says:

    Sniff Sniff…you are making me cry and long for my rascal of brothers πŸ˜₯ If it were not for them I would have never known the amazing feeling of the wind swooshing by when you ride a two wheeler. Every afternoon when my uncles used to take a nap after lunch we would steal the keys and ride around. As it was a strict NO for a girl to ride the bike my brothers would even take up the blame after I crashed the bikes a couple of times :mrgreen: We had an assortment of scooters and bikes and I even used to drive an Enfield Bullet 😯 Sigh….I want my brothers right now…sobs!!!

    Btw I had kept a condition before joining the College of the choice of my family and it was that they should buy me a two wheeler πŸ˜› Thus I got my very own Kinetic Honda πŸ™‚ My bothers say it’s still there back home and they would never sell it…sobs!! ayyo hitchy a scooter post from you has broken the dam in my eyes πŸ˜₯ 😦

      • hitchwriter says:

        A friend of mine still has an Enfield Bullet and he has designed it beautifully and still uses it.. !! its sooper !! riding is something else I must confess !!!!

        In college I had a hero honda thanks to my cousin !!!! and lots of memories with Hetal on that !!!!! and afew other girls toooo… now… I hope this doesnt break the dam of hetal’s kicks !!!!!!! πŸ˜› πŸ˜› πŸ˜› πŸ˜›

  10. Chatterbox says:

    Wow! your nostalgic post brought to me tons of memories of my childhood days. Though my first job started not many years back. (two to be precise).

    I enjoyed the detailed description of how you had tried every avenue to keep the rusting scooter ‘alive & running’.

    I can understand how wonderful getting the first salary would have felt. No matter how many increments we get over time, nothing can even parallel the joy we used to feel even with the less money we got in our start up days.

    Wonderful read Hitchy πŸ˜€

    Loved the lines where you narrated the fond memories of your courtship and scooter rides with your wife.

    Cheers!!

    • hitchwriter says:

      That wasnt my first salary !! My first salary was in the vacation of F.Y !! it was 1600/- lol… but this was first serious job !! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

      Those days werent about money actually… but getting into work mode… a new phase of life… !! now after 10 years it seems a lil dour !!! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

      courtship times were… ummmm :mrgreen: πŸ˜› πŸ˜›

  11. Aarti says:

    Woww… that was quite a trip down memory lane… and what a coincidence… Yesterday, while driving back from blore with a friend, he was reminiscing about his days when he bot a Bullet and how his dad blew his top just at the mention of a bike [ which is why he dint bother telling his dad he’s already bot one.. and swore me to secrecy as well :)]

    • hitchwriter says:

      The bullet is something that is a special two wheeler… I still hope to drive one bullet to ladakh one day !! we tried once and were close but couldnt manage it… its aanother thing for the bucket list !!!!! πŸ˜› πŸ˜›

      • vimmuuu says:

        Of course I knew that isnt your real scooter !! I was just playing a prank again. But that did make you atleast go back over there and do a ‘done!’ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ When Im count vimmula, im even meaner you see Buahahhahahahahahaha !!!

        But seriously, I do read all the posts before even I get into the comments section; it has been a practice and even leaving that comment, i did read the whole post. just had some harmless fun πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

        Btw, tickets at Rs. 15??? when were you born?? 1947???

        and personally, I dint like the idea of selling the old scooter. But yes, better than lying and getting it rusted. My old scooter lies in my native and I make it a point to clean and take him for a ride atleast once during my leave. I miss him too ! sigh !! 😦

        • hitchwriter says:

          My scooter had lost its chasis and driving it was like a disco the whole body would shake unbelievably… it was like riding a bull !!!! πŸ˜› πŸ˜›

          tickets in small town are a lot cheaper !! Bharuch even today has a population of about 6-7 lakhs !

  12. Deeps says:

    A nostalgic post,Hitchy! have never ridden a scooter in my life.

    I remember this incident though,wherein I was offered a ride home by an office collegue once in his bike. We had barely left the office complex,the guy applied a sudden brake upon sighting some goddamn speed-breaker. That ws it!! I just sprang out of the bike fell flat on the road. Although my poor friend profusely said sorry,I’d had my fill for the day. It was my first time on a bike and in all probability my last time too !!

  13. Destination Infinity says:

    I too started with a scooter. Actually, in the final year of college! Scooters were almost out then, and most of my friends in my college made fun of it, but that was the main reason I continued using it – I some how like doing what others don’t want to!! πŸ˜›

    Destination Infinity

  14. Amrita says:

    you have reminded me of my own two-wheeler days!!…gone forever, never to return… 😦

    The traffic being what it is ,my husband and my father have strictly forbidden me from riding a scooter….Little do they realise that I would happily give up the comfort of even a chauffeur driven car for the freedom that my good old Kinetic Honda gave me.

    Loved this trip down the memory lane …on a scooter πŸ™‚
    its going to be some time before I will be able to stop smiling!
    πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

    • hitchwriter says:

      First of all welcome to the blog !!!

      The two wheelers have their own free spirit dont they !!! Glad you loved tihs post… and spreading smiles is great !!!!!!! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

  15. Smita says:

    Aha such a nostalgic post!!! Your post reminded me of the 1st scooter which my Dad had bought!! He too was so much emotionally attached to it and despite the fact that it was never used we carried it all the way from Orissa to Jamnagar!!!

    I the underlining fact is that anything which we have bought from our hard earned money (specially when money is short) always remains close to our heart!!

  16. bandsxbands says:

    Nice post… Looks like flash memory is really beginning to take off. Hopefully we’ll start seeing a drop in solid-state drive prices soon. 5 dollar 32 gigabyte Micro SD Cards for your Nintendo DS flash card… imagine that!(Submitted using Nintendo DS running R4i SDHC R4Post)

Leave a Reply

