A historic day !

Today India has been officially crowned No.1 in Tests and its a remarkable achievement for a team that has been consistent now for quite some time in Test Matches.

However before we get into celebration mode my heart misses the two chief architects of this great achievement :

These two are India’s finest warriors and they have had a major role to play in shaping up Indian cricket where it is today. Also in the past 18 months these two were playing too… !!! Apart from their onfield performances which were truly legendary their contributions to all the players & Indian cricket is IMMEASURABLE !!!!!

The No.1 position surely must be dedicated to these two !!!

Celebrate India !!!!!

24 thoughts on “A historic day !

  1. vimmuuu says:

    You wont believe, the moment I saw the last wicket of Sri lanka being taken this morn, the first thing I thought was Hitchys new post on cricket !!! ๐Ÿ˜€ ๐Ÿ˜€ ๐Ÿ˜€ ๐Ÿ˜€

    Congrats !!!

      • vimmuuu says:

        I know!!! With my face in public and also my engagement in the news, I heard a lot of girls committed suicide. But only girls, so you dont have to worry ๐Ÿ˜€ ๐Ÿ˜€ ๐Ÿ˜€ ๐Ÿ˜€ ๐Ÿ˜€

        • Neha says:

          Haila! that was a good one, I gotta admit ๐Ÿ˜› ๐Ÿ˜†

          I’d rather not be a girl if I’d kill meself for ya! So say hello to this dude ๐Ÿ˜€ ๐Ÿ˜›

  2. masood says:

    Agree. What we achieved today was initated by Dada and carried forward by Dravid and Kumble. Dhoni just reaped the rewards of their hardwork. Not taking away any credit from him but the real architects were his predecessors.

    But a proud moment in Indian cricket. We’ve surely come a long way. Cheers to that dude.

  3. Pins N Ashes says:

    I just love u so much Hitch for mentioning Kumble :)))))

    Jokes Apart, at this pinnacle of glory, all of us should remember every Indian Cricketer who has worn the cap n given their best as runs, catches, wickets, n good fielding n support staff in the past so many years.

    Cheers to the team. (I still have reservations about Dhoni, anyways)
    A pat on his back too… Lucky guy! (I know I’m biased)

    cya

  4. Salil says:

    Hi Hitch,

    I am overjoyed, though it is going to be a temporary stay at the top since we don’t play another test apart from Bangladesh till Dec 2010, and that too No.1 of just 9 test playing nations.

    I know this is your view, but I would have liked Dravid and Sachin also included as major contributors to India’s success. And that is apart from not mentioning the contributions from players like Sehwag, Harbhajan, VVS, Zaheer, etc.

    Cheers,
    Salil

    • hitchwriter says:

      They all were in the team … but my heart missed Sourav and Anil at that point the most… !! I am not for one minute not taking away the credit from Sachin, Dravid, Laxman, Sehwag, Zaheer or Dhoni ! apart from the current players these two are as responsible for this feat !!!

      I think the current players need to dedicate this rank to these two !

  5. Minal says:

    Very Very true Hitchwriter! These two form the part of the Fab Five and their contribution to the game can never be forgotten! how I wish they would’ve been around today on the field – they deserve this moment but I bet they must be beaming with proud cause they have contributed to those memorable wins that have got us here!

  6. Nancy says:

    True…Saurav Ganguly truly led the way as captain…he was a true leader in every sense. Kumble was always dependable but it is only recently he started showing some spirit.
    [Nancy quickly exits b4 Hitchwriter follows her with a stick]

    ๐Ÿ˜€

Leave a Reply

