til ka laddoo and the joy in it ! :D

Picture Courtesy : Deepak Amembal

Waking up early is a bad habit these days… I get up at 4 sometimes at 3 but now with Internet back at home… its not so bad… it gives me enough time to blog hop and that in return gives me more idea’s for posts.. !

Having gotten up at 5 I was blog hopping and I realised so many people help rekindle so many memories… and that is the most beautiful thing about blogs… its real people with real life experiences… !!

Just this morning I was blog hopping and I came across this yummilicious picture by Deepak of Mumbai Daily. Now pause a moment and just look at the picture …. tell me doesnt that look totally delicious ?? drool anyone ?? drool all you like… !! πŸ˜› πŸ˜›

I am not having any of those laddooos at home at the moment, but it reminded me of golden old days as kids, when my Granny and Mom wanted us to eat Til Ka Chikki or Til ka Laddoo in winters as it was very good for health and in those days, now dont get shocked, I and my bro’s used to almost desist eating !!

Eventually my granny suggested Mom put coins of 10 paise and 25 paise in the laddoos and tell us that we could spend the money the way we liked… ! 10 paise and 25 paise dont sound a lot do they ?? lol… but in those days you could easily but a kite for 25 paise, also youΒ could buy 4Β marbles for 25 paise… !! Infact the laddoos became so popular that even our friends wanted the laddoos !!!!!

My Granny had us eating out of our Mom’s hands, literally !! Even today when I munch at a laddoo there is always this anticipation in my mind, maybe just maybe there might be a coin inside ! (it always crosses my mind) πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

Folks today is Makar Sankranti..Β and this day marks the beginning of longer days… change of seasons… though its pretty cold today !!!

Wish you and your family a very happy Makar Sankranti !!! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

My heart reallyΒ  misses being home in Bharuch today, this is the third consecutive year … it would have been great fun to buy kites on 13th, getting manja (thread) from Surat… some friendΒ would rent huge speakers toΒ ensure our music is the loudest in the neighbourhood, someone would be arranging for jalebi’s, some would arrange for Undhiya & Puri for lunch, caps, tapes … more than half the night of 13th would be spent tying the kinna, a process of readying the kites for flying with all friends having gathered at home and my mom assisting also throw in the batata wada’s at midnight brought from the railway station…

And then for the d-day get up early and bath and rush to my friends house and straight to his terrace (my house has too many trees around so impossible to fly kites)Β throw bits of paper in the air to gauge the air… like the cricketers almost… and then for the thumka’s to have the bird flying in the air… soaring, then making it to dip below the neighbour’s kite and then the adrenalin khench (pulling as fast as you can to cut the thread of another kite) and screaming at the top of voice

Β “Kaipo Che…… Lapppetttt…..” :mrgreen:

Β 

I promise to none other than myself… next year I will be there to fly kites at home !!!!!! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

66 thoughts on “til ka laddoo and the joy in it ! :D

  1. rohini says:

    this is the second year I am away from home for Makar Sankranthi… and livng in this strange land where no one really cares that its a festival today, I cannot tell you how I feel! I miss the laddus, the sweets et al….

    coins in the laddus eh!? pretty cool… Happy Makar Sankranthi!

    • hitchwriter says:

      The importance of the festivals is really realised when away from home… sigh… !!! I will have to buy some of these laddoos today !!!! or else… Deepak will be having an upset stomach !!! πŸ˜›

  2. Shail says:

    Oh my what a novel way to have the kids eat til ka laddus! Your granny sure had an innovative approach to get you brats to do what she wanted!! πŸ™‚
    Happy Makar Sankranti to you Hitch!

  3. suranga says:

    Happy Uttraan (spelling?) / Makar Sankranti to you, HW. Just made my tilgul yesterday, and heres a virtual tilgul ladoo for you; as we say , “Tilgul ghyaa, gode bolaa….”

    And yes, many years ago, once went to Ahmedavad especially to fly kites on Uttraan. And in these inflationery days, I just make the ladoos easier to eat/non teeth-cracking, so I dont need to add coins inside. They finish so fast, I cant keep up with the making. ….

    • hitchwriter says:

      In gujarati that is the spelling… though some wanna spell is at Uttarayan… ! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ Whatever its a day to rejoice !!! πŸ˜€

      Seriously the laddooos with a 1 Rupee coin also wouldnt fetch a kite for kids these days…. !

  4. Minal says:

    Hitchwriter – so many memories! Sigh! Miss being in India on occassions like these!
    This year though mom and in-laws with us so it feels like a festival at home:-)
    Can’t wait to have the Til guls at home today:-)
    Wishing you and your family a very happy makar sankrat!

  5. umsreflections says:

    Happy Sankranthi to you !!!!

    Til ka laddu is my fav too !!!!

    Oh !! Those lovely childhood memories – how much ever we write abt it, is just not enuf. The kite flying with frnds is such an awesome experience.

    Even me and S used to enjoy the kite, till one day S got his jaw cut with the manja. From then, we stay from the kites.

    And come on, make that move to Bharuch and enjoy flying kites !!!!

    • hitchwriter says:

      Its not my most fav… but that picture really was droolworthy and reminded me of a story !! πŸ™‚ I am thankful to Deepak for that πŸ˜€

      I m already in the process… of making that move… πŸ˜€

  6. Sandhya says:

    A very good idea – keeping coins inside the til laddoo! I will remember it.

    I have seen the kite festival of Gujarat in the TV. So many varieties of beautiful kites!

    I used to prepare/grind for manja for my brother! Remember grinding glass pieces with it!

    You are going to be writing a post about current situation of the ‘kite flying’ days, next year, this time, Dhiren! I feel it will not be like the carefree olden days.

  7. chatterbox says:

    Wish you and everyone dear to you a very Happy Makar Sankranti.
    Thanks for sharing your fond memories of those yummy looking sweets and I loved the idea of finding a coin hiding as a reward of eating those sweets.

    Have lots of fun flying kites and eating yummy foods.

    Cheers :D:D

  8. Homecooked says:

    Sweet memories Hitchy πŸ™‚ Even I have fond memories of going on our terrace to fly kites…I mean not actively fly kites but just to yell kaipoche πŸ˜€ The til laddus are really drool worthy! It must have been like a treasure hunt eating those laddus in your childhood! Have fun flying kites…and I pray that next year you get to go to Baruch πŸ™‚

    • hitchwriter says:

      Yessss loads of people just climb terraces to yellll !!!!!!!!!!! its awesome fun !!!! dancing crazy in the sun whole day… Sigh !!!!! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

      I will I will !!!! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ Amen !!!!

  9. Smita says:

    Happy Makarsankranti πŸ™‚

    I don’t like til but my Mom used to make similar ladoo’s of Murmura and I used to love them!!! In fact even I was remembering my days in Gorakhpur where there used to be a huge mela for Khicddi, oh btw Makarsankranti is also known as Khiccdhi in our side πŸ™‚

    I was even missing my Days of Ahmedabad, you simply can not stop thinking of the fun & frolic & the lovely atmosphere there!!! Sigh!

    • hitchwriter says:

      I love those Mumra (palwal) Ladooooos toooooo much… !! only you need a plate for them as crumbs fall left right and centre… !!!!! πŸ˜› πŸ˜›

      Khiccdhi ?? tat I m hearing for the first time… India truly has so much diversity !!!! πŸ˜€

      Ahmedabad is the place to be today !!!! aint it… πŸ˜› πŸ˜›

  10. craftyshines says:

    I loved this post! read it on reader and promptly came over!! πŸ˜€

    hugsssss!!!! that story… its awesome!! and ur grandma was brilliant!! πŸ˜€

    we flew kites in my previous office last year, had seven, lost all in less than 2 hrs!! πŸ˜›

    Happy Uttraan to you!!!

    and hitchu, i will wait for you to post the pics, of u and hetal and hriday flying kites at bharuch next year!! amen!

    • sakshi says:

      Aap ka darshan hua… *cough cough..sakshi clearing throat*

      aap ka darshan hua..tho aisa laga..
      ki nariyal ke ped pe patang padosi ka mila …Aadhab Crafty ji πŸ˜› :mrgreen:

      *sakshi flies off on her Nimbus 2000 fearing that bloggers might hunt her down*

      • hitchwriter says:

        Seriously Sakshi truly apt comment !!!! Bade Mehnge hai Hobbesji aaj kal !!!!!! πŸ˜› πŸ˜› πŸ˜›

        @ Crafty… AMen ((((hugs))))) lets plan you come over next year… and you dont have to worry about the number of kites !!!!!!! πŸ˜› πŸ˜› πŸ˜›

  11. Anu says:

    Happy Makar Sankranti!!

    Til ke laddu, never meri choice. Not as grandiose an idea as putting a coin inside to tempt people would have made me eat them πŸ™‚ Koi chance nahi…. chikki toh I prefer moongfali wali, so not at all tempted πŸ™‚

    Talk abt blogs getting u all nostalgic… Sometimes, I come across stuff that makes me say, “Sha, ye sab toh maine bhi kiya hai yaar bachpan mein” but have forgotten completely. I have broken my own records of being in some 20-somehting-commenter on ur blog today.. It usually has crossed 80 odds when I reach πŸ™‚ Happy writing!!

    • hitchwriter says:

      I prefer moongfali waali chikki more too… but the coins for the kites and marbles were too precious then !!!! πŸ˜› πŸ˜› how we would hope it wouldnt be 10 paise but 25 paise !!! πŸ˜› πŸ˜› πŸ˜›

      Never mind the number of comments always remember to leave your reaction !!!! no matter what number I ll reply !!!!! πŸ˜€

  12. Swaram says:

    I luv reading these nostalgic posts of urs Hitchu πŸ™‚

    So many fond memories … the coins … supercool idea πŸ™‚

    3rd consecutive yr that I hv nt been able to go to Blr too for the festival 😦
    Waiting for the time when we go bk there πŸ™‚

    Ur promise .. Amen amen amen πŸ™‚

  13. shilpadesh says:

    Wow Happy Sankranthi! Til gul ghya god god bola Hitchy. I miss the fun we had as kids during Sankranthi too. Especially the wild fights we witnessed at patang time……..have a great time Hitchy and hope Hriday has as fond memories as you have!

  14. Smitha says:

    Happy Makar Sankranti to you and your family too!

    We have never had much to do on this day. And although til ka ladoo is not one of my favourites – reading this, I feel like eating ladoos with coins in them! That must have been so much fun as a child πŸ™‚ I am wondering if I should employ this technique to make Poohi eat her veggies πŸ™‚ Your granny must have been a genius πŸ™‚

    As for your promise to yourself – here’s hoping it happens and happens soon πŸ™‚

  15. Vimmuuu says:

    You forgot to mention ‘women’ in this nostalgic post of yours ! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

    Hitchy is back !! πŸ˜‰

    Happy Makar Sankranthi !

  16. sakshi says:

    First time I am not drooling after seeing your food pics πŸ˜› My mom in law packed us all kinds of ladoo from Til to god knows what!! So till the dabbas are empty at my side you can indulge in posting ladoo pics and torturing others. πŸ˜€

    Aww your granny was quiet brainy *btw that rhymes*. I wish my husband would hide dollars in Dhokla..then I might have the courage to gobble them up. I hate Dhoklas πŸ˜₯

    Wishing you a happy sankranti and loads of fun next year in Bharuch

    • hitchwriter says:

      You dont like Dhokla’s ??? Bharuch is famous for it along with Surat and Baroda !!!! you need ot visit me and I assure you will love them !!!!!!!!! Its a honest promise !!!!!!

      Granny was surely brainy !!!! and yes it rhymes !!! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

      Moms do stuff us with Ladooos dont they… lol !!!!! πŸ˜† you though really need to gobble quite a few or you will fly away on a windy day like a kite !!!! πŸ˜›

  17. monikamanchanda says:

    u know all these kite flying being from delhi somehow I always associate it with 15th aug because that was the day it used to happen there… everyone will be out on the terrace with loads of kites and manja and loud music and snacks πŸ˜€

    all of us used to be there with my uncles (mamma’s) and later the cousins flying themselves… I even tried flying one myself once πŸ™‚

    such memories treasures of life I tell u

    • hitchwriter says:

      I never knew they flew kites on 15th August… !!!! πŸ˜›

      For us 14th Jan was the d-day !!! And those laddooos go with it for sure… dont they really look lovely… I had to put something to get my revenge nad make you drooll !!!!! πŸ˜› πŸ˜› πŸ˜›

  18. kanagu says:

    happy Makar Sankranthi to you and your family bhai. πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

    what an innovative way to make you eat.. πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ surely your granny was brainy..

    and flying kites is one of the great past time… πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

    • hitchwriter says:

      Its not just pass time… in Gujarat its a competition !!! lol…

      That surely was innovative… to get disinterested kids eating out of your hands !!!! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ God bless her soul !!!

  19. Parul says:

    Wow !! What a nostalgic post !! And yes, those pictures did make me drool, even though I just a finished a box full of til gachak’s yesterday night πŸ™‚
    And patangbazi, yeaaah, that used to so be so much fun !!
    Happy Makar Sakranti to you too!!

  20. Sunshinesafar says:

    Though can’t say about the hygiene aspect of planting coins in the laddoos.. the idea is definitely innovative! πŸ˜€

    Wish you a happy Makar Sankranti.

    What is undhiyo? Am so curious, coz I’ve heard about it from so many people.. anyplace in B’lore where u can get to taste this???

Leave a Reply

