aaj khane mein kya banaoo…

From time to time I get this phone call between 4.30 to 5.00 and I know what the next question is…

“What shall I cook for dinner…”

the beauty of the question is it is absolutely not serious… !

The moment you utter Pizza… ! πŸ˜› πŸ˜› πŸ˜› πŸ˜›

but there is no cheese in the house… 😐

The moment you utter Dahi Wada… ! πŸ˜› πŸ˜› πŸ˜› πŸ˜›

but there is no Dahi in the house… 😐

The moment you utter Dosa… ! πŸ˜› πŸ˜› πŸ˜› πŸ˜›

but there is no batter in the house and I am too tired to go and bring it… 😐

then when she finally sees that her bait of getting the desired answer,

Β “Honey, dont cook today, we will eat outside.. !” is not working… she will herself suggest…

Shall I make Khichdi… ? 😐

If your asking me… my answer is no.. !

But there are no veggies in the house… its better (read easier to cook)… plus good/lighter for health… plus you love it sauted in breakfast next day morning… !!! (killing so many birds with one stone) 😐 😐

Well… (suddenly some work in office) yea… there… ok… Make Khichdi… !

Then at 8 pm when you reach home… hungry like a pig… you walk in the house having totallyΒ forgotten the above conversation and ask

whats for Dinner… (expecting to hear Mutter paneer, Parantha’s, Salad, Biryani and Kadhi)

the reply comes…

huh… you have grown old… !

whats my age got to do with that… plus we were class mates remember…Β  tell me whats for dinner untying the shoe laces… (expectation still RIPE)

well you, yourself in the first place told meΒ to make Khichdi and now youΒ ask this silly question… go change and come for dinner… I’ll roast a papad for you… (as if the papad were a TANDOORI CHICKENΒ  😐 )

😐

and life goes on people… life goes on…. ! sigh…

105 thoughts on “aaj khane mein kya banaoo…

  1. Sands says:

    I so do that To Anurag, and try eating kichadi without papad and you will know the generosity!!
    And I am so doing this tonight, thanks for the dinner idea!! πŸ™‚

  2. Nu says:

    Hitch I’ll not let H read this post..or else when you guys meet up you will be a gang already ! πŸ˜› But since I have read this now me and [your] H-just realized H both sides :P- are a gang,beware you hus-bands ! πŸ˜‰

  3. Smitha says:

    lol!! That was so much like what happens here πŸ™‚

    The only diff being husband suggests Khichdi and I say noooo – thats too boring and we end up eating out πŸ˜‰

  4. Goofy Mumma says:

    Dekh froma wife’s point of view, its tougher to decide what to cook, than to actually cook each day, so I completely understand Hetal’s need to ask. And Mr., what is your problem in going out and eating, what a mean mean hubby you are!! Imagine us paying 200INR for a pair of samosas, and yet we go out.

    • hitchwriter says:

      strangely I never used to eat bajre ka rotla when mom made it… till I went to hostel and now strangely we go to kathiawadi restaurants and eat it… !!! how taste buds change… !

  5. suranga says:

    i absolutely applaud Hetal’s suggestion about Khichdi. Maybe, she will make kadhi too. And papad. I assume you have a year’s supply of chhundo. And you know those long stuffed mirchis dried in the sun and then fried….have those with khichdi ? ….Simply yum…I need to stop. Must go and cook some khichdi myself …. Beats all your paneeri tandoori stuff by a mile……:-)

  6. comfortablynam says:

    This was such a funny conversation and one that goes on in most indian households that I had to comment..

    Well I love LOVE khichdi..so I make some when I don’t feel like cooking anything else..and let him fend for himself. πŸ˜›

    And when I really want to eat out, I call his and ask ‘Aaj khichdi khaa lein kya?’..see which is different from ‘What do you want to eat today?’ and prompt answer comes back ‘mein baahar se khana le aaoinga’ .. to which I reply ..To mere liye bhi le aana’ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

  7. Pal says:

    Ha ha ha! ROFL, Hitchy. That was classic πŸ™‚ In my household btw, whenever I ask this question, the reply is always ‘whatever you like’, so I end up making what I want, and then the better-half says he doesn’t like it 😦 Men!!

  8. oorja says:

    Its not about the food.. can’t u see.. the call is to hear your voice.. everyday… dinner to bas bahana hai…. πŸ˜‰ πŸ˜€

    btw i love khichdi.. great taste…
    and good for health.. πŸ˜€
    best of both.. πŸ™‚

    and above all.. easiest to make πŸ˜‰

  9. Homecooked says:

    ROFL ! Seriously Hitchy khichdis are good for health πŸ˜€ I myself never give my husband a choice. If I tell him what for lunch/dinner he makes a fuss saying “You are making that again” or “But I dont feel like eating that ” and so on. So now when he asks me what I am making I always tell….you’ll get it in sometime,you can see for yourself . So the jhagdas are less this way πŸ™‚

  10. Indyeah says:

    ROFL! too much ho gaya nahin? πŸ˜€
    Are you trying to portray yourself as the ‘poor me’ ? πŸ˜‰

    Khichdi n papad are good for health Dhiren πŸ˜€

    serves you right! πŸ˜› should have taken the hint!

    go and make something nice for her now πŸ˜€ surprise her on Valentine’s πŸ˜€

  11. mandira says:

    boss, I LIKE khichdi.. ok, may b wudnt like it if i got it everyday..but still, generally im happy with it…
    btw, i sms the mother very , very often to ask for dinner… n very ,very often my suggestions of wat shud be made are rejected..so u see, u arent the only one suffering here! lol

  12. Deeps says:

    The scene is more or less similar here too,Hitchy! In our case I normally carry forward lunch for dinner too,which in most cases R says ‘NO’ to and we end up either eating out or opting fr home-delivery πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ . Khichdi is never an option for us πŸ˜†

    On a different note, beewi ke haath ka papad tandoori ckicken samajhke khaana chahiye. So how did the papad taste? Did it taste like tandoori chicken?? πŸ˜†

  13. Thoorika says:

    No seriously! How come your wife doesn’t read your blog?! πŸ˜€ @Everyone : not a single soul is his wife’s friend?! πŸ˜€

  14. Rakesh says:

    I feel like singing a song here…

    ‘Yeh hai meri kahani….’

    You know, exactly same story plays in my house over and over again… But the only difference is I am ok with Khichdi. My wife isn’t πŸ˜›

  15. Amrita says:

    LOL…Hilarious post…applause!!! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

    But …..do you realise that instead of autocratically deciding the menu and forcefeeding you the healthiest cuisine in under the sun…lol… 😈
    …..she involves you in the decision making process!!!!… πŸ™„ …
    Please appreciate this democratic style of governance :mrgreen:

  16. chatterbox says:

    Wow! What a wonderful way to get things your way πŸ˜€
    Your wife is real smart πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

    Excellent post Hitchy, loved the way emotions trickled in the spicy conversation πŸ˜‰

    Enjoy!!

  17. umsreflections says:

    Thats the story of every house, I guess !!! πŸ˜‰

    Now-a-days, I’ve stopped making that phone call, too. I just make the equivalent of khicdi here – thayir sadham (curd rice) !!! ha ha ha !!! πŸ˜†

  18. Pixie says:

    So so late with my comment!! πŸ˜›
    But, its the same with me as well! I ask everyday around 6 PM (that’s the time he would have left office and I would be nearing home!!)
    Even when I have decided what to cook, I ask K!! πŸ˜‰
    hehe!!

  19. Sakshi says:

    How come you heartless husbands don’t understand this simple phone ishara?? The moment you guys see its call from home you should reserve a table at some awesome restaurant to treat the poor hardworking wives like us πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

