a tale of also ran’s

.

Well my situation is such that I should be singing the above song….. Jee ke kya kare…. and thanks to the cough my voice is almost like K. L. Saigal. (no disrespect meant whatsoever, he was a legend) Now even before you ask WHY ??

.

Actually today after a half day educative training in Baroda I was left in the city for half Β a day and I thought I would gorge into some mouthwatering dishes, Baroda is a wonderful city to be eating out… plus since I have done my college in this city its a city full of memories… πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

.

The problem with being a foodie after 30 means most colleagues complaint and dont comply…. 😦 😦 😦 and soon after a few bites here and there…. Β I had to toe their line and finally head to a mall… which I must say is most tiring… I mean 20 mins of walking in the A/C Mall is as tiring as 1 hour of jogging on the sunny cricket ground 😐 I mean its so pathetic and boring… 😦 plus you end up buying something or the other… which after a couple of days I will not like… sigh…

.

I was getting really bored and to keep myself intrigued at such times I use mobile updates on Facebook as all the people who are in my friends list in facebook would know… I love giving them my stereotype food updates, I keep them updated about everybite I take… and the sadist in me gets great pleasure in this… anyways… before I digress I suddenly got a facebook wall message on my mobile from Monu who congratulated that I won the book I wanted in the Wide Angle Contest organised by Blogadda !!

.

AND… I went into a frenzy… I got goose flesh and I sat on the railing and called Monu immediately !!!!!!!!!!! I wanted to confirm and make sure I wasnt in a trance at shopping !! πŸ˜› πŸ˜› I was just thrilled and just not knowing how to react.. I was so glad… !!! As soon as she hung up Monu I called Hetal. She was happy too and told me finally your cricket madness led to something good finally… !!!! :mrgreen:Β Β Then called my brothers who both are cricket fans and I had to flaunt in front of them that I got the Book !!!!! :mrgreen:

.

I called Crafty and though she was busy I yelled out… !!!! πŸ˜› πŸ˜› and then I called Nigam and shared the excitement… !!!! Since he was on a computer he went to the site to see it… he found it after a minute or so while I was yelling at him…

.

“Dekha Β bola tha na… tera bhai celebrity hai… !!!! Dekha apun likhta hai… to ekdum dhasoooo likhta hai… especially about cricket… !!!!!!!!!” πŸ˜› πŸ˜› πŸ˜›

.

And then…. Nigam read… and then he said I didnt win…. !!!! 😦 😦 😦 πŸ˜₯ πŸ˜₯ πŸ˜₯ He told me Suranga and Bindhu had won… and I had won another book by Nishant Kaushik !!!! He let me know that Monu had made a slight error !!! 😦

.

I was like dont do this to me… for a second I was like gutted ! 😐 Seriously hollow feeling… !

.

But well… soon enough… I got back into my senses… and thought let me call Suranga !!!

.

We had exchanged numbers about a couple of months back but never got around talking to each other… but I had to congratulate her… !!!! πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ Although mighty disappointed I did keep the chin up and called her and infact it was wonderful to talk to a blogger whom I have admired always… Infact I have been a fan of her… I love her observances always and even when she put in her entry somewhere in my heart when I read her entry… I knew she had a really good piece and that she had a huge chance to win the book !!!

.

The devious soul that I am, I asked her to share the book with me… πŸ˜› πŸ˜› πŸ˜› πŸ˜› and the generous soul that she is… she asked me to drop down anytime to her place and while I looked at the photographs she would also make me Sabudana Khichdi… !!!!! πŸ˜› πŸ˜› πŸ˜› πŸ˜› πŸ˜› πŸ˜› πŸ˜› πŸ˜›

.

Rings a bell… ???????

.

Suddenly I thought… HEEE HAWWW… she walked right into the lions den !!!!!!!!!!!!!! She is inviting me and even telling me she would feed ME !!!!!!! πŸ‘Ώ 😈

.

Now her ration would be in Danger… !!!!!!!! I can clearly see myself gobbling all the stuff she could serve…. and eventually the kind lady pushing me out of her house with the book !!!!!!!!!! :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

:mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

“Hitchy (DUDE) tum ab jaoo bhi…. ek kaam karo… yeh book apne ghar le jaooon, wahi pe dekh lena…” πŸ˜› πŸ˜› πŸ˜› πŸ˜›

Oh boy doesnt that seem like a sinister plan !!!!!!!! πŸ˜› πŸ˜› πŸ˜› πŸ˜›

97 thoughts on “a tale of also ran’s

    • hitchwriter says:

      yes you are F#@$% !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! :mrgreen: !!!!!!!!!!

      you do let your fingers rumble on the keyboard dont you !!!!!!!!!! πŸ˜† I absolutely love it…

      now I have to do that jingle for you !!!!!!!

      Tum aa gaye ho…. main has pada hooooooooon…
      nahi to… suranga ke ghar chori ka … irada tha !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! πŸ˜› πŸ˜› πŸ˜› πŸ˜›

      • Sakshi says:

        Aww partner…here take this Johnny Depp Pirate bandana and let’s go chori chori munching papad to rob suranga’s kitchen :mrgreen:

        partner we will sing this song to kill the silence……………

        chori chori hum kitchen ko rob karenge
        chupke chupke saara khaana yaar khayenge
        Suranga kab aayegi, koyi de pata..
        ddond rahe hai jaane kabse hum Book…

        aaja aaja Hitchy aa…………..

          • hitchwriter says:

            Imagine Johny Depp Bandana mein that above song of Rajesh Khanna !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! πŸ˜› πŸ˜› πŸ˜›

            Would be some scene eh !!!!!!! πŸ˜› πŸ˜› πŸ˜›

            I am sure that would have Suranga in splits and I could easily make my theft good !!!!!!!!

            • Sakshi says:

              partner haven’t you heard about the Pirate Code of Conduct? What you steal will be split in equal among all πŸ˜₯ so where is my share of the loot?

              • hitchwriter says:

                Pirate’s code of conduct ?!!!!!! lol… !!!!! thats only limited to talking to the chief I guesss !!!!!!!! πŸ˜› πŸ˜› πŸ˜› he he he… !!!! but I will be generous partner… !!!!!!! you have all the food !!! I have the book !!!!!!!

                also I let you see all the dressing room pics !!!!!!!!!! πŸ˜› πŸ˜› πŸ˜› πŸ˜› πŸ˜›

                • Sakshi says:

                  You will let me have all the food?? hmmm now I smell a DHOKLA in this whole scheme 😯 you and giving away food for a dressing room pic book?? Is it Kumble or Carlisa and Vidya in it?

  1. sands says:

    πŸ™‚ Plan mein bahut dum hai guru! But now Suranga would know to tweak the ingredients here and there to make you run away from her and leave the book alone!!

  2. Ashwathy says:

    Hahahah πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

    Hitchuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuu!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    me runs from the other end of the room, pounces on hitchu, trips, goes cartwheeling to the centre of the room and finally stands up with a cloud of dust trailing behind :mrgreen:

  3. Sakshi says:

    ….being a foodie after 30….????? well I am totally ignoring the false projection of years this time :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

    ohh you didn’t get the Kumble book? Dontcha worry here they are having a contest to give away Pamela Anderson’s biography and I will fill up the form for you πŸ™„ The things I do in the name of friendship I tell ya… 😯

    Suranga ji invited you to her place? Boy isn’t she sweet…I hope she really doesn’t regret her decision after her Kitchen is hit by the Hitchycane…

    • hitchwriter says:

      Me too wanna ignore… but how suddenly EPIC eaters become DIETICIANS I cannot believe !!!!!!!!! Sigh….

      Pamela Anderson !!!!!!! :mrgreen: !!!!!!! Naa…. I dont like Artificial beauty… ! πŸ˜‰ πŸ˜‰ πŸ˜‰ πŸ˜› πŸ˜› πŸ˜†

      I’d still have the Kumble book !!!!!!!!!!!! πŸ˜› πŸ˜›

      Well… she asked for it !!!!!!!!!!!!!!! πŸ˜› πŸ˜› πŸ˜› πŸ˜›

  4. Sakshi says:

    Ohh btw I simply adore that Mashaal song…..well I think I love all the songs in that movie….remember the cute Mujhe tum yaad karna aur…. *sigh*

  5. Sakshi says:

    Am I the only clown who is into this spamming business? πŸ™„ Craftyyyyyyyyyyyyy this is the eggjact moment I miss ya so much…. πŸ˜₯

    • hitchwriter says:

      seriously … that girl … sigh …

      hobbes jaisa spammer kaha….
      kaha aisi comedy….

      yaad kare tujhe saare bloggers…
      ab to tu jaldi aaa jaaaaaa !!!! πŸ˜€

      • Crafty Shines says:

        oonchi hai building…..
        lift teri bandh hai…..
        kaise main spam karoon…..
        office mein kitna kaam hai!!!!!! πŸ˜₯ πŸ˜₯

        WAIL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! i am missing all the spamming action!!!

        *sooper tight hugs to sakshi and hitchu* my eye twitched as u wrote these comments! :mrgreen:

        Hobbes, you did win a prize! so u get two books!!! one that u won, and the other that u and sakshi will steal since u tricked…erm…convinced suranga to invite you over!! πŸ˜›

        u can take me for stealing too…. i will create diversion…. with my disco clothes and retro dance..

        Disco…station..disco!! πŸ˜› πŸ˜†

          • hitchwriter says:

            {{{{{{{{{{{{{{{{{{{{{hugs}}}}}}}}}}}}}}}}}}}}}}}}

            Aa gaya aa gaya…
            mera hobbeswa aa gaya…

            cha gaya cha gaya…
            ab mazaaaa cha gaya !!!! πŸ˜› πŸ˜› πŸ˜›

            TWo books !!!!!!!!!!!! πŸ˜€ :D: D πŸ˜€ He he he he he !!!!! I didnt think that way hobbes…. see… I needcha for such brilliant ideas !!!!!!!!! πŸ˜› πŸ˜› πŸ˜› πŸ˜› πŸ˜›

            You in disco clothes and retro dance !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Suranga’s gone for good !!!!!! lol… !!!!

  6. Solilo says:

    Oh! the result is out? Koi nahin. Chalo you met Kumble and clicked a picture with him.

    Suranga is sweet. Don’t run away with her book though. πŸ˜€

  7. comfortablynam says:

    Can we rub it in..the thoda sa error..bahut bhaari padega πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

    Hope you can ditch your office people and actually go and have some mouthwatering food, instead of shopping..

    • hitchwriter says:

      Rub it in ??? well… why am I not surprised… !!!!!

      I am sure the evil souls are feministss πŸ˜›

      I did a lot of eating actually πŸ˜› πŸ˜› πŸ˜› and since I lost I was so disappointed… I ended up gobbling stuff without realising how much I as eating !!!!!!!!!!!!! :mrgreen:

  8. chatterbox says:

    Wow! the book pirate is in action and has also managed an invitation to get hold of the book πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€
    Good going dude πŸ˜‰

    That was one cool post….pure Hitchy style πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

    Enjoy πŸ™‚

    • hitchwriter says:

      Lol… normally I aint a book pirate… I am a food pirate or a women pirate !!!!! πŸ˜› :mrgreen: but well… cricket !!!! sigh they are an exception to the rule !!!!!!

    • hitchwriter says:

      ((((HUGS)))

      i actually went through a roller coaster… and in the end was all smiles !!! πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ So no need to say sorry Monu !!!! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

    • hitchwriter says:

      your house is the one I have to surely visit… !!!!!!!! the sort of recipes you churn up all the time… infact we are making your samosa’s (2filling types) today !!!!!!!!! πŸ˜› πŸ˜› πŸ˜›

  9. suranga says:

    Folks, (adjusting the book chained to her waist while making Sabudana Khichadi) :

    HW ko book milna mushkil hi nahi na mumkin hai …….. πŸ™‚

    • hitchwriter says:

      Arre… !!! you werent supposed to read this !!!!! πŸ˜› πŸ˜›

      Ab to kisi Taale /Chaabi wale ko cousin banake laaana padega !!!!!!!!!!!! πŸ˜› πŸ˜› πŸ˜›

      • suranga says:

        I debated about carrying the book in one of those things modern girls wear like a back back (in front), to carry their small babies in, but (a) they dont make it in my size anymore, and (b) it seriously affects proper stirring of the Khichadi.

        The chain is actually adjustable, and can be nicely yanked when someone is taking off with the book πŸ™‚

        • Sakshi says:

          Ahh Suranga ji…did you know you are giving out details to Hitchy’s Pirate partner who was planning to loot your kitchen with him?? πŸ™„

          Ohh yeah that thing seriously effects the quality of Khichdi…what with some extra unwanted ingredients popping from it into the pot 😯

          You planning to wind the chain around the pirates when we loot or what?

          • suranga says:

            I am, of course, seeded, at the Senior Chain Lasso Championships….. and at the Chilly Powder Throw event.

            Just saying….:-)

            The things you have to do for Kumble’s book …..sigh….

            • hitchwriter says:

              Lol… !!!!

              Aapne ab tak bacho se liye hoge pange…
              Abhi tak aapne hitchy ke honsle ko nahi dekha…

              Baandh lo chahe kamar par zanzeerein…
              bana do chahe zameen se le ke aasmaan tak deeware…

              Hitchy har deewar faand jaayenga…
              hitchy kitaab hasil kar ke rahega Surangaji….

              SAMJHE !!!!

              ( no reference to Kaaliya !!!!! πŸ˜› )

              • suranga says:

                Aapne ab tak bacho se liye hoge pange…

                (i>Oye, mere Bachche aap ke baras ke hai ….bahut practice hai mujhe..:-)

                Abhi tak aapne hitchy ke honsle ko nahi dekha…

                “hitchy ke honsle” ….? yeh kaunsa naya film aa raha hai ? RGV? Chee chee chee…

                Baandh lo chahe kamar par zanzeerein…
                bana do chahe zameen se le ke aasmaan tak deeware…

                Hitchy har deewar faand jaayenga…
                hitchy kitaab hasil kar ke rahega Surangaji….

                (Riding a horse and racing through mango orchards (to divert Hitchy), book raised high, shouting “Mera book nahi doongi !….)

                SAMJHE !!!!

                πŸ™‚

                • suranga says:

                  (Ignore the previous)…

                  Aapne ab tak bacho se liye hoge pange…

                  Oye, mere Bachche aap ke baras ke hai ….bahut practice hai mujhe..:-)

                  Abhi tak aapne hitchy ke honsle ko nahi dekha…

                  “hitchy ke honsle” ….? yeh kaunsa naya film aa raha hai ? RGV? Chee chee chee…

                  Baandh lo chahe kamar par zanzeerein…
                  bana do chahe zameen se le ke aasmaan tak deeware…

                  Hitchy har deewar faand jaayenga…
                  hitchy kitaab hasil kar ke rahega Surangaji….

                  (Riding a horse and racing through mango orchards (to divert Hitchy), book raised high, shouting “Mera book nahi doongi !….)

                  SAMJHE !!!!

                  πŸ™‚

  10. Pixie says:

    πŸ˜†

    You and your eating!!!!!! πŸ™„
    There is no age limit for being a foodie! So, don’t worry ok?!
    Congrats on winning the book – even the second / consolation prize! πŸ˜›

    and you get to meet Suranga, eat sabudana khichidi and get to check out the book!!!! You are a winner thru and thru!!!!!1 πŸ˜‰ πŸ˜‰ πŸ˜‰

  11. Pal says:

    Congrats anyway Hitchy. I was infact praying that you would win. I even thought I must research Kumble and participate too, and just by chance if I won, I could send the book to you!! Sigh! Never got a chance. Anyway, once you are done with reading Nishant’s book do courier it to me ;-))))

    • hitchwriter says:

      {{{{{{{{{{{{{{{{{{{{hugs}}}}}}}}}}}}}}}}}}}}}

      Just for the lovely thought of winning it for me !!!!!!!!!!! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

      Awesome Pallu… !!!! I guess at times when you want something too badly you just dont get it !!!! but well… I got something atleast you know.. ! πŸ˜› πŸ˜› πŸ˜›

      I guess I will get Sehwag’s book !!!! πŸ˜›

  12. Iya says:

    even i thought u had won when i saw the tweet..

    And to add some more salt, i have seen the book up close. a friend has a autographed copy!!

    • hitchwriter says:

      Iya… !!!

      pssst… what do you think can you steal from him ?? and send it across ??? πŸ‘Ώ 😈

      I can treat you to some mouthwatering treats you know !!!!!!!!! :mrgreen:

  13. UmaS says:

    ROFL @ all the excitement !!!! Anyway, Congrats Hitch, you did win some book !!!!

    Now, its up to you, to sweet talk Suranga to make her give you the book, atleast to browse thru. πŸ™‚

  14. Swaram says:

    I hd seen Suranga and Bindhu and seeing ur update on FB, I ws totally confused πŸ˜›
    U r always a winner anyways .. atleast u say so πŸ™„

  15. Deeps says:

    Congratulations again, Hitchy! A win is a win! Be it first prize or consolation prize.

    So Suranga ji is going to make sabudaana khichadi for you?? Yum Yum! And I’m sure you’ve every intention of giving us a spoonful by spoonful update of that on facebook, right?? grrrr!

    • Sakshi says:

      Deeps according to Hitchy’s Live Traffic feed you landed here 46 minutes ago and now comes the comment….phew!! *sakshi adjusting her Sherlock Holmes Hat*

      • hitchwriter says:

        rofl !! sAKSHI is a riot for sure… !!! and now a detective too… a pirate detective partner… can only mean good for me !!

        Deeps… Imagine I get the book and the winner even treats me !!!!!

        Can there be anything better than this !! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

  16. Vimmuuu says:

    Arey, atleast you won something ! Be happy with that ! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ I so wanted that imposter guy to win. chey !!

    and isnt the suranga the person with the rolling pin in her hand !! We should be wishing ‘all the best’ to you dude ! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

  17. Sagarika says:

    Dear Hitchy,

    Sititng miles away,
    To this music too my feet sway.
    I totally feel the pain as me too was illusioned,
    But guess the book for us was not rationed!
    Never mind ‘random winner mate’
    If Kumble knew our passion he would give us a date!

    Congrats.. smile… you wrote very well!

    • hitchwriter says:

      Hey Sagarika !!!

      Cannot agree more….
      and therefore…

      I aint gonna be feeling down…
      so what if I dont own…

      the book that is..
      difficult this rhyming is..

      πŸ˜› πŸ˜› πŸ˜›

  18. Smitha says:

    LOL! All I can think at the end of it all is, Poor Suranga, she has no idea what she is letting herself for πŸ™‚

    She would have been better off just letting you have the book πŸ™‚ You devious man πŸ™‚ What do they say about by hook or by crook ?Congratulations anyways, Hitchy! So now that you have got hold of 2 books – how are you celebrating?

  19. Niveditha says:

    This is some winning! I think you won better than Suranga herself!
    And awesome song! πŸ˜› fits the situation! πŸ˜€

    • hitchwriter says:

      Hi Niveditha… thanks πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

      Btw what is your blog link ??? You must link your blog to your name… or else how do we find your blog ??

    • hitchwriter says:

      Nope not a shock… its not that I was sure of a victory… but to get the news that I won and then digest that I didnt was a lil well.. sort of deflating… but then… I have become wiser… atleast I experienced the high of winning for a few moments and they were absolutely worth it.. ! πŸ™‚

  20. kanagu says:

    Congrats bhai πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ enjoyed the post… So much fun quite few disappointments too 😦
    Anyway you are invited to suranga’s home so get the book and courier it to me πŸ˜€ πŸ˜‰

    • hitchwriter says:

      lol… courier it to you ???????????????????????????????

      huh ?????????????????

      If I just wanted to watch it once… why wouldnt I go and watch at her place and come back…!!!!!!!!!!1

      I want to OWN it !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! πŸ‘Ώ

  21. suranga says:

    I despair for the future of the nation. Sigh.

    So many people aiding and abetting the stealing of Kumble’s book from me, an innocent, law abiding, senior citizen..

    (Just trying to see if there are 11 people amongst all, so you can form an IPL team for next year , and practice, instead of troubling old ladies with prize books. )

    Hows “Unified Undhiyus” as a name for the Bharuch team ? πŸ™‚

    • hitchwriter says:

      Unified Undhiyu’s !!!!!!!!!!!!! sounds great… !!!!!!!!!

      I guess you need to visit me in December… somewhere in the Undhiyu season… seems you are in love with that dish !!!! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ It is made quite generously in the winter months… as people in my family are pretty crazy about it too !!! πŸ™‚

      bout innocent, law abiding, senior citizen… lol… you may be that… but then Goons feed on such easy preys !!!!!!!!! πŸ‘Ώ

Leave a Reply

