Navratri’s and eye candy !

Its Navratri time, this is one time, when Gujarat has a night life. The importance of which is being realised by me only now. I have been having a pretty jam packed schedule and have been working a bit late these days. Have not been able to spend a lot of time at home with my son or wife. Infact I just realised one day when I went home in the noon for watching the climax of the Mohali Test, that for the last two days, I had only been watching my son, when I get him ready in the morning and drop him and my wife, who works in the same school, at their bus and by the time I return home at 9.30-10.00 he is already asleep. 😐 Almost no time with my wife either, as I would have some or the other work that I would bring from office. Even if no work its like watch Tv and sleep !

A pretty tight, boring and taxing schedule. Then came Navratri, and going out with my wife every night for a few days and sitting listening to garba’s, eating awesome gujarati snacks (viz. khichu, locho, idla) and ofcourse watching chicks who all come dressed to kill !!!!! :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

Both me and wife, actually appreciate now, how important it is to have a night life, especially for working couples, a place, a joint to go to at night where people would be there and you can sit, chill, chit chat, have a snack or a drink and go home having vented your frustrations, having had some fun and having made some difference to the usually mundane life. The problem generally is we dont have restaurants that are open late night, plus even if you manage to find one, you cant find company every night. But thanks to the Navratri we have a great time atleast for 9 days. The other advantage of small town Bharuch where I and my wife grew up is that we feel very important when we go to the Garba’s for the simple reason that we find so many people who know us.

Be it the firm hand shake by old school buddies and teasing him about his pot-belly or “kem cho” to all adults or “kevu che bhai” or the young girls shrieking “HIIIIIIII” followed by “DhirenBHAI” πŸ˜₯ this incidentally sends a beaming bright smile to my wife’s face.

Apart from the small sad stories, its great to sit in the cold air, with winter approaching, listening to garba, and watching lovely lovely girls who dress at their best and discussing them or cricket or something else with friends and chit chatting and laughing is awesome. Invariably we manage to sneak in and find an advantageous position to sit (Influential, I am you see !!) For those who want to ask if I dance, no, I and my wife have two left feet and we resort to making fun of people who cant dance but still try… Yea we are pretty mean and I know … 😈 πŸ‘Ώ

After the first day, when I was finding spotting girls a lil difficult, I went to my friend who is an opthalmologist. I had been having a mild headache in the late evenings since a few days and also finding difficult to identify the 6 from the 9 when I was reading scores. Eventually after the check up I came to know I require -2 power in each eye !!!!!! I knew I needed glasses since long and had been avoiding it, but now I have a great head start !! 😦 😦 the doc told me to wear it all the times, which seems impossible, as I cant bear it !

As much as I wanted to have glasses when I was a kid in school to misguide my teachers that I was a studious guy, I dont want them now but have to wear them… 😐

My kid already calls me “Chashmish Chachu, Biladi nu Bachu” no I aint gonna translate that… I guess you figure…

Before I leave, here is a swinging shot of my friends who were revelling at the garba’s

46 thoughts on “Navratri’s and eye candy !

  1. Anonymously Disguised says:

    “After the first day, when I was finding spotting girls a lil difficult, I went to my friend who is an opthalmologist.” πŸ˜† I was just thinking what would have happened to your eyes if there was a ban on girls dancing during Navaratri? :mrgreen:

    • SultanBHAI says:

      Lol… I always knew I had glasses… but just didnt want them… !!! but then I realised I couldnt even spot girls who were eyeing me… and hence… !!!!

      Thank god for girls !!!!! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

  2. Ashwathy says:

    Looks you are having a fabulous time…enjoy! πŸ™‚ Much deserved relaxation…
    Ha ha ha….so quickly get ur glasses na…u will need sharp eye power to watch the girls right? πŸ˜‰ Only thing is they make start calling you ‘uncle’ after that… but nope i aint suggesting anything! πŸ™„

    the young girls shrieking β€œHIIIIIIII” followed by β€œDhirenBHAI” this incidentally sends a beaming bright smile to my wife’s face.
    LOL! πŸ˜€

  3. Gauri Gharpure says:

    πŸ˜€ for Hriday’s biladi nu bachchu bit.. welcome to the “spectacled” circle:) do wear the glasses regularly though, or the power will keep on increasing rapidly.. it’s so true abt garba being the only official nightlife time in gujarat.. really enjoyed the post, navratri photos the world over seem so similar, full of colors and verve and almost palpable energy..

    • SultanBHAI says:

      I got the glasses and am replying to this comment wearing them !!!!! I seriously dont think I can wear them for any length of time though.. !!!! sigh… I m such a fidgety person… phew…

      bout the garba… seriously, the only night life we have in Gujarat… you must be missing ahmedabad na ???

    • SultanBHAI says:

      I used to dance once upon a time… but that time I had to fall a girl… now that the girl has fallen me… Enough… I love watching people dance… but I just cant… ! πŸ˜›

  4. Smitha says:

    Navratri! Dhiren bhai’s favourite time of the year πŸ™‚
    It is such a fun time! I can imagine how much fun you guys must be having!

    And thank god for navratri – your eyes might never have been checked otherwise πŸ˜‰

  5. UmaS says:

    I love Garba….I so want to be there….Its so wonderful…the colors, the night, the music, the beautifully dressed ppl….oh so awesome !!!! πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

    But Hitch, why dont u go for contact lens ???? No one will know, u wear glasses…. πŸ˜‰ πŸ˜‰

    • UmaS says:

      That work routine of yours in the first para – that is the same story with hubby here….

      Atleast during Navrathri u realised the need for a time to be spent with wife and kid….. Hmmmm…… πŸ˜›

      • SultanBHAI says:

        Idly amma you should come over… I have a group of friends who dance like crazy and it would be fun to be with them… !!!!!

        Contact lens, sometime later, once I settle with the number !!!!

        the work schedule is killing… sigh… I sooooo want to retire !

  6. PNA says:

    I miss being in Gujarat 😦 …Had so much fun last year during Navarathri… hopping from one compound to the next after a round or two of dance after dinner every night.. envy you so much Hitch πŸ˜› πŸ˜› Enjaaaaaaaaaaaaaai

    • SultanBHAI says:

      in bharuch we dont have a concept of compound navratri… however we have some pretty giant scale navratra’s happening !!!! Infact Falguni Pathak this year is in Bharuch !

  7. Pallavi says:

    Awww…. that is so nice, and I am SOOOO DAMN JJJJJJJJJJJJJJJJJJJJJJJJJJJJJJJJ!!!!
    So Sultan Unkal is going to wear glasses huh? U know what? Choose the right frame, and it could add you tons of brownie points. Men in glasses do look a lot more hep than men without them πŸ˜‰
    BTw, Hitchy bhai, you’re insisting so much on ‘night life for couples’.. ahem.. ahem… kem che????!

    • Deeps says:

      “Choose the right frame, and it could add you tons of brownie points. Men in glasses do look a lot more hep than men without them” Echo Pal πŸ˜‰

  8. Count Bratula says:

    Phantommmmmmmmmmm? 😯

    I know u r just fooling evryone!! Ur eyes cant go weak!!u r the frikkin phantom who has the eye sight of 20 owls!!! I know.. iknow.. u r just trying to be inconspicuous to protect ur secret identity! πŸ˜› Am i right?

    dont worry my lips r sealed ..ur secret is safe with me ..oh ghost who walks!!

    πŸ™‚

  9. Deeps says:

    Sultan BHAI, when we meet, remind me to never dance in front of you & Hetal, ok?? πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

    This time of the year is my favorite too. I so miss being in India :(. Everything about this year feels so festive and positive.

    Thanks for sharing such a feel-good snap,SultanBHAI!

  10. Crafty Shines says:

    Oh! that snap! it’s dancing!!!!!!!! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

    gals call you BHAI??? are u sure they have not been “khilaoed” by Hetal in advance!!! 😈

    U make fun of ppl who can’t dance, but still try??!! che che hobbes… if u ever saw me dance in real life… well, i hope u haven’t got ur glasses on!!! πŸ˜†

    After the first day, when I was finding spotting girls a lil difficult, I went to my friend who is an opthalmologist.

    ROFL ROFL ROFL!!!!!!! Hobbessssssssss….. i have like flattened the ground beneath me, rolling about….oh man…this sentence ought to be framed!! FRAMED, i tell ya!!! πŸ˜†

    u have chashma and hate it?? so do i! πŸ˜₯ but wear it hitchu….. i didn’t and number badh gaya!! SOB!!! πŸ˜₯ *nose honking and eyeing hitchu’s festive sleeve*

    I remember u were missing this time last year….. and you’re here now!! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€
    have fun hobbes! ((((((((((((((((((hugs))))))))))))))

  11. Badz says:

    WoW! I guess you are working hard.
    Well Diwali is coming up soon. Next week in fact.
    So you can rest during that period. πŸ™‚

    OMG!!! You have glasses. I guess old age is catching up with you. Or shall we blame hard work and the amount of time you spend in front of the pc/laptop screen. Not to worry. You are not the only one that requires glasses. I believe Hetal wears them too.

    So do we get to see a pic with you in your glasses??? πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

