forget jawani what about the children…

Finally I did see the Sheila ki jawani video today on youtube… and it was not at all difficult to find. The tag line itself used to tell me it would be a raunchy number… yes.. the sms’ galore about munni competing with sheila, which bemused :-/ as I only saw a few glimpses of Munni song on TV. I still refuse to see Salman Khan movies and I will not watch his movies. *period* 😐

.

Anyways this is not about Salman, I was a lil intrigued when a friend told me his 6 year old daughter was going to perform on Sheila ki Jawani yesterday night at a Sangeet of a friends wedding. I had not seen the video but had this feeling this cant be a song for 6 year old.

.

Then when I see the whole family supporting the kid while she pulled of a really good performance on the song on the stage without any stage fear at all. The grand ‘pa and grand ‘ma were also there supporting and cheering her up.

.

I normally pride myself on being modern, but I was utterly confused, today after watching the video finally I think, its ok, its a raunchy number, katrina sizzles… people of my age will rave about it… but… I still cant come to terms with making a 6 year old watching that video again to teach the steps and then even pull off those steps on the stage… I even spotted the girls 2 year old cousin jumping about saying “chilla chilla”… 😐 😐 😐   seriously… maybe I am ageing or maybe I am finally discovering I am not that modern after all…

.

I mean the kids will eventually see all this et all but aren’t we supposed to atleast let them grow up a lil more before all this ??? … 😐

Since no kids read my blog, I will post the video of sheila ki jawani for folks who have not seen the video…

now … What do you gals & guys make of it…

24 thoughts on “forget jawani what about the children…

  1. Phoenixritu says:

    First????? Ummm I prefer Munni to Shiela, Munni is sleazy – but then that’s just me I guess. And no, I do not approve of little girls trying to gyrate like grown women totally at ease with their sexuality. It puts me off completely.

  2. Solilo says:

    I don’t know about others but my man is mighty impressed with Katrina Kaif’s belly dancin and booty shakin. I’m too.

    No comments on parents encouraging lil girls to gyrate on vulgar songs. 😐

    • Sraboney says:

      P.S. It’s harder and harder to keep children innocent these days and if it means stopping my daughter from watching/dancing to raunchy music, so be it…I bet she’ll stop listening to me in a couple of years and I dread that…

  3. Rakesh says:

    Forget the video, I was even worried that Yuvaan will ask me what does Jawani mean when he listens to the song on radio. I’m not very keen on him adding these words to his vocab just as yet.

    • Rakesh says:

      Believe it or not, as soon as I reach home today, Yuvaan and Hayaa are trying to sing the song… And then Yuvaan asks me “Pappa, Sheila means?” And I’m sure as soon as I tell him, he’ll ask “Jawani means?” he he…

      But then again, I think, we might be taking this a bit too seriously. I mean, the things kids are exposed to these days is mind boggling. It isn’t fair to expect them to grow up just like we did, with DD being the only TV we could watch. I think, with a little bit of care, things will sort themselves out… hopefully.

  4. Smitha says:

    You know, you have said everything I wanted to say on this topic! I cannot, for the world understand the parents who let their children watch songs like this, and encourage them to dance to them! There are bollywood dancing classes here- where I am suite sure the dances are going to be something like this, and people compete to send their children! The only Indian channel I watch is NDTV, and even on that movie trailers or songs crop up, and some are so inappropriate for children. Thankfully, we are very strict TV times for Poohi, so she does not come in contact with all these songs – but for how long? How long will we be able to keep her insulated?

  5. Usha Pisharody says:

    Dhiren, very pertinent post! I too cannot imagine how parents encourage their child to dance to a song, that would, in the first place have very inappropriate content for a young child!

    But then, do we have children anymore? Or miniature adults, most of them! Sad!

  6. Sandhya says:

    It is scary, Dhiren! Nowadays, children do not go out and play street cricket instead sit at home glued to the TV. Parents also think that there is no point in controlling them ‘if they don’t see this song here, they will watch in their friend’s house…nothing is new in this song’!

    We are vulgar than foreigners. I saw my relative child talk about gay, the other day.

  7. Crafty Shines says:

    Sheesh!!!

    I know the exasperation. A colleague one told me of a participant in some popular reality dance show for kids, a girl of 6 or 7, was dancing on an “item” number. What was worse, and also pointed out by judges, was that she had expressions similar to what a grown woman would have, the one who really understood the lyrics. Story gets more upsetting when they ask who trained her to come on stage…and it was her dad.

    If this is the criteria for being “forward” & modern, then count me in as an ancient relic.

    • Ashwathy says:

      Was just coming to comment on this 😐
      Little girls wear weird and vulgar costumes and gyrate to songs and lyrics meant for people triple their age. And worse, parents encourage kids to take this route. I mean hello!! 😐 whatever to letting kids live with their innocence??? Sheesh!

      There is too much exposure with media in this world and hence kids today know way more things than the earlier generation did at that age. The 7 year old kid was called ‘sexy’ in Amitabh Bachchan’s ‘Cheeni Kum’. I am wondering why more ppl did not react to it … 😐

  8. Minal says:

    Hitchy,

    You echoed my thoughts! I’m mighty impressed with Katrina’s improved dancing skills in the number but if I had a daughter aged 6 wanting to gyrate to this number – let’s she would learn early lessons in being “grounded”. But in this day and age when parents are trying ot be uber cool – encouraging kids to dance to raunchy popular numbers is just one those things u do to “fit in” I guess!

    Yes I’m old fashioned in that sense and you have my company on this bit:-)

    Btw just read Sagarika’s post – HAPPY Birthday!

  9. Bindu says:

    Sometimes I feel I am from an ancient generation. Totally agree with you.
    I remember a 10 year old kid singing a very raunchy song in one of the reality shows..you can see it all around. It is as if parents are not bothered about children being children, all they want is instant fame and money too.

  10. monikamanchanda says:

    its not about being modern this is not being modern this is being stupid… u said what I wanted to say

    and these things and ads and the voilence in the TV are the main reasons I dont let ojas watch any TV

  11. Bikram says:

    Completely agree with you on this, Not good ,, especially at that young age.. kids are so Impressionalbe they take it to be norm… Its easier to make them undestand now then when they grow up, if they think this is norm then what will they do whne they are grown up…

    No kids shud not be doing such things, vulgarity is vulgar end of..

    I hope god gives sense to such paretns who think that way …

    Bikram’s

  12. Govin says:

    Its complete irresponsibility of Parents. Its what the kid will think about the life tomorrow. Kids are growing with these understandings / life lessons from these stupid realty shows in tvs, cine stars life and today’s cinema. Parents dont realize whats the impacts its making in kids in coming years.

    Its complete responsibility of Parents.

Leave a Reply

