the thing about world cups…

First things first, it feels awesome to be the World Champs !!!! Its a totally different feeling but very difficult to describe innit ??

Congratulations to all Indians and most importantly to Dhoni and his men for it was their sweat, their hardwork that paid off and they sit on the top of ODI crickets biggest trophy as champions !!!! 😀 😀 😀

There are a plethora of re-runs, news analysis and what not… on one channel though just heard Javagal Srinath speaking on a news channel that it was the 1983 world cup victory by Kapil’s Devil’s that inspired him to take on the game most seriously and dream about playing the game on the higest level and he hopes this triumph by Dhoni’s Blue Bleeding boys would inspire even more…

In 1983 I was a 6 year old barely understanding the game, no I dont remember anything about that cup, but it was the 1985-86 World Series in Australia that we won, Ravi Shashtri becoming Champion of Champions and winning the Audi stuck in my brain, watching Kapil and Vengsarkar chase down a tense victory against the Kiwis in the Semi’s was I think the first time I actually watched a match till the end. That day and today I have never looked back, Cricket is my first love and nothing comes between it, its one romance that will not end.

Now, in my house there are 4 crazy lovers in me, my two brothers and my father, we have a simple rule in our house, when India is playing and LIVE cricket is being telecast, only that will be played on TV or else the remote will be in the control of the ladies in the house !!!!

As time went on, I had a kid and he started growing and in general he was the one who would get all the preference in the house. Now this kid at 5 would want to watch Chhota Bheem at 5pm and if Sachin or Sehwag would be batting at that time, he couldnt care less… ! That meant arguments with his father and his general dislike towards cricket.

I and my brothers would ask him to play with us in the garden but he would refuse. It was slightly disappointing to see he didnt like cricket. After all we all had not fulfilled our dreams of becoming a cricketer and would have loved to see him do that.

Then comes the World Cup, there are advertisement campaigns notably the Pepsi ad’s,

The Ungli mein Tingli by Harbhajan
The Palti Hit by Kevin Pietersen
The Upar Cut by Sehwag
Slinga Malinga
The Pallu Shot by Dilshan
&
The Helicopter shot by the Captain of Cool

and these ad’s if anything capture the attention of the kids like anything, then starts the process of identifying the players and waiting for them to do their published thing !!!

Recently my son forgot his tennis ball in school and I heard him telling his Mom… (in gujarati ofc)

“I forgot my ball at school, now how will I play cricket, without cricket there is nothing in my life !”

You cannot imagine the joy I experienced on hearing that and the exasperation of my wife on discovering a budding new cricket fan in the house.

This world cup has been a great occasion and I have still got to write my article on the victory but its been most joyful to find that junior is going Cricket’s way… ! I know I should never force him to do something he doesnt want to do… BUT I SO SO SO HOPE HE TAKES TO CRICKET !!!!! 😀 😀

9 thoughts on “the thing about world cups…

  1. Swaram says:

    Like Zak, gauti and others r still saying, it is still sinking in 😛
    Su will be every happy to read this 😉 Ofcourse, I am too 😉

  2. Rakesh says:

    he he, I hope my son catches some of the excitement that he witnessed while watching the matches with me. All he says these days is ‘Wicket chala gaya pappa’ coz. he saw how happy we were on every fall of wicket in the game against Pakistan. And he means it literally went away and then he’ll ask – ‘Pappa, wicket kahan chala gaya?’

    what did he exactly say in gujarati? that’ll surely be funny. Please reproduce verbatim 🙂

  3. Sandhya says:

    Your header is beautiful, Dhiren!

    I remember Kapil Devils too! Our house was full of my husband’s friends and all of them were shouting together, clapping together and our Andy was barking, rotating on his two legs, standing up! He had never seen men barking like him!

    Whenever I see Audi, I remember Ravi shastri and his men, doing the rounds in the ground…10-11 men in one car, waving from all sides of the car!

    Your son must be winning and watching Bheem!

    He might develop interest, if his friends are interested in the game, in school!

    Your son said that? Great! First step is taken, now wait! All the best!

  4. UmaS says:

    LOL !!! If u keep shouting hoarse abt Cricket every second, your son will think that CRICKET is the stuff, this World is made up of…. 😉 My heart goes out to that little boy’s mom. 🙂

    Of course, me too loved the Pepsi ads…. 😀 😀

Leave a Reply

