just another day in my life..

pink hues…

misty cold morning…

bathed in cream…

hair oiled to the scalp ! :-/

neatly dressed…

polished shoes…

spik and span…

we wait…

for our yellow bus…

Abdul chacha is late…

thankfully Dipansh aint…

Hi 5 !

 

The winter school times are so much more fun, when you wake up the lil one he is like, “please let me sleep 3 mins!” It seriously feels like a criminal to be waking him at an unearthly hour. But once through his early morning tantrums the winter fills him up with energy and gusto. Although not really that cold this year so far, the winter pleasantness is surely there. A sneeze here and gulping the milk there… Talking about the latest experiment on static electricity and promising to show it to me once he is back from school, the lil one now has his hands full.

 

The only struggle we have is to nourish him properly, the tiffin on most days is enjoyed by friends and eating is clearly not our favourite hobby unless its Bhindi where infact we have to stop him from over eating ala me !! Once back from school the most painful exercise is to sit in one place and finish his meal, butter milk and water are required after every morsel and once that is all done, we are at the wall with the ball in our hand and bowling to it and catching the rebounds.

 

Every student that comes to my mom for tutions cannot go back home unless he spends half an hour playing cricket with junior ! Whether older than him or younger than him it doesnt matter.ย  An hour in the evening is reserved by his mother for some school work and then its back to the garden and cricket, if the other kids rebel and play soccer then we will not play and fold our hands and abjectly complaint but alas… no one to help ! Eventually either we succeed in persuading all others to play cricket or eventually become the goal keeper !

 

There is so much physical activity that ensuring his nourishment is a task, luckily he has a sweet tooth and dry fruits find their way through that and if the friends eat together, everything gets chewed up and no nautanki happens. Its quite amazing how they do so much drama when alone about food and eat the same food and even jostle for it when with friends. This logic will never be understood by me.

 

The cricket bug has bitten us so hard, we dig the cricinfo statistics and find out bizarre information, bizarre enough to have Dad stumped by 2 feet !!!! Yes, we do watch repeat episodes of Chhota Bheem & Lil Krishna with equal gusto each time… slowly we are chucking the books and story books too… even while watching cartoon we must keep bowling to the wall, the sofa’s have to make way for the new bowling sensation that is about to happen !!!! :-/

 

Evening dinner is one task difficult to evade as Daddy is around and tantrums not allowed or else no cricket ! Late evenings are a little boring if no one is ready to play badminton and all adults want to watch TV or use the internet. Crorepati was one program that was kind of cajoling to the curiosity but since that stopped it aint as much fun on TV… and Daadi doesnt allow to watch Man vs Wild as the Jain in her gets the creeps when Bear decides to eat for survival !!!

 

However we sleep early at 9 and that helps shun the boredom… the next morning begins at 6 !!! ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚

 

a few technical issues to be sorted like keeping the eye on the batsman and bowling from behind the stumps and keeping away from the danger zone... otherwise we are shaping up well to bolster India's bowling attack in future !!!!

 

 

26 thoughts on “just another day in my life..

  1. Usha Pisharody says:

    Awww.. enjoy each moment you have with him! And he will relive each of it with his own later ๐Ÿ™‚
    It’s really not very difficult to understand why kids who have little company do not eat as they should, but with friends or a group, eat heartily :). Don’t we? Time flies, when all of us eat together, and one enjoys each morsel more!
    Ah! Daddy’s the stern one is it? But I am sure that he loves you all the more for it :D!
    Loved this chronicle ๐Ÿ™‚

    • hitchy says:

      I aint the stern one at all, but yes, when feeding him is concerned I aint gullible like the others, I dont let him divert attention at all I just keep saying EAt EAt EAT !!!

  2. R's Mom says:

    Oh he is so sweet! I loved the way he is trying to be like a professional in that picture…and Bhindi is a favorite is it…whats with the Gujarat kids…they eat only Bhindi or what..even R is like him..eats only Bhindi..baaki sab..natak ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Deeps says:

    Its so much fun to wach our kids grow, isnt it? So is that Hriday doing a la Abdul Qadir( did I get that bowler’s name right?I used to love his bowling style ๐Ÿ˜€ )?

    Oh I so so hate to wake Namnam up early in the morning, when it is winter and when I see her huddled inside the quilt, sleeping peacefully I hate it even more so :(.

    Feeding is much of a concern my end too. Its great that hriday loves dryfruits!

    Its good that he has ample opportunities and drive to play outside as against sitting at home glues to the tv or tapping away on computer games.

    Very nice and a feel-good post, Hitchy! Good to read you again after so long ๐Ÿ™‚

    • hitchy says:

      WAking up kids and feeding them… guess its a perennial problem everywhere !!! ๐Ÿ˜›

      and yes that Qadir name is right… he had a lovely action… and it was classic fun watching him bowl and Ravi Shashtri dancing down the track and smack him over the ropes !

      He does play computer games and tv when there is rain or when other kids not around… but if there is a chance to play outdoors that is a preferred medium… I dont stop him from computer games as I and my brother both are equally addicted !!!! ๐Ÿ˜› but he hasnt taken that route yet… !

  4. Swaram says:

    Total Hitchu-style post after a long time ๐Ÿ˜€ Loved it! I am already dreaming of the day when I can tell ppl ‘ Oh that awesome and cute bowler, I hv seen him since his chaddi days’ ๐Ÿ˜‰

  5. Anonymously Disguised says:

    Ha…so that means I don’t have to wait in Q to get the dad’s autograph, after all :mrgreen: It’s Hriday I need to concentrate on ๐Ÿ˜‰

    How come he didn’t inherit your love for food? ๐Ÿ˜ฅ I really wish he does get it one day though. I love to feed kids who eat everything ๐Ÿ˜›

    Btw when I started reading your post, I was giggling so hard imagining you covered in cream and oil in your hair ๐Ÿ˜ณ

    Ps: I can so imagine Hriday as a star and girls screaming and fainting, every time he makes an appearance ๐Ÿ™‚

    • hitchy says:

      He does have a Hitchyesque appetite when Bhindi is made… but other than that… sigh… !!! He is made to eat everything though and no special treatment… yes he is fed sweets that we all are not supposed to eat but other than that… he eats almost all… !

      I have not oiled my hair in the last 20 years ! ๐Ÿ˜

  6. Crafty Shines says:

    God, touchwood! Are you finally happy, hitchu, after all the “my son doesn’t take any interest in cricket” days? ๐Ÿ˜€

    It’s time to get him one of those team tees with his name written at the back!! unless he doesn’t have one already!

    Btw, I so feel like migrating to your town, like forever!
    I’m ready to play with Hriday, if he has some patience with Crafty aunty missing all his bowling deliveries and smiling like this – :mrgreen:

    Hugs!

  7. Scribby says:

    why do kids his age love Bhindi so much? My niece is a big fan of Bhindi and my younger sister loved/s bhindi to the hilt! ….not that I don’t but I’ve noticed it’s children this age bracket do love Bhindi compulsorily!

    Hitchy,your son and not a food-o-holic? :shocked:

Leave a Reply

