Detoxified ! :P

I dont know if you have heard of Bell’s Palsy, I never had !

What started as wifey complaining of “aankh phadakna” and jokes followed citing I am going to have it… it increased, we thought to ignore but within 24 hours it seemed like her face was crooked, we eventually rushed to our family doc and she insisted we go to a Physican and that she suspected Facial nerve paralysis, she assured us it had nothing to do with diabetes and it was viral and most importantly she repeated quite a few times looking at us gaping that it was fully recoverable !!!!

Almost all the doctor’s which I knew and our Physician all calmed our nerves down that it was totally recoverable, just requires a few steroids, anti-virals and multi vitamins with regular Physiotherapy. So began the ordeal, thankfully wifey started showing signs of improvement after 1 week and now after 6 odd weeks almost no one can spot her Palsy, although still 95% recovered she has now stopped Physiotherapy and medicines both ! πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

About last week or so I thought since so many steroids and antivirals have gone in maybe in her christmas vacation she should do some detox diet of sorts, searching on the net was slightly boring and difficult and I posted my request on FB and while Tara gave me a rather interesting suggestion, I bailed out… but hey our blogsphere is kind and I managed to get hold of our veri own Desi cook Sangeeta to plan a detox that was totally customised as per our Dosha !!! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

I didn’t know Sangeeta was so much into the food stuff, it became clear that cooking being an interest and a hobby apart, she is quite good and knows a lot about food and when I say a lot I mean A LOT !

Actually I didn’t really want to go on a Detox diet as my taste buds are way too greedy, however, it was important I would do it to encourage wifey along the way and get all the med’s flushed out. Sangeetha was kind enough to not just make a diet plan to detox, she also took the pain to ask everyday what were our likes dislikes, what were the veggies, grains we could manage what we couldnt and whats more she even took the pain to bow to my WHIMS !!! πŸ˜› πŸ˜› πŸ˜›

Sangeeta actually does specialize and pursues making Personalized Diet Plans for all those who you want a nice workable and personalised diet plan for themselves with weight loss targets or for diabetes friendly lifestyle or for a heart friendly plate πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ So if you are looking for some discipline in your life and at the same time dont want to disappoint your taste buds just ping her !!!!

The best part of the diet plan was that it was filled with food that was delicious, infact most things for us were new and since I and wifey love experimenting and trying new things we loved it !!! πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ Some of the dishes like Greenbeans stir fried and fruit chaat’sΒ  were favourites for everyone else at home who weren’t even on the Detox Plan ! πŸ˜› πŸ˜› πŸ˜›

Not only the guts were scrubbed and flushed they were even soothed and then made to top class ! By the end of the week we both felt lighter, better, cleaner and I even thought my skin was improving !!!! Lol I actually felt I was turning a bit GORA !!!! :mrgreen: I am colour obsessed !!!! πŸ˜› Whilst our goal was not at all to lose weight, I actually I just measured my weight today that I am 1.5 kgs lighter ! πŸ˜€ The best part of the diet was at no point was I hungry, infact at times it would seem like I am full do I really have to eat that πŸ˜› πŸ˜› πŸ˜› !!!!

and now that I have totally Detoxed !!!! πŸ˜‰ its time to Dive into a Chocolate icing !!!! πŸ˜› πŸ˜› πŸ˜› πŸ˜› I know… I can see Sangeeta #FACEPALM !!!! but well…. The ghost can’t stop eating all and sundry !!!! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

31 thoughts on “Detoxified ! :P

  1. R's Mom says:

    Gosh! thats pretty scary eh?

    but loved the way both of you overcame it..

    I love Sangeeta’s blog mainly because of the lovely tasty ‘healthy’ dishes she dishes out…I mostly try the sweets and the lapsi based items from her blog…

    she is so adorable asking you what you like and all that…

    1.5 kg weight loss…super nice news eh?

    now can you please parcel some undhiyu for me from Bharuch…its just not there in Mumbai 😦

    wishing you and family a very happy new year πŸ™‚

    • hitchy says:

      some of the things I was hesitant about, but my wifey encouraged me to atleast try it and thank god for that… I discovered new dishes and sometimes actually mentioned they be included in our regular diet ! πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      Undhiyu you want ?? πŸ˜› πŸ˜› maybe when I visit mumbai in Uttrayan I should bring ti myself πŸ˜›

  2. sangeetakhanna says:

    Aaah…totally detoxed…I still suspect you sneaked in some white bread sandwiches and heavily iced cakes in between πŸ˜‰

    And to tell you the truth, I never bow down to whims …it’s just that the challenge of making the diets workable even with some temptations in between is more fun to do. I believe you learn to live with healthy eating for life only when you allow little temptations and learn to overcome them and later realize they were not worth….especially when good (read healthy) food is so tasty and satisfying.

    Am so happy to see you adapt to healthy eating as a family…this is how it becomes a lifestyle. And thanks for such lovely words.

    • hitchy says:

      now you didnt have to bring that here na… !!! geee… your a tough master to please !!! πŸ˜› πŸ˜› but maa kasam I had no iced cakes !!! only a sandwich once !!!!

      The fact that you didnt ever show a single sign of irritation at my whims was the one most encouraging factor that kept me going !!!! πŸ˜€ Thank god for your patience πŸ˜€

    • hitchy says:

      Dunno it seems the disease is idiopathic no real proper cause was identified, yes my wife goes to school in a bus everyday morning and sits near teh door which was changed after this… but not really sure if that was the only reason… !!!

      sleep well she has too much of it… dunno if that causes it :mrgreen:

  3. Smitha says:

    That must have been such a massive scare for you guys. Glad to know that she is fine now. Touchwood.

    I am tempted to go on a detox diet too. We visited some friends for New Years Eve, and they started a detox diet yest, and truth be told, I loved the taste of the juice they made- yum!!!! I feel tempted when I remember that taste πŸ™‚ and now reading your post, I am even more tempted πŸ™‚

      • Smitha says:

        Will hop there right now. Just one question, are you allowed tea/coffee? Coz I get terrible headaches without my morn cup… but that beats the purpose of a detox, na 😦

        • sangeetakhanna says:

          Smitha…for me personalising the plan is to consider all your difficulties and weaknesses and making you overcome them the best possible way. It is more of a psychological conditioning too and I try and make the person learn to tackle the difficulties one by one.

            • sangeetakhanna says:

              You need not stop your morning coffee Smitha…the one thing which kick starts our day can be a mood uplifting time and i don’t favor such sacrifices…other things through the day can be corrected for good results. Like you can switch to a complex carbs diet and chose natural soluble fiber in your diet. There are worse things we eat than tea and coffee during the day.

  4. Meira says:

    That was a great idea, Hitchy, to detoxify. I’ve been asked to change my diet too. It’s made me feel lighter and fitter, and I’m surprised that I don’t even miss the old stuff that I’ve stopped eating!
    But PS: Are we all growing old now? Medical conditions and all! YIKES!!! πŸ˜‰

  5. Pingback: Detoxified ! :P |
  6. Ashwathy says:

    Glad things are back to normal hitchy πŸ™‚

    And yes I need to contact Sangeeta…. I definitely need a customised diet plan. Exercising alone is not enough! πŸ˜›

  7. Saritha says:

    Never heard of Bell’s palsy and by reading it i felt it to be scary.Good that she is fine now.

    I frequently browse sangeetha’s blog for healthy recipes,i love her blog.

  8. Vimmuuu says:

    Happy to hear about your wifey ! Oh wait, happy isnt the right word, but you know what I mean, na? Donno how people can come up with consolation words !

    and now stop being selfish and publish the detox plan over here, will ya ? πŸ˜›

    • hitchy says:

      Lol that recipe is customised for my Dosha and whims… and hence not sharing here !!! you ping Sangeeta and sing her a song adn I bet you will have a plan for youself ! πŸ™‚

  9. Sandhya says:

    Good to know that Hetal feels better now! Bless Sangeetha!

    I hope you will continue with the diet, you seem to be happy with the food prescribed to you both! You will become 100% Gora too!

  10. Amrita says:

    it really must have been quite a scare for you and your wife. Happy to know that she has recovered fully. πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

    We seriously need more people like Sageeta in the health care sector πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

