Finally the calendar fits in :)

I have almost lost my patience to read books. Its been ages since I read a book. I never even read reviews forget writing one. So you might find this a little naïve but then all stuff here is always rather naïve ! Actually its not a review, its what I felt…

 

I have just finished “A Calender too Crowded” by Sagarika ! Yes, my calendar and her calendar both are quite crowded.. 😛 Mine is full of travel and meeting blog buddies ! Coming back to Sagarika’s calendar, well initially I frankly had apprehensions reading it, I knew she was dealing with issues females were faced with.  In general I keep away from serious / grave / tragic stuff. I mean having to run to earn money everyday is tragic enough 😛 so if I have to pick up books or movies they have to entertain me and certainly not churn the inside of me.

 

A Calender too Crowded up for sales... !

 

I knew this novel was on the lines of churning you a bit and making you sit up and ask a question. But after reading it I firmly believe every one should read this book. The simple reason is our mental conditioning while growing up has left us oblivious to so many things, it is these very simple things that need to change. I earlier always used to wonder why there are so many bloggers who talk of women issues and now understand exactly why they should. Story telling is a compelling way to make people understand the view point of others. When confronted with views we tend to contest them or run away from them, but when Sagarika tells you the same in the form of stories you feel for the protagonist in the story and actually understand the thing the author wants to tell you.

 

Its for this simple reason to go inside the soul and then think and then question. It is this great skill that I admire the author for 🙂

 

Some stories brought tears to my eyes and yet then at some joyous moments I would be like brimming with smiles. You know girl, you had me like my granny had me when she told me her fairy tales, the stories wanted me hoping for a better world, they scared me at times and made me really wonder if we humans are really the superior species on the planet.

 

Yea this lawyer cum barbeque roaster cum ISBian cum chatterbox can actually weave a few tales and not only did they keep me intrigued to finish it. Trust me I have not been able to finish books for years now so this is actually a pretty big achievement ! Yea bigger than any other award you get… I know you will probably go for your sandal but… well… 😛 Frankly I have not read a novel completely after Jason Bourne Series that too about 4 years back so… well…. now that I actually finished the book does tell you something about the author and the story she has too tell 🙂

 

Jokes apart and no digressing but I recommend this sincere effort in making people realize the thoughts that might be going on in female minds. May be all guys should read this novel just to get a hang of the thought processes in the other half that exists and understand them a little better. With time I think we have gone from bad to worse, its time to change…

 

The stereotyping and social conditioning we have been through needs more and more people like Sagarika to come out and tell these stories.

 

 

19 thoughts on “Finally the calendar fits in :)

  1. deviantwave says:

    Woaaaahhhh u know what I loved the most the “bar-b-que roaster” tag … 😛

    Thank you Dhiren, it would be cliched to say that you made my day – but trust me I loved these lines that got me brimming ear to ear – “May be all guys should read this novel just to get a hang of the thought processes in the other half that exists and understand them a little better. With time I think we have gone from bad to worse, its time to change…”

    • hitchy says:

      I dont know if you actually liked the review… I have never reviewed books… ! Its kinda my experience of reading and its difficult for me to not tell the entire story of your book here ! 🙂

  2. R's Mom says:

    I am still searching for this book in the library..every blogger I read has recommended this…abhi toh I have to get this one!

    thanks for the reco

  3. Deeps says:

    Dhiren, this is one of the best reviews I have read in a while. I so so want to read the book! Unfortunately am yet to get hold of it. Can’t wait to reach home so I can pick it up!

  4. Smitha says:

    Hitchy – I agree with Deeps! The best review I have read in a while! Straight frm the heart! So waiting to get hold of ths book. The first thing I’ll once in India is read this 🙂

  5. UmaS says:

    Thats such a lovely honest review – of course, just like ur other honest posts… 🙂

    Really loved the way you’ve put it across… :))

  6. Nancy says:

    “The simple reason is our mental conditioning while growing up has left us oblivious to so many things, it is these very simple things that need to change.”

    This bit is soo true….in our country we have a chalta hai attitude which we really need to work on.

    Ur review is good….u r making me curious esp when u say stuff like “I have almost lost my patience to read books. Its been ages since I read a book. I never even read reviews forget writing one.” And then say how much u liked this book 😮

    I was anyways planning to buy it when I go to India but now I’m going to look for somebody coming to Dubai to get this book for me 🙂

Leave a Reply

