Pankhon ko hawa zara si lagne do…

It was on 1st May last year when after a meeting in office where I felt unreasonable firing was given to our Sales team by our as impractical boss as there can be, I went home and told my wife, I have had enough, I want to chuck this job, and today !! I was pissed off and although you should never take decisions when you are emotional and I wanted to do exactly that.

.

She was probably stunned but didn’t show, she knew I didn’t like the job much, it was a stop gap job to move to Bharuch first and find another in a Bank perhaps, but things were not working out there. She listened and told me think it over and decide. I told her, getting a job in an Insurance company if things didnt work out independently was 1o mins job. I must take this chance. I will also do some content writing and somehow make it up. She told me if you really feel confident and are sure go ahead. She just had got permanent in her school job and promised full support if a crisis arose. Those were just the words I wanted to hear at that point. At most times in my life for all decisions and changes I made I have had a lovely companion who has always supported and stood by my decisions even the wrong ones ๐Ÿ™‚ God bless her ๐Ÿ™‚

.

Since ours is a joint family next to be informed in line were my Mom and brothers and they all also thought it was upto me to decide and hence the resignation was written the same day and the notice period began !

.

Luckily I was a Mutual Fund Advisor and my previous boss in Max New York Life had encouraged me to do the side business even though I was doing this job. I had got good business during the year. Even the impractical boss was an investor with me. Every colleague of mine was worried how can I survive on Mutual Fund selling. In 2011 there were 85000 Mutual Fund distributors in India of which only 14000 odd were active. Meaning only they did new business every month. The commissions in the mutual fund industry had dwindled and lots of distributors who now do business actually charge the customer for the service they provide.

.

Unlike my job here I was not bound to sell just one product but had to actually use my brains to find out the best product. I was not tied to one company no longer did I have to squash my guilt of selling an inferior product well knowing that there were a lot of better options available in the market. When someone asks you what do you think is the best alternative I would blurt the truth and sales would not be concluded as my product had many superior products in the market. Insurance as an industry in India works on basis of getting investments, where as reality is one should never invest in Insurance. With that naked truth in my mind it was terribly difficult to sell insurance. I didn’t actually have to sell, get it sold by others but most of the times the others would put me in front of the client and when the client would look at me and ask is this the best I couldn’t help it. It was killing me.

.

Eventually thanks to my wife I managed to chuck the job off and started my own firm. A few things I had decided to do not to sell products that give high commission as they are invariably not good for the investor. Hoping and praying that the low commission product selling would eventually do the customers good and they would refer me. Another very important and to many, including my wife, a strange decision was to not do any direct marketing. I decided I will not ask people to buy from me unless they seek my advice. In this market everyone is out to sell financial products and so much mis-selling has happened that a lot of consumers have completely lost faith and when anyone comes to sell anything to them direct they are most apprehensive. I used to work as a free lancer before I shifted to Indore so I had a client base earlier. The only bit of marketing I did was to sms people about the products available in the market from time to time and if anyone got interested and called that is when I was to get cracking.

.

The most anxious moment of my life has perhaps now passed. Today one year down the line I am a lot more relaxed and assured of myself. Thankfully the investors have opened their wallets and so far so good. I now have enough time to look after the extension work going on at my house or be with my son to play cricket when he wants, or cook a new recipe I see on a cooking blog. I can now help at home whenever I want to and can take a break when I want to ๐Ÿ™‚

.

Most importantly I like my work now, for the first time in my life I don’t loathe at work. I go out to meet people drink tea with them, have lunch with them, talk about my travel or my blog and show some of them how to work on facebook and they invest with me. Many times I have no work and I just go out to the city to show my faces to all sorts of people and they suddenly remember they have so and so money lying which they would like to invest ๐Ÿ™‚ Like Rocket Singh says always give your customers more than they expect. In a time when people are charging a fee and giving no service I don’t charge any fee and try my best to keep my investors happy ๐Ÿ™‚ Their satisfaction has ensured the volume of business has gone up and the miniscule commission that the MF’s pay is sufficing. ๐Ÿ™‚

.

So far I have been working from home but I hope to rope in another guy as a partner and look forward to opening an office next year. Touchwood but this is slowly but surely starting to work out. Travel is now so much easier,ย trips are now happening at the frequency I love and looks like more and more trips beckon ๐Ÿ˜€ ๐Ÿ˜€ ๐Ÿ˜€ ๐Ÿ˜€ I can take breaks impromptu and being a reasonably greedy guy is helping settle things in life for the first time. I know I shouldn’t be counting my chickens yet, this is only the beginning.

.

This song has been an inspiration and I want to dedicate it to my wife who is vacationing in Pune. ๐Ÿ™‚

Lets now sms her to read this post. I am sure a smile and a lot more beckons when I reach Pune to meet her tomorrow ๐Ÿ™‚ It would not have happened without you sweetheart ๐Ÿ™‚ โค

12 thoughts on “Pankhon ko hawa zara si lagne do…

  1. deviantwave says:

    it always pays to have that someone who makes you believe in your dreams by holding your hand in times of doubt and says “go for it’, right?
    Hugs to wifey for inspiring you to fly … n Hitchy bhai trust me this is just the beginning to a beautiful life ahead! Amen! ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. R's Mom says:

    Awwww! If I tell you I find the whole post so totally romantic, I know you will laugh at me..but I do..I find it totally romantic..big big hugs to your wife..and I am sure you will do superb ahead..all the best..

    and oh Hitchy..with this post you actually made me believe in this saying which says ‘Behind every successful man, there is a loving (and smart and financially independent) woman’ ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Deeps says:

    Aww that’s so so wonderful hitchy that you found your calling and took the plunge to follow your heart! And all this seems so much more worthwhile when you have such a supportive and understanding partner beside you, doesn’t it! So glad for you & Hetal! Touchwood! And wish you the very best in life ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Saritha says:

    You are lucky few who are not forced to do what they don’t like.And to get a life partner who said yes to do what you love to do,a special hugs to hetal…..

    Happy for you and a happy post from your heart….

    All the best for your future…

  5. Smita says:

    I always admire people who have the guts to leave a cushioned job and take a risk. I guess what is needed is will power & support from family coupled with positive attitude. Good that things are workign out for you ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. ASHOK M VAISHNAV says:

    The story reads like a dream story, where you wake up at the wrong moment.
    I wish there more and more of conscientious adviors in the field of Fianacial Products.

  7. Ashwathy says:

    Hobbes!!! ๐Ÿ˜€ ๐Ÿ˜€ ๐Ÿ˜€ We made it!!!

    Remember??? Two years back…. we were telling each other…..my personal life and your professional one would all fall into place around the same time?? Good things happen to good people. ๐Ÿ™‚

    In fact ironic timing of this post!! I was just telling hubby dear a couple of days back about how far back our friendship goes and how we met and all that. Your post once again took me down the memory lane!! ๐Ÿ˜€ ๐Ÿ˜€ Talk about telepathy!! Hugsssssssssssss!!!!!!!!

  8. pixie says:

    I agree with ash – good things happen to good people!
    you deserve the happiness and the confidence! ๐Ÿ™‚

    And special hugs to Hetal! Its always great to have someone support you and understand you and help you realise your dreams! ๐Ÿ™‚

    big hugs! and always wishing you more success and much more happiness!! ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

