Are we becoming an increasingly intolerant democracy ?

Will sanity ever prevail on this planet, in my country ?

I have nothing to do or say about the death of Bal Thackrey. I don’t even know what he has done for the Marathi Manoos !? No.. and I don’t want to discuss his life or his doings. The only think that appalled me and has always done is the way the reactions were by the people who didn’t like a particular FB update. When I actually discovered the FB update I couldn’t agree more. The update has no malice against Bal Thackrey, it only merely is a reflection of the state of mind of a person who lives in Mumbai that she is being forced to to shut down.

Weirdly enough the authorities proved that the girl was right by arresting her!! Actually if anyone the Sainik’s should be pissed off with it should be those who arrested the Girl and not her uncle for sure ! :-/

Before anything else I would like the court to ask some seriously grim questions to all those who were involved in her arrest and actually ask them to explain to the court what was the crime the girl committed that she be arrested and she be forced to even seek a bail. Unnecessarily controversies are raked because it seems people are becoming increasingly intolerant to any view that doesn’t necessarily agree with them. Tolerance it seems is at its all time low.

This harmless update on FB led to the arrest of a girl and another girl who liked the update.

No I have no business with Mumbai being shut or open, it doesn’t affect me. Nor is that girl on my friends list in FB but then I read this poem by Martin Niemöller on Ritu’s blog and I realised I must not let this pass…

When the Nazis came for the communists,
I remained silent;
I was not a communist.

When they locked up the social democrats,
I remained silent;
I was not a social democrat.

When they came for the trade unionists,
I did not speak out;
I was not a trade unionist.

When they came for the Jews,
I remained silent;
I wasn’t a Jew.

When they came for me,
there was no one left to speak out.

//

10 thoughts on “Are we becoming an increasingly intolerant democracy ?

  1. Indian Homemaker says:

    Please watch this video, http://khabar.ndtv.com/video/show/prime-time/255498

    “har aadmi apna level sochna chahiye, tippani kahan karna chahiye, kahan naheen karna chahiye To aise chote chote logon ko tippani karne ke liye bilkul izazat naheen honi chahiye Unke ghar ke logon ne, achche logon ne unhe samjhana chahiye …bade aadmi par tippani karne se pahle, karna hi naheen chahiye”

    It seems the girls (and perhaps most of us) are expected to be of a certain level before we dare to make any comments on politicians.

  2. Amit says:

    What happened was disgusting. Just because there are goons available to carry out threats does not mean we can’t even update our Facebook updates as we wish. This country is going to the dogs.

      • Amit says:

        Read just now that an investigation is happening and they might suspend the officers.
        What I find baffling is that out of the 2000 idiots who vandalized the shop, only 10 got arrested and were given a bail immediately.
        Moral – In India, the higher authorities will only listen when we shout and then they will do a few things to pacify us and let things cool down to go back to their assho*iness.

        • Ashwathy says:

          Yes 😦
          Just like they did post 26/11 where they tried to pretend to do something to keep us happy. And now look how things are. How much have things changed? Have they? At all? 😐

  3. phoenixritu says:

    Some of us are becoming intolerant, others are becoming bullies … but it will only last as long as people are scared and get bullied. We have to put our foot down. It is our duty towards our country and humanity

Leave a Reply

