A wish…

I don’t remember exactly which movie it was…. but I remember clearly…

 

In a village a girl was raped and she complained…. the guilty was caught and brought to the Sarpanch of the village and the punishment was pronounced that he marry the girl and stay with her all the rest of his life….

 

I am pretty sure you all also would have seen such movies and such sort of justice, if you would call that justice, meted out. I now realize how thoughtless we, the directors and the society was back then… Just come to think of it… Such a horrible punishment for the girl actually instead of punishing the guy !!!

 

I wish someone today would direct a movie and make Ranbir or Srk romance a rape victim, try to woo her and marry her…. or a film where a victim becomes a huge business tycoon and doesn’t let a rape affect her life…. I guess the film wouldn’t be a commercial success but it would go so so far in shaking our deep rooted conditioning over so many years….

 

I have been talking to so many people who think and agree the girl is at no fault that she was raped but however will also concede that she has almost no life after rape… I don’t know if rapes will stop… they seem to exist in all societies all over the globe… but… shouldn’t our attitudes towards the victims change???

19 thoughts on “A wish…

  1. Saritha says:

    There is a movie in telugu where the heroine gets raped and her family tells her to leave the house. Hero takes her to his house, she educates herself and becomes very successful.

    That film shows how people treat her, heroine says more than the rape, people behaviour towards her hurts.

  2. Shilpa Garg says:

    Yes, wish that only the laws change but most importantly the regressive attitude of the society towards the victim changes. In doing so, more number of women would be able to report about this heinous crime and the perpetrators would be caught and punished.

  3. Smitha says:

    I wish that too. Movies can make a difference.

    I also wish for police reforms, quick and efficient justice delivery system… And I do think that this might be a turning point in our history.

    • hitchy says:

      I think they reflect the society’s thoughts… I hope than also can be torch bearers… because you know sometimes when I try to explain to a friend that its nothing like she should not be able to live a normal life… but… I fail… and maybe such movies will slowly change the thinking of our people…

  4. Indian Homemaker says:

    Yes. Loved the two recent posts from you Hitchy.
    I think it would also help if we stop using terms like zinda laash and izzat lutna, and outrageous legal terms like outrage her modesty – and start shaming the rapists. All the victim should have to deal with is the trauma, physical and mental, of the actual violent, criminal assault and violation; no less and no more than any other gruesome, violent, horrific crime.

    • hitchy says:

      You know one friend had invited me for a candle march in Bharuch after this rape incident… and I was so pessimistic and hopeless I said I am not coming as I m not sure anything changes by a candle march… and how I realize now I was so thoughtless.. unless we all try our max bit.. things will not change… the change has to emanate from us ourselves…

  5. Sandhya Kumar says:

    I saw a Tamil film long back, ‘Sila nerangalil sila manidargal’ a 1975 movie (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sila_Nerangalil_Sila_Manithargal) in which a girl (Lakshmi of Julie fame) was raped by someone. She comes home and her brother who was the head of the family asks her to leave home. Her uncle (mama) takes care of her. She becomes a graduate and works in a company in a managerial position. Then she meets a man and after some time when the relationship becomes serious, she tells him about her past. He slowly starts getting away from her saying the society would’nt accept this marriage or something like that. Then she starts living alone. They show how people look in a different way all the time after the incident. The story was by the famous Gyan peet award winner writer, Jayakaanthan. The movie became very famous in those days. I wonder if the attitude has changed about the affected girl. I am talking about me also!

    Let your wish become true. Ranbir is the best bet now!

    • hitchy says:

      I wish more movies like that happen… it will take a lot to change the mentality of us men and women actually… just heard what the RSS chief said… and it was so sad to hear it..

  6. Scribby says:

    I know what you are saying and I feel exactly the same…. It is not only about the girls who got raped but it is about the society in totality where we all are dwelling in…what face have we to show to our future generations? What face do have to show to our Gods? It is about the mental disease that we all, in a way, suffering from!

    Things really need to change…really!

  7. Zephyr says:

    I now understand the context of your comment on my post. Mindsets take a long time in changing but first we have to become more human and more righteous when it comes to injustice of any kind, to be able to gather compassion for a rape victim.

  8. Bikramjit Singh Mann says:

    A good question you have asked .. but will out mindset change , i have my doubts on that .. after reading all the leaders and people say what they had to say on the horrible incident in delhi .. i have my doubts

Leave a Reply

