So what do we really know ?!

Reading seriously opens so many different paradigms we may never be able to fathom. Off late I have made a conscious effort to read, I quit FB, Twitter and have not logged there for more than 2-3 weeks I think. When we start reading we start learning, the more I read the more I believe in that. For the first time in my life I am reading multiple books at one go and I never thought it was ever possible. I have been peeking into The Discovery of India by Nehru, The Bourne Legacy by Eric Van Lustbander, by the way I must mention I love the last name Lustbander it does sound quite exotic does it not??!! :mrgreen: Not to digress I am also reading a guide on photography and Fragrant Thorns by Ruby Badyal (no link but a gypsy soul like me)

Amazingly when we read we have so many thoughts going on, my nights are wonderful, I have dreams that are full 70mm movies, I can’t wait to fall asleep and watch the dreams. One day I am tracking a tiger who has become a man eater, one day I am in the midst of a heated discussion between Gandhi & Jinnah, sometimes I am plotting the downfall of a terrorist who has decided to attack the parliament again and another day I discover my wife has delivered twins ! Boy,  dare I tell my wife the things I dream !!! 😈 This is not to mention so many dreams that I just forget when I have to get up and get son ready for school.

From reading about how Siachen was snatched by India, the only territorial acquisition if you may call it that, by our country. The revenge of the Siachen defeat that Pervez Musharraf extracted in Kargil was an amazing piece of history. Wiki I must say is one of the most wonderful things that could have happened to the keen reader. I have always loved reading about history and the past mythologies and always tried to decipher them and put them into a logic and try to rationalize the human behavior. In my own humble way I have my theories and ideologies, although I am not a staunch believer in anything and my reading keeps on developing and diversifying my thoughts.

The more I read the more I feel there is so so so much out there that we know so little about. I live in Bharuch and although I was not born here (born in Tumchi Mumbai) I always call myself a Bharuchi, now for a guy who loves history it so happened that stuck on reading (well unconfirmed reports) about how Nehru and Sheikh Abdullah were related or not and how Sheikh Abdullah’s wife was once married to the Lawrence of Arabia or whether Feroze Gandhi’s father was a Parsi or his father a muslim and mother was a Gandy and how the christening changed I somehow clicked the link of Bharuch reading about Feroze Gandhi living in Kot Parsiwad in Bharuch to only realise I knew so little about my little town and I was bothering to know about so many other things!!!

The history rich town on the banks of the most holy river of India... Even the Ganges comes to bath in Narmada to purify herself... :D :D :D

The history rich town on the banks of the most holy river of India… Even the Ganges comes to bath in Narmada to purify herself… 😀 😀 😀

I must state that I am astounded and want all you readers out there to know this fact very very clearly !!!!

Bharuch is the oldest city of Gujarat. It is also the second oldest city of India having continuous inhitations, first being Kashi (Varanasi). Bharuch has a known history for about 8000 years.

Alright, all of you, stop your bowing and get up, smile, don’t marvel at me.

I am just a friendly neighbourhood blogger and not a GOD ! :mrgreen:

*ducksallshoes*

Just been reading you know… just been reading…  😉

17 thoughts on “So what do we really know ?!

  1. R's Mom says:

    Oh man! your blog is definitely colourful..but honestly, I think you need to change the background a bit, I cant read very easily..please think about soda bottle wearing folks like us who love reading your blog!

    Loved your post Hitchy…there is definitely very little we know and I am so glad you are making an effort to read…it really expands our horizons na!

    • the ghost who eats says:

      Soda Bottle !! ha ha ! I have -3 cylindrical powers and I don’t wear glasses !!! sigh… maybe I will change the back ground pic… that shoudl make it more easier.. I just love the fact that this theme allows me to post pics as the background ! 😀

      Reading is a never ending discovery I tell ya !

  2. Indian Homemaker says:

    Keep reading… and only today I saw yet another link being shared trying to pass off some claims about Feroze Gandhi, and now I want to let them know he came from your town… do take some pics of the place he lived in etc, let truth prevail.

    • the ghost who eats says:

      I don’t know what the actual truth is… What were the claims about Feroze do let me know ! A lot of people claim he had a muslim father and parsi mother… maybe I should do some amateur research here to find if any of that is true… yes his house needs to be searched…. 😀

  3. Smitha says:

    ok, ok, Got it 🙂 Such a huge post to prove to us that you’ve been reading 🙂

    Seriously, yes, it is such fun to find out facts, isn’t it? Nothing, nothing makes me more excited! Have to go through all your links – haven’t had a chance to click on them yet.

    • the ghost who eats says:

      Actually some ramblings and a thing or two to tell about what I am reading.. I guess I can’t do a book review 😉

      Yes I can understand completely when you say Nothing and nothing can get you more excited than reading ! 😀

      Do go through some of the links… interesting… some theories say Nehru family is the last of the Moghul lineage !!!!!!! Geez… You never know what to believe and what not to… but it keeps your brain intrigued for sure 😀

  4. Geetashree Chatterjee says:

    Well, you are just like me. I get so involved and influenced that even the bizarre seems reality. When I first picked up the Chicago Speech by Swami Vivekananda I had very little idea about Hinduism. The book turned me into an obsessive advocate of Vedic tenets and I wouldn’t miss a chance of flaunting my newly-acquired knowledge be it any gathering. Soon I found that my family was purposely avoiding me.

    Again, after reading Satyajit Ray’s short story it is said that Speilberg’s ET is a lift off Ray’s this story) I was quite convinced that one evening I’d have the good fortune of meeting him in person till one evening my sis and b-i-l gave me a long lecture on the thin line of demarcation between fiction and reality. 🙂

    In short I understand what you are going through….nothing like reading…books are your greatest friend!!! Enjoyed reading your blog!

    • the ghost who eats says:

      Ha ha ha ! 😀

      first of all Welcome here 🙂 Secondly yes… I can totally get it that you have gone through phases exactly as I have… luckily a few of my friends are exactly my type and so whenever we learn something we all discuss and talk it so much its fascinating to discuss you know !

      About Satyajit roy’s short story this is WOW NEWs… can I get the link to that story or something !?

      Although I don’t read religion too much I do read how it has evolved and how fixations got built… ! I am an AETHIST ! 😛

  5. Destination Infinity says:

    Is this true – Bharuch being the second oldest city of India? The link may point to wiki, but wiki can very much be edited and ‘influenced’. Knowing about you, I very much have my own doubts and wonder if you are the editor for that Bharuch page in Wiki? 😛

    Destination Infinity

    • the ghost who eats says:

      Ha ha ha ! 😀 Trust me I never was that influential that I could have my way with Wiki !!! secondly and more seriously…. I do know and understand that Bharuch was BhriguKutch earlier… named after BhriguRishi… infact I am going to find out the temple of Bhrigu Rishi this sunday and Feroz Gandhi’s house too this month… to rest to peace my own curiosity.

      If Parshuram of Ramayana is the 7th generation in the family of Bhrigu Rishi… this might very well be true… even Greeks and Mesopotamia texts mention of Bharuch… and its a port city so it might just be true…

      However the fact that we are having such a discussion itself is so very wonderful. See… reading helps 😀

Leave a Reply

