Elusive Tigers…

Not any more… πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

Warning : Over exuberant, gloating post ahead. You might need shades to protect your eyes from the shine my preening feathers might throw up !!!! :mrgreen:

To get the record straight, this was my 8th safari of 4-5 hours in Tiger country spread over a decade & 3 national parks that finally I managed to spot my first tiger in the wild πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

They say the fruits of patience are quite sweet and I can now understand, after roaming about on rocky bumpy roads for so many times finally I met the big cat and how…. I didn’t just spot it from a distance… She came to greet me as near as 5 feet from my jeep !!!! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

On day 2 of our trip in the morning we were lucky to spot a leopard, which is claimed by most as even more elusive than the tiger πŸ˜€ (pics later) somehow though, I have been lucky, I have spotted a leopard two times earlier on foot !! In Gir and Sheoganj both πŸ˜€ This was the first time I saw it from a jeep. The tiger however eluded us in the morning, apparently the biggest male in Ranthambore T-24 as the guides identify him had perhaps run whole night and it left our driver and guide completely confused where it was, there were way too many pugmarks and at many places we could see pugmarks going in one direction and simultaneously returning the same day. Normally female tigers have a territory of around 10-12 sq. km. as per the guides in Ranthambore but Male tigers have bigger territories, 20-25 sq.km, T-24 apparently, the biggest tiger in Ranthambore has a territory of almost 40 sq. km!!! As if it was not a difficult enough possibility to spot a solitary tiger in a 40 sq. km. area that the guide announced that these males mark their entire territory every 2-3 days and as per him T-24 doesn’t feel nice without checking out atleast a couple of other female tiger territories every 2-3 days. After trying for 2 hours, eventually we gave up on tracking T-24 and ventured into shooting the jungle and the deer and other birds.

The afternoon though was lucky, Kanhaiya, our guide came to our hotel to pick us up after lunch at 2.30 with news that we have been alloted route no.4 where a tiger was spotted in the morning and it was also reported that the tiger was resting near some caves. Now that was good news, normally tigers walk about and roam a lot in the nights, however around 9-10 in the morning they find a place in shade and near water and laze. Some are so lazy they do not even wake up or move an inch till evening. So off we sped straight to the spot the Tigress was spotted. On the way we learnt that the tiger that we were off to watch was not a tiger but a tigress. Now she was no common tigress, infact, she is the most photographed and documented tiger in India.

She is a legend in herself, The lady of the lake, Machli, T-16, Park ki Naani are some of the names that she is known by!!!! BBC had made a documentary on this tigress which was first spotted in 1997 in Ranthambore, today almost all the tigers in Ranthambore are perhaps her children, grandchildren and great grandchildren. She once was a very very strong and ferocious tigress that ruled the most beautiful parts of the Ranthambore park that had 3 lakes and the picturesque Rajbaug. She is believed to have killed as many as 8 crocodiles thanks to having the 3 lakes in her territory. Today though, the territory has been taken up by Sundari, her youngest daughter and Machli has been left with perhaps the smallest of all territories among all tigers in Ranthambore.

We reached the spot where she was first spotted and in about 15 minutes saw first movements from her, although quite far, I spotted her move and was thrilled to bits…

page

But after a couple of minutes of spotting her from a distance she disappeared in the bushes and our driver Shambhusingh reckoned she went and sat in the ‘nullah’ (a small stream of water, behind the slope) I considered myself fortunate enough to see her even from such a distance and was thrilled that I had my first tiger pics πŸ˜€

Eventually after 20 mins of waiting our guide and driver insisted we leave the area and take a trip around in another tiger’s area and also photograph the jungle, I was kinda not keen to move from there but they advised we would come back here after a while nearer to 5pm when it would be relatively cooler and the tiger might start moving again. We saw some very beautiful parts of the forest with red algae infested lakes and all but somehow my mind was just not into photographing anything else and I just wanted to go back to the place where we had spotted Machli.

Eventually when we reached there, unlike earlier when we had the tiger just to us, this time the front row was already taken by 3 canters and 5 jeeps already waiting and I was already cursing my driver beneath my breath that we were the farthest and no chance to get a decent shot. Besides me were two foreigners who had lens that were atleast 2 feet long and I was already getting a complex of sorts about how wonderful their pics would come and how pale my pics would be.

However, watching tigers and keeping patience is not everyone’s cup of tea. At 6 the park closes and everyone has to be out, so as the clock struck 5.30 the canters had moved, all jeeps too gone and with them the 2 feet lens just 2 jeeps left, us and another govt. guests who didnt have to follow the 6 pm rule. (snobs I tell ya)

We were sitting and clicking Lapwings and Tree pie’s when suddenly the driver of the other jeep spotted movement, Machli, returned from the ‘nullah’ half her body was wet. She again sat on the slopes and tried to go to sleep and we thought that was it. She was not coming any more near. Then as our driver picked up, she is being troubled by some fleas or flies or bees… who are not letting her sleep and then again the tigress started moving this time towards a road. Our driver who was pretty experienced took us further ahead to a crossing he reckoned she would come out from and lo….

DSC_0224

This pic was taken when she came out of the bushes and was watching the jeep behind us… YES YES YES !!!!

I took this pic πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ Me me me…. After all these many years of searching the tiger decided to pay me a visit πŸ˜€ Then after checking us two jeeps she started ambling towards our jeep and our voices started to become low toned shrieks with my wife and son whispering in shrieks almost she is coming so near so near so near so near and then she came to almost 5 feet close to our jeep before she changed her track and crossed our jeep from the front side and went into the bushes there and fell to rest again !!!!

DSC_0223

Look at that 17 year old, does she look like an old tigress in the evening of her life. Well I am no tiger expert and I can never tell. This pic has her playfully raising her tail and her tongue out as if she is coming to play with her Daddy ! πŸ˜€

The biggest quandary for a photographer and a wild life enthusiast I guess is to decide whether to observe with his eyes or to capture with the lens. Although Machli was kind enough to let me do both, when it came ambling towards our jeep I held by son tight and watched it and then as my wife pulled my son back I got enough time to click loads of shots πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ here are some of them πŸ˜€

DSC_0230-002

That is when she came real close… apparently our driver spotted her whilst ambling that she was hurt in her left fore limb which we only saw later when we saw pics in our laptop in the evening.

DSC_0225

Walking oblivious of us, after all, she is the queen of these forests.

DSC_0230

Traces of having taken a dip recently are quite visible here…

DSC_0237

That gives you some idea of how near she had come and mind you this is when she started going away… she was nearer than this… we were thrilled while she was around. Cat caught my tongue was what literally happened to me… I just kept clicking it…

DSC_0242
it was only after she went away that I realised how vulnerable we were if she decided to give us a royal lick πŸ˜€ but well so far I have understood these animals are a lot more kind then we humans are and she didn’t change that understanding of mine at all.

DSC_0249

The moment it went into the bushes you could see how difficult it is to spot a tiger… see how easily it camouflages itself. πŸ™‚

DSC_0258

And then it went back to its favourite pastime in the day… Sleeping, Hobbes, I am sure you can completely related to this… πŸ˜€

PICS Courtesy: yours truly ! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

67 thoughts on “Elusive Tigers…

  1. Sandhya Kumar says:

    I am so thrilled to see the pictures and read your experience, Dhiren! She doesn’t look like a grand mother at all! So majestic! She is a real QUEEN!

    I felt like visiting her myself!

    Hope her wound gets cured soon!

    Sending the link to my son now!

    THANK YOU for the real pictures!

    • hitchy says:

      πŸ˜€ you really should visit once Sandhya ! πŸ˜€ Its a thrill that can only be experienced cannot be explained πŸ˜€ I hope so too that she recovers…

  2. Scribby says:

    Like I mentioned earlier, these pics and your story rewinds our encounter with Jim Corbett tigress πŸ™‚ awesome experience that… I can relate to almost every word that you’ve mentioned here…..

    • hitchy says:

      I had heard about her a lot too ! Finally a date with destiny… another famous couple I want to visit is Sita and Charger in Bandhavgarh ! who I know as well as my family members ! πŸ˜€

  3. Santulan says:

    SO wonderful.. My fav pic is the one in which we can see her injury.. Look at her eyes in that pic, she seems to be walking towards something with such intent..

    Beautiful

  4. Ashwathy says:

    OMG!!! She is MAGNIFICENT!!!!!!!!! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

    Why on earth would anyone name her “Machli”? 😐 πŸ™„ Yeesh!! That name is seriously unworthy of such a gloriously dignified creature like her!

    I had to read it twice over and still didn’t believe when you said she is 17!! :mrgreen:

    it was only after she went away that I realised how vulnerable we were if she decided to give us a royal lick but well so far I have understood these animals are a lot more kind then we humans are and she didn’t change that understanding of mine at all.
    This was exactly the thought going through my head while reading your post!!

    What an experience hobbes!! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

    • hitchy says:

      She lived in the lakes a lil too much for a tiger… is one reason… second… if you see the black marks on her face… there is a fish on her face… by which they identify her ! can you see it ??

      It was a dream come true hobbes πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

      ((((((hugs)))))

      • Ashwathy says:

        Fish on her face?? Nope I wasn’t able to make out.
        Could you send me one of those close-up shots where its evident? Either that or point me to which part of the face to look at…

  5. Rashmi says:

    Wonderful pictures and amazing experience…
    I can completely relate to – “The biggest quandary for a photographer and a wild life enthusiast I guess is to decide whether to observe with his eyes or to capture with the lens” ….as when I was at Jim corbett decided to just enjoy the moment and save it in my memory instead of camera’s memory..you are so lucky to done both πŸ™‚

    • hitchy says:

      You are another lucky soul to have spotted him there ! I have been to corbett and we did as many as 6 safari’s but were not lucky enough to spot one !

  6. chipmunk says:

    I will give a big wow!!!! seriously I say, you have captured the most beautiful animal πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ I wonder how superb you have captured them πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ People die to take a photo of tigers and at your end its always a yay!!!! they had given the most perfect snap they can give eh πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ a time take a peacock with feathers wide open!!! please eh πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

  7. techie2mom says:

    Jungle ki naani!! Loved your narrative πŸ™‚
    My parents went to Jim corbett 2 years back and they had a similar experience with tiger coming to check them out!! Apparently my mom saw the tiger up, close and personal!!!

  8. Geetashree Chatterjee says:

    SO LUCKY! One of my colleagues who want to catch the cat ( of course ‘in camera’) had to be satisfied only with pug marks. Another one of my colleagues went to Sundarban and spotted one snoozing by the river side. But the best is the couple who went to click the cat but was so mesmerized when they saw one that they forgot all about clicking !!! What you have been through is a life time experience. Congrats!!!

    • hitchy says:

      Danke ! Yes it was a life time experience… but I seriously want to try for more such close encounters… I am not giving up on the tiger search anytime soon ! πŸ˜€

  9. Destination Infinity says:

    After your lion adventures, I never thought you would even go near house-cats. But, this is some achievement alright πŸ˜€ I feel that tigers are more mature than human beings. Somehow when you look at their eyes, you can feel it. They have so much power, but they don’t abuse it. Unlike us.

    Destination Infinity

    • hitchy says:

      The cats a the most beautiful creatures ever ! πŸ™‚
      If we behave ourselves… the animals always behave themselves πŸ™‚ there is no question of ever giving up on the cats !! never ! I love the wilds and was dying to spot a tiger since ages !

  10. Deeps says:

    I echo Pallu! I’m so so JJJJJJJJJJJJJJJJJJJ! Must have been such an amazing experience for you, Hitchy! Lucky you! Stunning shots there all of them!

  11. UmaS says:

    OMG ! I am the late kate here 😦
    Anyway, damn good pics…its really a wonderful moment to be that close to Machili and click some amazing snaps too !!
    A SUPERLIKE to this post and pics πŸ˜€
    More than envy, you actually make me think about these places, when I want to take a break πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

