Conclusions and us…

law hammer

No matter how much we try, we do end up judging don’t we?

Some common judgements are these :

That is a bad movie.. just how difficult is it to instead remark – I didn’t enjoy the movie at all…
Horrible Song.. instead if we say – I can’t stand that song…

Those lines are quite different no? Talking about our opinion without really casting a judgement on the subject is not easily done, is it? I fail at it too, many times, although I always try to correct myself whenever I am passing my verdict on something. I should rather should be talking about what I felt rather than cast a judgement.

More often than not I have found that everything has takers, more so when someone judges people I believe that is the biggest mistake he/she could make, for we are not that one moment or our behaviour in those particular circumstances is not what we really can be. Plus can you actually judge a person? Doesn’t a human always evolve, learn, change…??

Some pretty severe and insane judgemental statements could sound even like these :

That boy(14years) is hopeless, prepare to make a grocery store for his future… he will be no good…
He has no future…

I have an uncle and he is pretty influential in the family and he would always judge people, more often that not, from the most improbable things he would reach a conclusion and tag that person. I feel actually its naive actually to brand or tag a person, for if anything I have understood that I can behave in completely opposite manners in the same circumstances at different times.

Its actually a problem with most of us and I don’t blame anyone that we cannot help but conclude or judge, however, the effort always must be made to actually opine without judging… is that so tough? Is Judging so so necessary always? We humans can’t help it can we?

Whats your take on this?

14 thoughts on “Conclusions and us…

  1. phoenixritu says:

    Oh I love people who judge me … I whip out a diary and note the judgement passed, and then if I dont like it, I go ahead and do the opposite. Keeps them on their toes.

  2. Smitha says:

    I agree, Dhiren. But I guess we are human, we do end up judging. Most of us are judgemental sometime or the other. The problem is when we think that we are the absolute authority on everything, and pass judgements, that is when it gets me. I don’t think judging is important, but it becomes part of people’s personality, I think. May be I am wrong….

  3. Ashwathy says:

    I guess most of us are opinionated in one way or the other. But when the judgement is without basis, that’s when it gets irritating. And I’ve seen that this is usually done by older people who have a pre-set mindset and outlook. No matter how much you tell them something is otherwise, they simply won’t listen. It’s really frustrating to deal with such people…

  4. Smita says:

    This post is after my own heart. My In Laws are very judgemental. They judge before knowing a person, after knowing a person and what not and I dislike it.

    And I so agree with Ashwathy! It is mostly the old people who are like this.

  5. Deeps says:

    I know where this is coming from, Hitchy and trust me I almost drafted a post along similar lines 🙂

    As Smitha said, we all judge in some way or the other. I dont think we can have control over that. We think, so we judge and we form opinions and its fine. The problem is when we begin to think that our opinions are supreme and try to thrust them on others. In which case I find it best to ignore and follow what I believe is right.

  6. Varsh says:

    Judging doesn’t need any expertise…its up to you to simply form an opinion and think it is right. What more people even think it is right to endorse it.
    I think such people must be ignored. They lack basic judgement themselves.

  7. Usha Pisharody says:

    Being non judgemental is tough for most people. They feel comfortable, I think, once they’ve pegged someone as being some kind of person. Then they know where they are with that person. Also, for some people, it makes them feel far superior. I just wish there were less judgemental people around.

  8. Geetashree Chatterjee says:

    No, we can’t help it…or rather we don’t want to help coz being judgmental makes us feel secure in our own small, little world of prejudices. If we had to acknowledge the shortcomings in our own selves for a change we would have gone berserk. Looking one’s own selves into the eyes and admitting is like transcending your comfort zone.

Leave a Reply

