Street Food – Kutchi Dabeli

Kutch gaye aur Dabeli nahi khaya to kya khaya!

Invented in Mandvi, this dish is perhaps the most famous dish from Kutch with all sorts of variants available all around the country I think! I saw Ram Leela yesterday and even that had a stall in one of its scene showing a Kutchi Dabeli in it! They call it as Double Roti too in Kutch. In my 6 days in Kutch, I think I almost everyday ate a Dabeli, however, to my bitter disappointment I did not have one decent picture of it.

Although I took this one picture on mobile to tease a few friends on Watsapp. Although this picture doesn’t look as attractive trust me the Dabeli’s were yumm! 🙂 🙂

2013-11-07 21.41.40

Dabeli’s basically consist of a stuffing that is made with mashed boiled potatoes in tamarind chutney and lots of masala’s topped with almost anything you like but generally masala peanuts, sev, coconut shreds and pomegranate seeds. Incidentally at one place I did take this Dabeli Thali’s pic on a separate occasion which has apples, oranges, cherries, tutti fruity also topped on.

DSC_0110

This is one convenience food you do want to try when in Kutch!

21 thoughts on “Street Food – Kutchi Dabeli

  1. Deeps says:

    I’m probably seeing above pics of yours for the 5th or 6th time…each time I’m tempted to try it out even more! 😀 The next visit to the chaat corner here, I’m going to have dabelis, pacca!

Leave a Reply

