Bronze-winged Jacana

DSC_0080

Whilst on the way to Vadhvana Bird Sanctuary, on the outskirts of Dabhoi village, there are lots of water bodies, quite a few of them shallow and with lots of vegetation. As I drove partly paying attention on the road, partly surveying around for birds, I saw something move on the vegetation!!

It was this fellow!

I didn’t know what species it was right away, I had to get a close up and then ask Shail or put it on Indian Birds to get to know the name! I loved the colours this fellow had! When I actually Wiki’ed this bird up I came across this very interesting fact!!!! 😀 😀 😀 I am sure all the ladies here will love this fact! 😀

Bronze Winged Jacanas have a territorial, sex-role reversed system. They are polyandrous, and the females are larger and more brightly colored than their male counterparts. The females compete with each other for harems of males to incubate their clutches of eggs. Each female’s territory encompasses one to four males and their individual territories. The density of breeding territories can be limited by habitat availability and the territorial competition with other females and their harems.

9 thoughts on “Bronze-winged Jacana

  1. Santulan says:

    It looks like a peacock and that bird with the hooked beak (I forgot the name, it is a very famous bird) made a baby..

    I am really bad when it comes to birds..

  2. indrani says:

    I have seen these before at Jurong Bird park. Great you saw them free here in their natural habitat.
    Great pic. Never knew the name.

Leave a Reply

