Birds of Kanha…

DSC_0062

I just have to start this post with these fella’s! The prettiest picture of the whole trip for me! I just cant believe my luck at having these two staring at me in broad daylight. They even did a jig for me raising each others neck for me and looking at me in amazement as if I were a martian!!! They waited and stared for quite a while, surely impressed by my good looks and amazing personality I am sure! :mrgreen:

DSC_0031

We also spotted this Indian scops owl who sat there monk like, this fella was a little snooty, he refused to acknowledge my presence never mind my good looks :-/

DSC_0143

And this Jungle Owl seemed to be saying I am watching you!! He was quite grim and serious and wouldnt budge a bit. Eventually we moved away.

DSC_0081

Then I spotted this Lesser Adjutant Stork looking for some food along with the egret and Barasingha! He was a tad too far and quite busy with his food hunt to actually bother about me!

DSC_0087

And then suddenly whilst I was looking at the swamp a branch on the top of me made a screeching noise to scare the hell out of me and I spotted these two Black Ibis quarelling with each other as to who would drop on me, luckily in their fight and noise I got alerted and fled! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

DSC_0012

These senior Black Stork early in the morning were probably out on a walk, they walked about knowing quite well where to fish!

DSC_0344

And this lone lazy painted stork stays at his nest picking fleas from his feathers whilst it seems all others have gone in search of bigger food!! πŸ˜› πŸ˜›

DSC_0158

This Indian roller too seems to have caught some lunch in its beak! πŸ˜€

DSC_0028

This Parakeet seems to be enjoying the bounty in spring that the Mahua tree seems to be offering, apparently there are so many Mahua trees in Kanha that I have not seen anywhere before! No wonder these jungles are intoxicating and take your breath away! πŸ˜€

DSC_0346

An egret keeps calm and watches the fish!

DSC_0014

There actually is the rare Pied Malabar Hornbill in this picture, unfortunately it flew over us and sat on this far away branch from where it was difficult to capture him, however, the sound of him flying over us with his woofing wings will reverberate in my ears all my life! πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

DSC_0042

We saw absolutely scores and scores of Jungle Fowl! I guess I have not heard so many Cock’s πŸ˜› ever before in the morning! πŸ˜€

DSC_0332

The whistling ducks came in thousands, however, did not whistle amazingly… so how do they get their name??

DSC_0010

This one looks like a honey buzzard, however, I am open for other suggestions in this pic still! πŸ˜€

Here is a small kaleidoscope of a few other birds I spotted. The Scarlet Minivet, Coppersmith Barbet, Crested Serpent Eagle, Shikra and the Grey Hornbill. All of these were mean and stayed quite far far away and would not come anywhere near to be photographed. Hmph… snooty fella’s I tell ya!

edited

20 thoughts on “Birds of Kanha…

  1. shail says:

    OMG. What a bounty, I tell ya. Simply awesome. So are you going there again? Remember if so, I am in!
    the first one is THE best. The Jungle Owlet looks cute. Omg, Pied Malabar Hornbill. Scarlet Minivet! Grey Hornbill. πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ You lucky man, Hitchy.

    • hitchy says:

      Oh those two still have me going all gaga about that encounter! πŸ˜€

      They were a beautiful pair! and Welcome to this blog of mine! πŸ˜€

  2. Usha Pisharody says:

    Amazing! Floored by the bounty you have here delighted at each of the captions/ descriptions πŸ™‚ Loved the black ibis silhouette you have captured against the blue blue sky! And like all the others, it has to be the first picture that quite captured my heart πŸ™‚

  3. The Girl Next Door says:

    Wow! You got to see such a lot of birds! πŸ™‚ Amazing pics!

    We didn’t spot so many birds when we went to Kanha. Was it because you visited in the summer?

    Did you get to see a tiger in the wild after all?

  4. PK says:

    Now for a family that loves nature, this space of yours is a simply welcoming and beautiful. Keep sharing and taking us through such beautiful journeys. The clicks are awesome.

Leave a Reply

