Enfield Ride to Jalori Pass

DSC00744

So whilst driving my own car to the Himalaya’s was always a dream and it came true, I had not always imagined of biking in the Himalaya’s, somehow, the thought that rains could come down and in that cold weather I firmly believed that rains would not be too much fun. However, as I wanted to ride to Jalori Pass in my car a lot of people told me to avoid the car and use the bike instead. Frankly too many unnecessary apprehensions were in my mind about the bike ride. However with Jamie to accompany and probably assist if anything went wrong I finally took the plunge. Trust me this was like tasting blood! No wonder so many people bike in the Himalaya’s! Whilst initially when the road got slushy as we neared the top of the pass it was scary, the best part was I actually over came my silly fears. In the end I would say it just required a tad careful driving at some times. The views that we got on the way could not be captured by the camera as wonderfully as I did with my eyes. Jalori Pass is situated at 10800 feet and is closed from October to April in the winters due to snow.

Luckily for us the weather remained quite nice till we reached uphill and even did a small trek to reach the absolute summit for some spectacular views of the Himalaya’s and the changing cloud formation at the the top of the hills. As we stayed on the summit mesmerised by the beauty of the 360 degree view we actually saw the weather changing from sunny to unruly. Whilst it rained in the valley below on us we had snow flakes. That infact was my first experience of a live snow fall. We rushed back worried the road would become even more slippery. Luckily the rains were only a trickle and we had a pretty safe ride back to Raju where a hot lunch awaited us!

Here are a few pics from the ride! πŸ˜€

That is how the road was largely... rocks which were all covered by the mud thanks to the contstant rains in the last three days.

That is how the road was largely… rocks which were all covered by the mud thanks to the contstant rains in the last three days.

On the way there were some stunning views that we captured by our eyes which will stay with me forever.

On the way there were some stunning views that we captured by our eyes which will stay with me forever.

Unless we stopped for pictures it was difficult to photograph the road. I guess some things are just not meant to be captured by the camera! They just have to be seen!

Unless we stopped for pictures it was difficult to photograph the road. I guess some things are just not meant to be captured by the camera! They just have to be seen!

Then we all parked our bikes and did a short hike through the tree line...

Then we all parked our bikes and did a short hike through the tree line…

The tree's all looked straight out of an English Fairy Tale full of moss!

The tree’s all looked straight out of an English Fairy Tale full of moss!

Finally we walked beyond the tree line and blue skies awaited us..

Finally we walked beyond the tree line and blue skies awaited us..

We found traces of snow on our way...

We found traces of snow on our way…

Finally as we cleared the tree line, I just fell flat on my knees on the clean slope of grass to take this picture! :D

Finally as we cleared the tree line, I just fell flat on my knees on the clean slope of grass to take this picture! πŸ˜€

Sigh... It was like discovering the place where clouds were made! :)

Sigh… It was like discovering the place where clouds were made! πŸ™‚

The views from the top were something like this :

DSC_0102

DSC_0116-2

DSC_0130

Sigh… the feeling to go back was like that of been to Heaven and back! πŸ˜€ May this just be the beginning of many Bike Expeditions in the Himalaya’s I say!!! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

12 thoughts on “Enfield Ride to Jalori Pass

  1. Deeps says:

    WOW! Even the term ‘breathtaking’ seems like an understatement here!

    Does Raju Guest House give out bikes on rent as well? How did you manage a bike?

  2. Bikramjit says:

    awesome the lovely royal enfield.. you know I have finally managed ot get mine out of the garage and it is raring to go .. Have to get a MOT done.. it needs a few things so waiting for a friend to send some parts from india πŸ™‚

    then dug dug dug dug on English roads for sure πŸ™‚

    Those are beutiful pictures SIr..

Leave a Reply

