Purani Dilli with Sangeeta! :D

Apparently I have been quite lazy off late, not finishing all my posts from my trips, however, I have decided for now to not let that remain and that finish all my travel tales, not only are they records for myself but also enough motivation to last the routine days whilst I am busy working and wondering when is the next vacation coming by, even thinking of the days when you travelled and the things you did gives me enough motivation to make by! 🙂

So here I reminisce that day in Old Delhi, when Sangeeta and Arvind were kind enough to walk us along and feed us along and guide us by showing some of the charms of old Delhi, treating us to lip smacking food, the Desi Bedmi at Shyam Sweets with pumpkin and aloo subzi that was out of the world! I can’t believe I am actually praising a pumpkin subzi!!! If my mom reads this she will be mad!! I always used to throw a crazy tantrum when she would buy a pumpkin and announce that I will eat Maggi for I cannot eat a ‘Kaddu’ for if I ever ate a ‘Kaddu’ I would become one… well in some ways I am nearer to resembling one so I guess I had to indulge in it this time round! 😛 Anyways not digressing too much onto me, myself and staying to the charms of old Delhi err… Dilli sounds so much better doesn’t it?

The beauty of making blogger friends is that around the world you have someone or the other in what was an unknown non related town earlier! As I texted from my tent in Palchan to Sangeeta inquiring if she was in Dilli whilst I was reaching there and that I really wanted to make sure I meet her whilst I was coming to Delhi, in a while came a reply that she was in town and that I need not book a hotel in Dilli and that she had arranged a stay in their guest house and that I could come in any time and just give her a call anytime I reached Delhi!

No matter how much you tell her, Sangeeta, was not letting me eat out that night even though I reached as late as 9.30 in the night she had piping hot food ready for us, a delectable Bhindi, roasted Brinjal slices that tasted divine and a humble Daal Chawal that were never more fulfilling! 🙂 I and my wife could not believe we had met her for the first time, given the way the conversations flowed. 😀 Arvind was also glad to have us around and you could tell from their faces they were happier for seeing us and that felt so good. Not for nothing do I call her ‘Di! 😀

Okay lets not make them put on much weight, so we made plans to visit Purani Dilli the next day. Apparently it seemed Sangeeta and Arvind were also always looking for an excuse to go to that charmed part of Dilli. I did figure out why once I went there. Next day morning the enthusiastic me forgetting any sort of decency and the fact that we all had slept late called up Sangeeta and woke her from her sleep!!!! To realise its only 8am! 😛 I just can’t help it that I cannot sleep when on vacation! 😀

10367602_10152087748736456_3240950301190739256_nSoon we were in the metro to Purani Dilli, some might call Purani Dilli as dilapidated, maybe messy, unorganised, where wire’s entangle so much that they start seeming like un-ending Anaconda’s, however, once you soak it in and realise that a town that was built centuries ago is now still a thriving, throbbing market place you realise the method in the madness in this place. Travelling with Arvind and Sangeeta was particularly enriching as they pointed us out the left traces of the old world admist the hustle and bustle.

Beauty is in the eyes of the beholder, if you want to you can surely spot quite a few wonderful remains of a town that was centuries old, the capital of ancient India, well perhaps it was not India then! Pausing for a second, imagining the world a few centuries ago and suddenly you start appreciating the place almost instantly. I could very well understand how Sangeeta and Arvind have never grown tired even after coming here so many times before, I am sure I will be doing this again! 🙂

Sangeeta and Arvind fed us the most sumptous breakfast at Shyam Sweets as you can see in this picture :
10405274_10152087747396456_8438258370736102499_n

After this sumptuous breakfast we set about walking around Purani Dilli clicking photographs and also digesting the food so that we could have an even more wonderful lunch at Karim’s! 😛 😛 😛 :mrgreen: Na Don’t worry I won’t torture you with pics from Karim’s, I don’t want any relative of mine to see that and have me thrown out of my house! 😛

So here go the pictures! 😀

The hustling and bustling place, I firmly recommend you to go here for breakfast!!!

The hustling and bustling place, I firmly recommend you to go here for breakfast!!!

A man gets a shave on a sunday morning in Old Delhi!

A man gets a shave on a sunday morning in Old Delhi!

10382349_10152087733186456_8076203183151109037_o

some lanes are that narrow that I wonder if some really fat people would even be able to walk through!

some lanes are that narrow that I wonder if some really fat people would even be able to walk through!

Gol Gappe anyone???

Gol Gappe anyone???

Inviting no?

Inviting no?

a building that seems to be still stuck in time...

a building that seems to be still stuck in time…

The wires tell a story of modernisation... with the Jama Masjid in the background

The wires tell a story of modernisation… with the Jama Masjid in the background

10432491_10152087748161456_2944160221607317908_n

A kid gets a head shave whilst a modern India walks by..

A kid gets a head shave whilst a modern India walks by..

Last but not the least, my co-walkers! I can’t thank Arvind and Sangeeta enough for taking me around and feeding me so much I had loosen my belt! 😛 They ensured I was not just taken around and shown around but that I was full-filled!! 😀 😀

10310958_10152087748711456_7824446774191541982_n

Pretty amazing to know that this was a first time that we met up and yet a strange bond that binds us together, enough for Sangeeta to even cook another wonderfully delicious and wholesome meal for me in the evening even though she was not well and tired! We had a really wonderful time with them and Purani Dilli! 😀

11 thoughts on “Purani Dilli with Sangeeta! :D

  1. Bikramjit says:

    This is one place that i have been and lived for a long time , when i was in india.. thank you for taking me down the memory lanes … the food indeed looks delicious and actually I think I need to create a rule for all the bloggers who live in india and get to eat such yummy food , they should make sure that before they put pics they are able to courier me some 🙂 .. as I am not getting very very jealous and hungryyyyyyyyyyyyyy

  2. Afshan says:

    Yes this is the best thing about making blogger friends. U always bump in to one another. Enjoyed reading about ur delicious and vibrant Trip. I stayed in Gurgaon for 10 months and I loved Dilli for many reasons 🙂
    thanks for visiting my blog!

  3. Deeps says:

    You’re so right hitchy! Reading your own travel tales or browsing through your holiday pics can be such a wonderful way to get past your otherwise mundane days! Loved the delicious tour you virtually took me on! Was so nostalgic to read about my city! And so glad to know that you had such a memorable trip 🙂

Leave a Reply

