Asus Zenfone 2 Laser review

A bloggers life is always full of surprises, emails come from you don’t know where and you have some or the other person reaching you, which you might not even have thought would be reading your blog but then that is the beauty of blogging.

 

So this Christmas Asus played santa and sent me a Zenfone 2 Laser wanting me to use it and review the product.

DSC_0153

Looks

At the outset I must say the phone looks beautiful, its back which is golden metal makes the phone look really posh and the curvy back makes it very comfortable to hold and the grip seems much better. Holding it in the hand does attract questions from people, the golden back certainly draws attention and I have been having a field day explaining people that I didn’t buy it but got a phone to review, kinda Christmas cheer. 🙂 Very thin on the edges and looks quite sleek. So as far as the looks go this one is a winner.

The volume buttons are given on the back, which for me is a first and whilst its easier to lower or increase the volume whilst we are on a call whilst watching a video I guess the one volume buttons on the side would be more convenient. I guess with time you get used to it.

The power button is at the top of the device. Touch gestures within the user interface however allow you to wake the device with a double tap and launch certain apps, so you dont really require to touch the power key unless you are looking to switch off the device or switch on.

 

The screen

The screen resolution is brilliant, powered with (5.5) HD IPS the resolution is great to play games and to watch videos. We just transferred an original print of Harry Potter in the mobile and watching it on it the 5.5 inch screen made the movie look even more crystal clear. The volume of the phone although they claim is superior still leaves a bit to be desired. On the earphones though the sound is brilliant no complains there. I guess on most phones that is the case though.

 

Specs

As far as the performance of the phone goes,  ZenFone 2 Laser (ZE550KL) is powered by a Qualcomm® Snapdragon™ 410 processor, ample power for your daily tasks and activities. Featuring LTE Category 4 for download speeds up to 150Mbps, for me this has been very satisfactory in this aspect. We downloaded a movie on it and it happened faster than it did on the pc.

The Camera

It also has a 13 mp rear camera and 5 mp front camera, which works nicely, above all there are innumerable features to aid you in your photography, the fact that there are so many other presets and edit options completely ensures that the photographer in me is hooked to the many features of the camera. The best editing feature for me was the fact that I could even reduce the size of my cheeks! Finally I don’t have to have very round selfies! 😀 Loved the camera and its features. One plus for that aspect! The camera itself is decent in both well lighted and even in dark indoor places. The colour range, sharpness and detail is good bearing in mind the price range of this device. The camera modes are really comfortable to use and you can quickly change options and settings once you get used to it. There are way too many features, I particularly loved the depth of field, miniature and the GIF creator. There also is a manual mode and it has a long list of options, if you have been used to using SLR in a manual mode you know you want to shift features and this camera will let you do that also there is an indicator which ensures you take straight shots. All in all these features in this price range are a steal. Laser auto focus technology in a sub 12k device is certainly worth grabbing. Here are some pics I took with it :

This one taken indoors at night in kind of low lights

This one taken indoors at night in kind of low lights

 

P_20160101_093835

 

That again is a nofilter, natural unedited picture

That again is a nofilter, natural unedited picture

 

Battery 

The battery life was also pretty decent, I am no expert but I didn’t have to charge it for almost 29 hours and I use the mobile quite fairly so that seemed good to me.

 

Verdict

All in all I am quite happy with the phone, infact I have discarded my old phone and have actually started using this one so that says something about the phone doesn’t it? The price range that it is featured I think it is a steal. You can check out the phone price this link here. Let me just list a few of the technical specifications of the phone for those who read more into it to save you the trouble :

 

Key Features of Asus Zenfone 2 Laser ZE550KL

  • Android v5 (Lollipop) OS
  • 13 MP Primary Camera
  • 5 MP Secondary Camera
  • Dual Sim (LTE + LTE)
  • 5.5 inch Capacitive Touchscreen
  • 1.2 GHz Qualcomm Snapdragon 410 MSM8916 Quad Core Processor
  • Expandable Storage Capacity of 128 GB

 

As far as I am concerned if you are tight on your budget and yet want a powerful camera smart phone this is the one you go for. The camera seals the deal for me as it is in this price range.

 

P.S. This review is written solely on my experiences in response to a give away by Asus.

 

 

 

5 thoughts on “Asus Zenfone 2 Laser review

Leave a Reply

