My first bungee!

Ever since I first had heard about bungee jumping in New Zealand and seen it, I had made up my mind, some day I am going to do it. This was probably way back in college and although I had never had come across a bungee opportunity, I had not even properly looked for it. Somewhere inside me it was still lurking and when we planned a trip to South Africa this may, I came to know about Face Adrenalin the worlds highest Bungee Bridge on the Storms River!

I was pretty certain from the moment I booked my flight tickets that I am going to go and jump off the bridge and do the bungee finally.

Here is a pic of the place, this pic is courtesy Face Adrenalin :

_MG_2431

However, as we reached the destination, first up we missed it and went ahead then we had to drive back to the place, when we went up to the registration counter the lady asked us if we were sure of jumping as there would be no refund once we enroll. My wife prodded that we take a look at the jump for once and see the height and then decide. 216 meters didn’t sound too deadly and I was convinced I wanted to jump, coz I know I am tied up and am not gonna die so I wanted to get over the fear thing. We didnt go to see it and enrolled.

However after enrolling we learnt that we had to wait for about 30 minutes for our chance, it was drizzling and was freezing cold and I was intent on doing the bungee in my tshirt and not my sweater and so didnt put anything warm on. The staff at Face Adrenalin eventually guided me to a fire place in the restaurant. Thank god for that coz or else I am sure I wouldn’t have stopped visiting the toilet that day!

Eventually we got over to the bridge, the walk I must tell you is equally scary to the point from where you jump. There is a grill through which you walk and you can see the bottom of the valley, bad idea I tell you!

Upon reaching the place we discovered that there was loud music blaring, people were screaming out of nervousness I assume and most of the people were dancing, trembling, kind of loud out of their own nervousness.

Skipping to our jumps, my wife went first and she did it and came back and told me it was amazing. Now I knew it was amazing but what I also knew was that I had still got to do it.

As I stepped to the edge all suited up and ready for my jump the moment I looked at the free fall for half a second, honestly, I wanted to chicken out! I don’t know how, but I managed to overcome that initial thought and went for the jump and boy, after the first 4-5 seconds when I was stiff in every since millimeter of my body, I eventually got caught up by the fact that I was kind of flying (falling whatever) and once lower by 200 meters and bouncing up and down on the elastic and swaying like a palm tree, I could pretty much get an idea of how a bird might feel. Amazingly down there in the valley swinging about, there was no noise at all, the music, screams of all others were not audible to me, tells you how far is 200 meters! All I could feel was a slight drizzle, the wind in my ears, my hair flying in the wind and you wouldn’t believe that but there was a calm and peace amidst all this madness that I cannot comprehend. I actually couldn’t believe that after the 5-6 seconds of euphoria/nervousness there was such calm awaiting me!

I can’t imagine how wonderful a skydiver must be feeling! I think that has to be the next jump! Which I had never though about up until this first bungee but I don’t think the sky dive is going to wait for as long as the Bungee had to wait!

For all those who want to laugh at my nervous smile, here is the full video! 😀 😀

6 thoughts on “My first bungee!

  1. My Era says:

    Whoaaaaa!! Congrats Hitchy on conquering the fear and fulfilling a dream with that super impressive (and must I add, very dangerous) bungee jump.

    Way to go man!

    May you fulfill many more dreams with the same determination and have loads of fun along the way.

  2. Smita says:

    😀 Though I have never done bungee jumping but I when I did my first para sailing in Mandwa I had the same sense of peace up there…..it was a beautiful feeling…

    And kudos to you for doing this; I am sure it wasn’t easy!!

    • hitchy says:

      yes it is there aint it?! Those few minutes of being all alone in the sky and nothing to bother about but just being there in that moment and not thinking about anything… it is a beautiful feeling.

      🙂

  3. Puja says:

    I am yet to see the video.. will comment after seeing that.. right now I am at work and no headphones..
    So tell me one thing, did your head hurt when you fell head down?

Leave a Reply

